We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chobe Game Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chobe Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Chobe Game Lodge is one of those places that you carry back home with you, and whisper to yourself that you have to return to at least one more time.

From Gao's smiles at the airport when she and her girls (Lynn, Vivian) came to pick us up - to her pointing things out along the way but still being a great driver. To the lemon grass refreshing towels that greeted us as the lodge (it was 38-39 degrees), to Maria giving us a run down of what to expect.

Their efficiency started at the airport, we were all checked in at the airport and given our room keys then. Fast forward to getting to the lodge, freshening up as our luggage was distributed to our rooms and straight on to a river cruise.

Rooms: Spacious, pretty. The AC didn't sufficiently cool the room, but then again it was a heatwave weekend. Laundry done daily. Great room service (had all but one of my breakfasts in the room). Comfortable beds.

Food and drinks: I gained weight. Great food (especially the meats and salads). They did a boma dinner for us by the river one night, with a traditional band. The last days' meal was great - a 'put together your meal and we'll cook it for you' sort of thing. The wine selection was heavenly. They know their wines and they give you the good stuff.

Cruises and drives: The guides (all ladies) are really well trained and have extremely keen eyes. They know how to track the animals, why what bird makes the sound it does, why the male impala is alone - I learnt quite a bit about the animal kingdom from them. Quite a number of animals. Only one I didn't see was the leopard. The game drives yielded beautiful sunrises and the river cruises amazing sunsets. The cruises were relaxing - they pack a cooler so you can have your wine glass in hand as you look at hippos.

Staff: Apart from the amazing guides, the lodge stuff were always smiley, always ready to help - I felt very well taken care of.

The facilities are great...and they cater to anything from dry eyes (got me eye drops and would check on me) to a broken nail (my friend got sorted). Great bars, lovely sitting areas. Wifi at the main lodge area, not the rooms though. Great pool area - was so refreshing to get away from that heat. A walk way (like a pier) that you could sit at and watch the sunset. I can't use the word AMAZING enough.

Only thing I'd request (and yes I know I was on holiday) is to have wifi in the rooms as well.

Great job! Hope to be back!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your encouraging words and compliments! We truly enjoyed hosting you at Chobe and we are so grateful for the time you took to write this review.

The rooms are as cool as possible and the air-conditioning units and ceiling fans do help considerably but unfortunately during the hottest month of the year it can be slightly uncomfortable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our very special lodge again very soon!

All our warmest regards,

Your Chobe Game Lodge Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    156
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
167
382
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Chobe Game Lodge was our accomodation prior to embarking on an 11 day safari through Botswana. We were there for two nights.



LOCATION: 
The lodge/resort is conveniently located just outside Kasane. Close enough to town but far enough away from the larger tourist crowds.


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was excellent. We had no issues with any requests that we had. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome.

ROOMS:
 We had a room on the ground floor, no issues whatsoever. The room was clean and provided all the necessary amenities. Air conditioning worked well and our sleep was comfortable.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was very good. While the variety could have been greater, the food items that were provided were cooked appropriately and tasted great.

The grounds are fairly large providing many opportunities to walk and see the various wildlife in the vicinity. Boat tours along the Chobe provided a nice respite from the frequent land safaris.


This is a very nice lodge/resort that provides a very high standard of service and amenities for the weary traveller.



We would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and had no problems or concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Execui at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely detailed and passionate review of our African Home.

We genuinely appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience at Chobe
and we are delighted that you have had such a wonderful stay with us.

It means so much to all of us here, knowing we are giving our guests the most memorable
time when we get such a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back with
the kids next time for another safari adventure.

Wild Wishes,
Chobe Game Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
173 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Place is wonderfll in itself, but it is a hotel. Nothing of the smiles and the atmosphere from the other lodges run by same company and less interested in the individuall wishes of their clientel. I would use them again but would make sure I get my private game rides. Sightseeing was great! and so was the food! AC in the nice but small rooms is working but the rooms are too hot.

Room Tip: Take a room at an upper floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

The game viewing continues to deliver for our guests in Chobe National Park. We are delighted to hear that you had a great safari.

The rooms are as cool as possible and the air-conditioning units and ceiling fans do help considerably but unfortunately during the hottest month of the year it can be slightly uncomfortable. So although the game viewing is phenomenal during October guests must be aware temperatures can reach in the late 30’s to early 40’s (Celsius) – 100+ Fahrenheit every day.

Our strongest point here at Chobe Game Lodge is the pride we feel to be a part of this wonderful property. The most consistent feedback we have is the friendliness and effort our team put into their work. We are very sorry to hear that there was not enough attention to detail during your stay. We will continue to work hard here and deliver the best possible experience for our guests with the same passion for which we have become known.

We are looking forward to welcoming you upon your return!

From the whole Chobe Game Lodge Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Chobe is a total resort with swimming pool, conference room, billiards, library, gym, beauty salon, gift shop, even a cigar bar overlooking the Chobe River. Broadband internet is usually available (but unfortunately was not working during the time of our stay).

Our accommodation was in a pleasant hotel room, clean, modern, with all amenities. We arrived to a welcome note from the Manager, and a lovely fruit bowl and a bottle of wedding anniversary champagne.

The staff are trained professionals, and a good mixture of age/experience and theoretical knowledge.

The restaurant is very attractive with a good variety of dishes, and attentive, considerate, waiting staff.

On our first evening when we came down to dinner, we were met by the maitre de who told us that a special meal had been organised for our anniversary. Imagine our surprise when we were led out to a platformed deck overlooking the Chobe River, and were seated at a gorgeous romantic table for two, complete with candles, our very own waiter, and a personalised menu. After the main course, we heard the sound of beautiful singing – which became closer and closer until we were surrounded by a happy group, congratulating us and bearing a special cake and a card to commemorate the occasion.

The following evening a scrumptious barbecue was served on the bank of the river, made memorable by an unexpected visit from a massive crocodile….languidly floating past, completely unaware of the excitement it was causing.

In the mornings and early evenings, knowledgeable guides take the guests out in small boats to view game in the water as well as the many animals that make their way to the river bank to drink. Land excursions are in open 4WD vehicles - the game rangers work alone, they are all female and they are not armed. Game is certainly plentiful, but unfortunately so are game viewing vehicles, and there does not appear to be a limit to their numbers. As they are not allowed to go off-road, every time there is an animal sighting it does not take long before there is over-crowding. In one instance our ranger took us to the site of a lion kill which was being munched by a hyena on one side of the road, while being closely watched by the male and female lion on the other. Our ranger had parked responsibly, but very soon a stream of vehicles built up, physically and visually separating the lions from their kill. Understandably, the male lion became very agitated, and charged at the vehicles three times before they began to move away. By then some vehicles had been blocked in by others, so the general exodus was not a smooth one.

Chobe Game Lodge has a resident environmentalist and fosters a culture of sustainability, but as it operates within a National Park, it has no control over the behaviour of other operators, some of whom are day trippers. The army does patrol the area, but the focus seems to be ensuring vehicles do not leave the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilianC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It means so much to the whole team to receive such warm and complimentary words and truly makes us feel proud to hear about the incredible experience you enjoyed at our very special lodge! We are grateful how much you treasured your special safari and the wonderful memories you have taken home with you.

We do hope to welcome you home in the near future and treat you to an even more special experience!

Once again Happy Anniversary..!

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum in August. From the moment we were picked up from the airport in our safari vehicle to the moment we waved goodbye to our new friends, we were treated like family and fell in love with this place. The people are beautiful and so very friendly, the lodge is stunning and immaculately maintained, not to mention that everything was so perfectly organised. Our guide Gao was superb and we loved every moment we spent with her on our game drives. The food was beautiful, a buffet every meal and a boma by the river one night with marimba entertainment. Fresh muffins, tea and coffee were available before early morning game drives and blankets in the vehicles ensured we were kept warm. There was also afternoon tea before every afternoon drive or river cruise! The game drive vehicles were very clean and well maintained, and the female guides exceptional at driving them and finding the wildlife! We saw an abundance of wildlife, with leopard every day! Wifi was available, and was very handy as we could tell our friends back home about the wonderful time we were having! Make sure you spend some time on the beautiful boardwalk and relax with a wine while you watch the eles on the riverbank, it makes for a perfect afternoon!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely detailed and passionate review.

We hope that you will cherish your African holiday in your hearts forever. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to tell us and the Tripadvisor community about your experience. It was truly a pleasure to be ‘play a part’ in your family adventure to Africa.

Sending you some African sun!

From the entire "Chobe Game Lodge family" : We wish you all the very best and hope that our paths will cross again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I can only say Chobe is one of the most awesome places I have stayed. The staff are amazing and you can't not fault them, so nice, helpful, knowledgable, and carding. It is a must place to stay on anyone's bucket list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words!

Wow, what a wonderful review you have written about our very special place!
We look forward to welcoming you back with in the near future!

Best Wishes,

Your Chobe Game Lodge Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zollikerberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Fantastic! The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms where well appointed and comfortable and the property was fantastic. The decks overlooking the river, champagne on the furthest deck in the afternoon, dinner out on the candle lit deck at night. A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentinChobe, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We thank you for your marvellous review of our very special place in Chobe!

It means so much to the whole team to receive such warm and complimentary words and truly makes us feel proud to hear about the incredible experience you enjoyed at our very special lodge! We do hope to welcome you home in the near future and treat you to an even more special experience!

The entire Team at Chobe Game Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
25.1 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
83.2 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.7 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Game Lodge

Property: Chobe Game Lodge
Address: Chobe River, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chobe Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picturesquely situated 100 km west of the Victoria Falls, overlooking the Chobe River and the Caprivi floodplains, the iconic Chobe Game Lodge is the only permanent safari lodge within the Chobe National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chobe Game Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing