We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muchenje Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This lodge has an excellent location overlooking the river and open space. The managers were super friendly and helpful, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff, including safari guides were superb! Much better than other more expensive safari lodges that we visited in South Africa. The game drives were frequent (we never rested unless we skipped one) in the Chobe National Park with guide that knew the area and knew the full lifecycle of all the plants and animals in the area! This was a trip with my 81 year old mom and my sister. We all LOVED it and saw so much game! When I go back, I'll stay here again. We were there in November 2011.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    62
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
202
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Funny, I was just about to post and then read the latest review and owner response. My take, excellently constructed and furnished camp but agree wholeheartedly with the negative comments. Food was under-cooked, over-cooked but rarely properly cooked. Raw cauliflower, dried out fish, curry with pasta - just three examples. The managers openly moaned about their staff on several occasions. Staff were obviously demoralised and consequently some did not give their best. However the guides were good and tried very hard. Overall, a shame and steer clear until the above is resolved. Then I'd recommend this camp.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbagger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This lodge has a magnificent location with brilliant views and the main lodge area is wonderful. However the food was dreadful and the staff were obviously unhappy and this was totally the opposite from other camps we had stayed. However the game we saw was brilliant and our guide was excellent. We weren't the only ones complaining about the food etc so it wasn't just us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiglet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muchenje1, Owner at Muchenje Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food. We do try to cater for a broad range of tastes, and 'Tefo' or Chef (from Botswana) is very proud and passionate about his work so I know will be disappointed. Tefo has had some great feedback lately which makes this so much more difficult. Perhaps you could email me some suggestions of what was wrong with the food during your stay, and we would welcome some menu suggestions.
Our management are very open to meal requests so its a shame they did not pick up your thoughts on the food as they would definitely have created a menu to suite your tastes.
We will encourage Tefo with some more training, and continue to help him raise the bar
Thank you for your feedback. Assuring you we value each and every clients stay for it to be the best possible Chobe Experience
Matt Smith
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent 4 days here and what a marvellous position the Lodge occupies, high up overlooking the Chobe River towards Namibia. From the outset it was a full day's activities. Up at 5, out at 5.30, back for breakfast at 8.30, out again at 9.30 for a full day in the Chobe Game reserve. Plenty of game, hippo, lion, jackal, giraffe, buffalo, kudu, sable, zebra, elephant, warthog and of course lots of impala.

The rooms were very comfortable, food and service first class. Arnold our guide was excellent, eagle eyed and very knowledgeable about the animals, birds and plants. He looked after us superbly and never tired of answering our many questions.

Well done to all at Muchenje we had a great time and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandR186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was supposed to be a one night stop before we headed into the park en route to Savuti. As we spent the previous night in Kasane, we arrived in Muchenje at 09:00 just to let them know we were in the area, and intended to just drift around the park until check in time. When we got there we were invited to have breakfast (which we did not accept as we had had an excellent breakfast before we left the hotel), and join their All Day Safari which included the river cruise and a drive back through the park. It was an outstanding day, great guides, good company and terrific game viewing.
The lodge is very well managed and the staff are really professional and credit to the owners this is a place we will certainly go back to again.
The catering is very good, well prepared and very adequate portions. There is air conditioning but the overnight temperature is very comfortable and we never needed to use it.
Thoroughly enjoyed the short stay, great people and a well run operation, thank you Muchenje Team.

Room Tip: It is an "Open Camp" animals can walk through it and frequently do. There is a lovely phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were fortunate to spend five nights at Muchenje. We were greeted on arrival by the owner Matt and made to feel right at home. Most of our game drives and river cruises were with Lips, who is very good at finding game and at telling stories. We also had an interesting experience going on a walking safari with Synack. This is a small lodge and the focus is on giving you great personalized service. We were never more than six people on a game drive or on the boat. We also really enjoyed that the guides would eat with us at dinner. Clean modern accommodation, wifi in the lodge, good food, what more can one ask.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Wow! We had an awesome stay. Robert & Joy makes you feel right at home. This place is brillant. The views, the service, the accomodation, the game drives and the staff. Our guide was Lips. He made our safaris most enjoyable and made sure that we had every opportunity to see and experience everything that Chobe National Park had to offer. He really did go out of his way. Thanks Lips! You will never be a 'Nigel' lol. We saw an abundance of animals. This place is MUST if you are going to Chobe National Park.

Thanks guys for an awesome stay!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
60.1 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 20 in Kasane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
34.9 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
35.3 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Property: Muchenje Safari Lodge
Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing