We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much fun, much laughter, much game…Muchenje”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We had an amazing two night stay here, and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We loved every single minute of it.
We were collected from the airport with great efficiency, and quickly transported to the lodge. The first thing that struck me was the view across the plains, as you pull up in the jeep. It’s spectacular. The welcome was warm and friendly, and all our needs were taken in to account, to make sure that we had the best stay possible.
The rooms were supremely comfortable, with everything that you could need, including a very handy adapter for charging your camera battery, phone etc. I was surprised to find that I had phone reception here; I know that this would not be important for some people, but we were trying to keep in touch with family back home, and it was great to be able to send a quick text or two.
The rooms also had tea and coffee making facilities, a wonderful hot shower, and space to hang your clothes, as well as a hot water bottle, very useful at this time of year. Laundry is included in the price, but not ‘items of a personal nature’ – they provide a small container of soap powder, so that you can wash your own underwear!!
I found the laundry service a godsend, as this lodge was at the end of our time on safari, and it was great to have some clean clothes for our onward journey.
I loved the fact that the rooms had their own balcony that overlooked the plains – great for just sitting, pondering the vast open spaces. (Don’t forget binoculars). Bird identification books are also provided.
The food was fine, and the hospitality was superb. The hosts really went out of their way to make us feel at home. Sitting round the camp fire laughing, joking (And indeed drinking….) with other like minded people was a holiday highlight. Take your camera to breakfast as a host of blue starlings and other birds came down for left over cereals and breads!
The game activities offered were excellent. I would say that the whole day drive, complete with boat cruise up the Chobe river, is an absolute must. I couldn’t believe how much we saw. Our drivers/guides were superb – working really hard so that we could see a leopard! They were also mindful of photographers, trying to position the vehicles so that you could get great shots. We have holidayed a lot in Africa over the past 7 years, and I cannot recall when I have ever seen so much in the space of one day. Lips and BG, our drivers were knowledgeable, helpful and kind and their good humour added to the whole experience.
If you want a relaxed, friendly environment with superb guides and a great safari experience, then this lodge is for you. If I had had an extra night here, I would have done the all day drive/cruise again, it was that great. This place really does give you memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toptourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

We spent 2 incredible nights here in July. Having arrived late after a fraught day of flight delays we were met at the airport by the lodge with cold drinks and instantly transported into the wonderful ambience of Botswana. As we drove out of the airport into the National Park for the 40 min journey to the lodge we stopped to watch 3 lionesses eating the waterbuck they had caught earlier, followed by Sable Antelope and Elephants. The safari experience had definitely began.The lodge was extremely welcoming, very comfortable, amazing views over the Chobe River and plains beyond. The managers couldnt have been more attentive or hospitable. Beautiful individual lodges with stunning views, decorated in African style with every thing you could want including hot water bottles! Everything included so delicious food and drinks including some traditional local dishes. Meals served in lovely dining area overlooking the plains. Early evenings spent around the camp fire talking to fellow travellers with a sundowner. The guides make sure you make the most of your stay with early morning, late morning, all day and night drives. The guides were highly skilled, trained and knowledgable and excellent at spotting the animals. We saw Leopards, lions, elephants, hippos, crocodiles, baboons,all sorts of antelope, buffalo and exquisite birds. The all day safari with a picnic near the river and a boat safari is definitely not to be missed.
We will definitely return and wouldnt hesitate to recommend this haven.Our special thanks go to the husband and wife management team and the rest of the staff for making our stay so unbelievable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jpexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

In my opinon, safaris are all about the animals. Thus, the guide is the most critical factor in determining the success of your safari.

At Muchenje, the guides were incredibly well-trained, committed to locating whatever animals we hoped to see. They educated us, sharing thier in-depth knowledge of flora and fauna. answering our many questions. They worked non-stop to please.

The accommodations were also top-notch, indescribable views, authentic local materials used in our private "lodges", comfortable, safe and genuine ambiance of Botswana.

Other guests seem to be like-minded travellers, in search of Chobe's beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MayberryPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

This is a game camp – but rather a special one. Despite our usual rule of not going back, if we do arrange a game viewing trip to Botswana in the future, we shall go back to Muchenje because:

• The managers are so attentive. The wife saw that I was having difficulty climbing into the jeep for the first game drive; she came over immediately and said that, the next day, she would arrange for us to go in the jeep with a door. She made a point of being around whenever anything was scheduled, just to ensure that everything was running smoothly and that we had everything we needed.
• Everything – food, all drinks and laundry - is included and we were constantly being pressed to have another drink or some more food.
• They offer an unparalleled programme of activities. On the first evening we had the ‘usual’ 4.30-7.30 game drive. We were then offered a 9.30pm torchlight game drive. The next day we had the ‘usual’ 5.30-8.00am game drive. At 9.30 we could visit a family in the local village. At 10.30 we had a game drive and boat trip (picnic lunch on the boat by the hippos) until 7.00pm (this was phenomenal). We obviously were too late back for a 4.30 game drive but were offered a 9.30 torchlight drive! Our departure the next day was at 7.20am so there was no time for a morning game drive but it was on offer. The managers said that we had come a long way, and paid a lot of money, for our game viewing so it was incumbent on them to ensure that we were offered a full programme. This is so obviously excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2008
5  Thank Roger.pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I was only able to spend 1 night at Muchenje, but will always remember the wonderful hospitality, where a guest's every wish is anticipated, the yummy home cooked food, Dan, the knowledgeable and very nice guide, and the lovely chalets set in a fantastic location. On my 2 game drives I saw impala, elephants, baboons, giraffe, hippo, buffalo, lions and many birds. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Muchenje, but do stay at least 3 nights to experience it all

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Aus2Argie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We spent three nights at the Muchenje Lodge in one of their 10 chalets.

They have a very nice common area that over looks the Chobe River and have a nice watering hole underneath their lookout point where animals come to drink.

Kathy and Rob are a lovely couple from Zim who run the place. They're very welcoming and do make sure that everyone is happy.

Meals are served at a common table, as in many safari lodges and are really delicious. Lunch leaves a bit to be desired, but the dinners were the best we had on our entire trip. Make sure if you want seconds you do it right away. The staff is a bit quick to clear everything, although I'm sure that's on orders.

The rooms are nice and spacious and are proper rooms with 4 walls. (we had just come from a tented room in Zambia). This definitely helps with comfort but at the end of the day, I think it took away a little from the safari experience.

Our guide Dan was very nice and extremely knowladgeable, happy to answer any questions and go into detailed descriptions. To get the best out of your trip, do tell them up front what you're most interested in. Sometimes they would spend 10 minutes on the dung beetles and then drive by the buffalo.

They have a nice full day safari where you leave in the morning, take a boat trip and then do a 3-4 hour game drive in the afternoon. If it's not raining you are almost guaranteed to see TONS of animals. The only problem is that as it's a national park you can't go off road and so the animals have to walk in front of you - very hard with the lions. Also given the amount of territory that has to be covered from one point to the next you have to kepe moving, so there's no chance to turn off the engine and observe for 15 minutes, should you wish to.

All in all a lovely stay, we have no complaints. Our stay at a fabulous lodge afterwards did make this experience pale a bit, but it very nice overall.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ekf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

There are only a select few small intimate style safari lodges in the area of Chobe. Muchenje is one of them. There are 10 chalets which accomodate a maximum of 20 guests plus our hosts and the staff, while this is larger than I normally prefer when on safari, it was still quite enjoyable. The hosts are wonderful, I cannot say enough about them. The grounds are lovely and the chalets are equipped with many amenities you find in hotels at home (though i prefer a little more roughing it-no electricity and all that). While not a tented camp they do try to retain the feel of a small intimate campsite, even having a firepit to sing around at night (we had a rather famous musician there during our stay). They will greet you by name just as if you were family, unlike the large lodges which are TOO crowded and too much like a hotel). The food was excellent. We spent only 2 nights here as it was in the middle of our 22 day safari, but we thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We spent a day on the boat getting up close and personal with the animals, I think this was our favorite part of the stay. The boat safari really added to the overall experience. We intend to return for our next safari to this place as we enjoyed our stay immensely. I would highly recommend MUCHENJE for a first timer or a seasoned safari enthusiast.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
0.4 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
490 reviews
46.6 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.5 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
139 reviews
35.0 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#20 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
29.7 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muchenje Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muchenje Safari Lodge

Address: Private Bag K31, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range: £605 - £1,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muchenje Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, Owner run property situated on the edge of the Chobe National park. Our remote location means game drives do not reach the masses that inhibit other Chobe Lodges.Recently upgraded, Muchenje offers Rustic luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Muchenje Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muchenje Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing