We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,478
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$1,230
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chobe River Camp(Katima Mulilo)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
347
71
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
71
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripchobe riverflood plaingame drivesthe managerslocal village and schoolother guestsearly morningpicnic lunchfamily roomsuperb viewsfamily styleguide beenight gamekasane airportridge overlookingafternoon drive
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for two nights during early December. The safaris were wonderful and we were spoilt for animals. Our guide was Rambo, who did his best to ensure that we didn't miss anything. Tehre were only three of us allocated to the four-wheel drive that could seat 10. The day safari with the boat trip on the Chobe river was the highlight of our stay as we saw hippos, and hundreds of elephants by the river.

We found the food at the lodge to be of a good standard with a home-cooked feel. The free laundry service was efficient and our clothes were returned very clean and well-ironed. Muchenje has a casual atmosphere with communal dining, which was a great way to get to know the rest of the guests. The managers, Joy and Rob, made us feel a part of the family. Due to our short stay, we didn't get to use many of the facilities, but there is a great pool and a fantastic view. The bar is well stocked and the drinks on the game drives and picnic lunch were of a good standard. The rangers are knowledgeable and our transfers and transport were efficient and well-arranged. The staff are friendly and efficient.

The lodge is well designed, and each room is separate with a good bathroom, great bed and airconditioning. My only criticism is that the rooms will need updating soon as ours was a little tired looking, but they were well-maintained and very clean. Chobe is the best place to view wildlife and they are more abundant than Kruger. I would love to visit again just before the wet season starts. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Muchenje again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

One of the best places to stay near the Chobe River. The games drives were perfect, kept us busy. There was so much to see, there were so many animal. Just what i wanted. I am still amazed at all we did see. There was the amazing herds of elephants. I really enjoyed the cruise along the River and watching the elephants swimming across the River. The morning drives were very cold in June. You will need a hat, gloves and very warm clothes. One game drive we did see a pack of lions on a hunt,,,great fun!
The room was fine. Staff very friendly. But sorry to say i agree with the other reviews the food was below average. But the location made up for it...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The view from the lodge at Muchenje, overlooking the Chobe River, is fantastic. The staff were friendly and the food on par with other lodges in Southern Africa (which is overall very good). The all day safari, although at first I thought may be too much, turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Lunch on a boat beached against an island full of hippos, cape buffalo, elephants, and crocodiles was a very nice touch. Hitting Chobe area as our third destination in Botswana was the right choice because the amount of wildlife in Chobe far exceeded the numbers we encountered in Okavango and Kalahari.

We only had 2 nights at the lodge, but wished we would have had a 3rd so we could enjoy more of the lodge itself.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are standalone villas and all appear to be the same.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roydyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This lodge has an excellent location overlooking the river and open space. The managers were super friendly and helpful, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff, including safari guides were superb! Much better than other more expensive safari lodges that we visited in South Africa. The game drives were frequent (we never rested unless we skipped one) in the Chobe National Park with guide that knew the area and knew the full lifecycle of all the plants and animals in the area! This was a trip with my 81 year old mom and my sister. We all LOVED it and saw so much game! When I go back, I'll stay here again. We were there in November 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromTheOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Funny, I was just about to post and then read the latest review and owner response. My take, excellently constructed and furnished camp but agree wholeheartedly with the negative comments. Food was under-cooked, over-cooked but rarely properly cooked. Raw cauliflower, dried out fish, curry with pasta - just three examples. The managers openly moaned about their staff on several occasions. Staff were obviously demoralised and consequently some did not give their best. However the guides were good and tried very hard. Overall, a shame and steer clear until the above is resolved. Then I'd recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbagger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews