We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Nogatsaa Pans Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1,366
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwalape Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liya Guest Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)
US$1,510
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Tilodi Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,848
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
813
188
31
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
188
31
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverprivate dinnerinside the national parkbuffet stylespecial dinnerland safarissunset cruisefish eaglesmorning drivevictoria fallsanimal viewingthe reservesafari experienceanimals includingknowledgeable guidesbird lifeearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

The lodge is located within the Chobe National Park and is all inclusive which is wonderful given that the nearest town is a good half hour drive away. We have stayed at a number of safari lodges and for me this one was much more of a resort. If that's what you're into then great (personally I am not and would prefer a bit simpler accommodation, but that's just personal opinion and is not detracting from the game lodge in any way). The lodge itself had so many extra facilities - day spa, beauty salon, and gym - for me this detracted a little from the whole safari thing and wasn't something I would have considered using (especially when you are out doing activities so frequently) and probably wouldn't pay the extra to stay here again for access to these. The food was lovely with a very wide variety and lunch in the Boma featured wonderful traditional dancing and singing. For us the wildlife seen was not as abundant as other parts of Botswana or Namibia, and when seen (due to park regulations of staying in the designated tracks) they are usually quite far away so bring a camera with good zoom. The guides were friendly and knowledgable and the other staff were very attentive. If you are looking for a very upmarket, resort style safari experience this place is for you, if not, maybe look for somewhere a bit simpler with a lesser price tag.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for your kind review and we are really happy that your stay was such a great experience.

We thoroughly enjoy seeing guests reactions and their appreciation of the little things we do.
Chobe being a National Park we cannot guarantee the volumes of animals but we hope to welcome you back one day to our more classic and smaller safari properties within Desert & Delta Safaris (http://desertdelta.com/).

Best wishes from the Team at Chobe Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We were 2 families travelling with children aged 9 and over. We had been to Manyeneti near Kruger and that was magnificent. We went on the strong recommendation of our travel agent and were very impressed by everything: rooms, food, service, friendliness. Staff were happy and eager to help. The game drives were amazing - lions stalking prey; impressive elephant herds; hippos, giraffes, crocs, impala, zebra etc. Our guide, Tsidi, was fantastic and knowledgable. She tracked a pride of lions for several kilometres based on some footprints she saw whilst driving. We were amazed to find a pride with about 10 members lying, walking and playing on the
road. The bird life was sensational. Sunset cruises were also a highlight. Overall, very well run with excellent staff.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Shay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for bringing even bigger smiles to our faces with this lovely review Shay. We are
truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tshidi and the rest of the team were elated beyond words when they read your feedback.

We would be honoured to welcome you and your family to our bush paradise again
soon.

Greetings from the Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Great location on the Chobe river; excellent game and bird viewing both on the river and on land; well informed and helpful guides on the morning and evening drives. Extremely comfortable rooms (all mod-cons), meals excellent and attractive swimming pool available despite extensive renovations in progress in other parts of the lodge. Wart hogs ("organic lawn-mowers) are a special feature of the extensive lodge grounds.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mclachlansm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Greetings from Chobe and many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that you had a great time with us and that our guides did not hold back with the incredible guiding skills.
The warthogs are incredible lawn mowers indeed, as long we don't bother them they wont bother us

We look forward to saying “Welcome back!”
Chobe Game Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We visited Chobe Game Lodge during 2 incredible days. The location, the staff, the food, the services and the safaris are 100% recommended. This is an ecologic and luxury Lodge to have a wonderful days. A plus activity is the boat safaris where you can see the sunrise in the middle of the river. The national park is full of all types of animals so, it's easy see prides of elephants and lions crossing the ways and near to the Logde. Amazing!! We made more than 1000photos in 2 days!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank youso much for sharing you beautiful review with our TripAdvisor community Marc.
We are glad you captured each memory that way you get to flip through the albums whenever you're missing our bush paradise whilst awaiting your return.
We are very happy you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us and shall pass on your appraisals to the entire team.

Warmest wishes from your Chobe Game Lodge Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Chobe Game Lodge is located inside Chobe NP. This part of Chobe is highly trafficked with day trippers from Kasane and Vic Falls and campers. So there is an advantage to being inside the park and getting a head start in the morning and being able to stay in the park a little later in the evening as all vehicles must exit by a set time.

When we saw lions, or there were lion sightings there were lots of jeeps. That is the only negative. This is not a private concession, so there are going to be more tourists/jeeps. But the amount of wildlife you see compensates. We even saw two rare honey badgers early one morning.

The lodge uses female guides. We met the managers Johan and Tania who told us they want to promote opportunities for women. I was a little concerned before booking because other reviewers complained about guides just going through the motions and getting back to the lodge as fast as possible. Our guide was DK and I can tell you she was excited as the rest of us in the jeep when we had a herd of 250+ cape buffalo walk by the jeep onto the Chobe River flood plain. She followed a lioness right at sunset until we found her pride. It was so amazing to see the young cubs running to the female and all the lions greeting her with a big family reunion. Then she situated the jeep so we could get great pictures with the sun behind us as the pride was drinking from the river.

We saw so many elephants I actually got tired of taking elly photos. The first night we did a boat trip on the Chobe. A huge herd of almost 40 ellys, matriarchs, little tiny ones, all sizes, came down to the river and stayed for a long time. After that we continued up the river to see crocs, hippos (in and out of the water), waterbuck, the rare puku, and tons of birds. I was a little hesitant about the boat trip as I wasn't sure we would see much - but it was great.

The food was amazing at the lodge. We really loved having the opportunity to try local fish and local dishes. The raised boardwalk is a wonderful place to just sit and relax and watch animals coming down to the river. Our room was on the second floor but views of the river are mostly blocked by large trees. But there are wonderful views from the dining area complete with visiting warthogs.

My only frustration was before arriving I asked our agent if we could do a full day tour, going deeper into Chobe and not coming back to the lodge midday. This option is described on the lodge website. We were told this tour was not offered for people staying just two nights and if we wanted to do it the cost would be an additional $325. So obviously we passed. Our days were full and we saw tons of animals. But the email interaction over the full day safari was a little terse and could have been handled better by the reservations staff.

Other than that exchange we thought the customer service, housekeeping, dining staff and guides were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The beds were comfortable, the Wi-Fi worked well, the baths were large with two sinks, claw foot tub and large shower.

I wish we had stayed 3 nights instead of just 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor. Partial river views.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytie M, Marketing Executive at Chobe Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Greetings from Chobe and many thanks for the review and the beautiful photos. Glad to hear that DK, Tania, Johan and our entire team made your stay memorable. Everyone was so happy beyond words could ever explain when we shared your amazing feedback with them.
We are even more elated to know that you went back home having experienced the beauty of Chobe as the animals came out to play in large numbers.
We do apologize that you had to witness the over-crowded lion sighting, this is something the department of wildlife are aware of and working on finding ways to make sightings less congested.

We can hardly wait for you to return for yet another safari adventure and a longer game drive.

Best regards from all of us here at Chobe Game Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews