We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chobe Game Lodge”
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chobe Game Lodge”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The last stop on our African vacation was Chobe Game Lodge. From the Royal Livingstone it was an interesting trip to the Chobe. We were met in Zambia by Wild Horizons for about and hour and half drive to the river, here we went through customs/immigration and boarded the speedy boat to the other side where we went through customs/immigration in Botswana for about an hour drive to Chobe Game Lodge. Chobe Game Lodge was absolutely wonderful. No personal butler, but rather assigned waiters, Collen & TT, who were just fantastic. We had a young lady ranger at Chobe, Thouso, who was extremely knowledgeable and upbeat. In Chobe, unlike Sabi Sands, we did not see a lot of cats. We saw lions each night, but only two at a time. On our last night we witnessed a herd of elephants forcing a male and female lion out of their area -- very exciting. Because Chobe is a National Park, the vehicles need to stay on the road which did make the sightings a bit more difficult. But don't get me wrong, our stay was unbelievable! We saw so many elephants, giraffes, hippos and monkeys. And lots of baby animals. Baby elephants have to be the cutest things in the whole world except for perhaps infant baboons with their big pink ears. Chobe game lodge offered a morning and evening game drive with a stop for sundowners in the evening. The advantage they had over our previous game lodge was their location right on the river. After breakfast each day, they offered a boat cruise which was wonderful. We got very close to the hippos and crocodiles and were able to see the elephants, water buffalo and giraffes coming down to the river to drink and also crossing the river. Elephant herds and large groups of giraffes are everywhere in Chobe and we were able to get quite close to them. I really enjoyed the Boma at Chobe. At one of the Boma lunches, we were entertained by the Mogwana Dance Troupe who put on a great show. During our last lunch there, the restaurant manager came over and thanked us for staying at Chobe Game Lodge and invited us to a "secret" dinner. When we showed up at the restaurant that evening, we were guided to one of the beautiful decks along the river. The pathway and boardwalk to the deck were lighted by luminaries. Out on the deck was a table for two set with a huge candelabra. We were the only people out there. It was a beautiful clear night, all the stars were out, our meal was delicious (as always) and the only background noise we could here was the splashing and grunting of hippos and elephants. A PERFECT ending to a PERFECT vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyHopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    158
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
177
404
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Chobe Game Lodge is looking great! The recent refurb has really made a difference. Our group loved the decor in the public areas and that extended deck is awesome. We had to battle to get people to leave and get on the safari vehicles as the game viewing from the deck was fantastic. Great service and the staff are just so friendly and helpful. The lodge is easy to get to if you are visiting Victoria Falls. One hour to the border and once through the Kazangula border only another 45 odd minutes. Great location on the Chobe River and the only lodge located within the Chobe, so you get to go out a bit earlier and come back to camp a bit later than those staying at other camps. It is a great transition between a hotel and a traditional safari camp. has all the creature comforts of a hotel, but also, awesome game viewing from the land with great guides in their $X$ Landcruisers on on the boats on the Chobe river

Room Tip: The suites are out of this world with their own pool and outside area. Remember that all safari game...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are all most glad you enjoyed your visit. The refurbishment has certainly made an impact and as mentioned, one of the main reasons we built the deck last year was to maximise the enjoyment of our location inside the park and on the Chobe River and now some of the best game viewing takes place from that deck! So we can understand why the guests find it hard to leave there. We try to encourage people to stay longer at Chobe Game Lodge and enjoy an afternoon watching the amazing sunset and animal sightings across the floodplain.

We look forward to having you back here! All the best from the Chobe Game Lodge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff are second to none, always helpful. Wildlife tours are second to none!! River cruise, just the best.You have to do this, and follow in the steps of Liz Taylor & Richard Burton, who stayed on their second honeymoon.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, blow the expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you very much for the review and we agree with you! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that one day you will return. All the best from the Chobe Game Lodge team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at CGL and we enjoyed the abundance of wildlife and the great service offered at the lodge. At the buffet dinners they cooked fish and meat in front of us, and the a la carte option was very good. The game drives were great, even though our guide was probably a bit too shy.... The rooms were ok and we like a lot the warthogs in the garden! An excellent experience!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ealemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you very kindly for your review. We do constantly train our newer or less experienced guides to be confident in their communication with our guests and will continue to do so. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the great game viewing that Chobe National Park is famous for. We hope to welcome you again here one day. All the best from the Chobe Game Lodge team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We can only say we wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were gorgeous and beds were heaven. Food and staff could not be faulted and the recently opened walk way was a delight to sit around and watch the hippos.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

On this two week trip to Botswana we stayed at almost all the Desert and Delta lodges. They were all really, really good but Chobe Game Lodge in particular shined!

Maybe it was because we were greeted by Maggie, the Customer Relations Manager with her charm and winning smile. Maybe it was because once we got to our room there was a bottle of champagne and a plate of dried fruit, nuts and crackers to celebrate my 50th birthday. Maybe it was because Liz Taylor and Richard Burton had a room just nearby us nearly 40 years ago. Maybe it was because I saw more wildlife in two days there than I had in the prior 10 days. Whatever the case this place is amazing.

The staff was very accommodating, our room was so nice, the food excellent and they even made us special vegetarian meals, and the game drives always absolutely superb!

Not only are the game drives in Chobe the best in Botswana, but local warthogs frequent the lodge's ground grasses and the deck fronting the Chobe river front teams with elephants, impala, baboons and wildebeast. You literally don't even need to leave the lodge to see the wildlife.

Our excellent guide, R.B. gave us a Game Drive of our lives. She was intent on making sure we saw the wildlife we wanted to see so when a call from another guide that leopards were about, we had a Ferrari Safari—a crazy drive through the reserve to make sure we saw them.

Days are filled with activities at Chobe, from the wildlife drives to a river cruise. There are hearty meals, intimate table dining and inclusive drinks. A five plus lodge worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 210 is the room Liz and Richard had when they were here back in the '70s. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel was beautiful and the food was excellent! The staff was very friendly and the guides did a great job finding the animals on our game drives. We expecially enjoyed their new boardwalk where the staff set up tables for lunch so we could eat and view the animals on the river. One night they even set up the tables on the boardwalk for a wonderful candlelight dinner under the stars! I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesInChobe, Director of Sales at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you so much for the review and the feedback! We enjoyed having you here and as Angola is just a short jump away we hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
5.2 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,077 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
426 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing