We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chobe Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,483
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$600
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,348
US$1,321
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
US$97
US$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages(Kasane)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chobe River Camp(Katima Mulilo)
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Muchenje Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveller rating
780
178
29
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
780
178
29
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverprivate dinnermid morningbuffet stylespecial dinnersunset cruiseland safarisinside the national parkmorning drivefish eaglesvictoria fallsbeautiful settingthe reserveanimal viewingknowledgeable guidessafari experienceanimals including
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 999 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Chobe Game Lodge although in comparison with the smaller lodges we had stayed at prior I would not select to stay in such a big hotel. Perhaps had we staying here first it would have been more appealing. It is hard to review this property as I'm sure many people would love the 5 star luxury, the beautiful setting overlooking the Chobe River. Absolutely suberb. Location wise it is the only hotel in the Game Reserve. The room was nice the food was great & I had a terrific massage there. So I can only review it for what it is. We saw lots of elephants, lions but the game was not as good as at previous properties. The guide here was not up to standard perhaps that also made a difference. We spent two nights and I felt that was long enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diedre_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Chobe Game Lodge was the last stop in the Botswana part of our 14-day safari booked by go2africa.com. It had a different feeling from the other lodges in which we had stayed in Botswana, because it was more like an intimate hotel than an exclusive small game lodge. Still I liked it a great deal. It has the most stunning location overlooking the Chobe River -- the views from the lodge are astounding. The food was ok, but not as good as in some of other lodges we had stayed in. I couldn't care less about that though.

What I loved about Chobe was its animal density. Sightings were frequent with plentiful of animals, although cats were rare. We didn't see any lions during the 2 days we stayed there but other guests had seen them in plentiful before us and some after us, and they also saw the rare wild dogs. Though we did spot 2 leopards on the river bank from the boat, which was apparently a very rare sighting. Everything else was so abundant. When you saw them, you saw them in dozens, elephants, giraffes, baboons, etc. And the landscape and boat rides were beautiful too. It was priceless to see elephants playing in the river, enjoying themselves. And the hippos too.

The lodge had a very appealing swimming pool, but we didn't have time to use it.

I want to go back there.





Our guide Lebu was great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HakanE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is a luxury resort masquerading as a game lodge. The structures are permanent, the rooms are air conditioned, but there are morning and evening game drives, as well as a mid-morning boat excursion. If you want to have a drive or boat trip at some other time, just ask and it will be arranged. The rooms are large but simply furnished. The grounds are lovely, being kept well groomed by a family of warthogs. Laundry is included. Wi-fi is extra, and did not work at all when we were there. There is lots of game to see on the drives and the drivers/guides are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Everything you read about Chobe Game Lodge is true. This is very high class luxury in a beautiful setting right in the game reserve. The abundance and proximity of animals meant that there were three activities every day- the early game drive , the mid morning trip out on the water and the late afternoon game drive. Our guide was wonderful, she was full of information about everything we saw. We saw lions on every game drive not to mention herds of impala, elephant, lechwe, kudu, families of baboons, crocodile and countless wonderful birds. The water trips were memorable for seeing elephants at play. The food was excellent- usually buffet style with masses of choice and all very well presented. The room was very comfortable though with the hectic pace we saw little of it. While more formal and larger than many of the lodges, the small number of guest in each jeep and boat meant that we met many interesting fellow travellers..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We went to Chobe Game Lodge as part of our honeymoon.

We had never been on a safari before and we really did not know what to expect. I have to admit when we arrived and told that we would be called at 0530 I did wonder whether this was a good idea!!

We were not disappointed!!

Your time is split between game drives (0600-0830 and 1530-1800) and a river cruise (1030 – 1230). These were amazing. We saw so much. Hippos, Elephants, Baboons, Lions Giraffes, Crocodiles, many many birds including fish eagles and vultures.....the list is endless. Our guide Mr Bean (due to the translation of his native name) was quite fantastic. He was a true ranger who knew where and when to find animals. The highlight was seeing 2 young leopards (solitary creatures) at a water hole. Even Mr Bean was in awe. There was food and drink available (included) in all game drives and river cruises. Sundowners in the park, watching the leopards, is something we will never forget.

We did at times get a bit frustrated by the behaviour of some of our fellow visitors. Please follow the instructions of your guide. They know how the animals behave and climbing out of the vehicle to take photos will scare them away!! (the animals, not the guides!). We got the most amazing photos from within the open sided jeep. The guides are so proud of their wildlife and will do their absolute best to show you what they can. Please do not dictate what you should see. They are the experts and will show you EVERYTHING that is on offer!

The hotel itself was good. On it’s own would not be excellent but the views from all the rooms and the ability to stumble across warthogs and Impala between your room and the bar was quite amazing!! As a base to Chobe Park it was quite fantastic; as a hotel, very good. Please be aware that the mini bar in your room is INCLUDED!!!!
A great honeymoon, not the most relaxing (due to the early alarm call!!) but we did not regret in any way the few lie ins we lost to get the photos and memories we did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailors1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews