We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$1,230
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Mwandi View(Kavimba)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Muchenje Campsite & Cottages(Kasane)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1,349
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chobe River Camp(Katima Mulilo)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
344
71
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
71
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat tripchobe riverflood plaingame drivesthe managerslocal village and schoolother guestsearly morningpicnic lunchfamily roomsuperb viewsfamily styleguide beenight gamekasane airportridge overlookingafternoon drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My room looked out over a cliff unto the flood plan below. One could easily spend an afternoon just enjoying the view from the room or the lodge. But Muchenje has a lot more to offer. I particularly appreciated the fact that they ran all-day outings, beginning with a drive, then going out on a boat for the afternoon (including picnic lunch) and then ending with another long drive. Viewing wildlife on the boat provided a different perspective and also often allowed the guides to get closer to the game (since they had to stay on the trails within Chobe).

Beyond the game viewing, Muchenje had a friendly, family-like staff, excellent food and a relaxing main lodge. My only complaint: I had hoped to get a shirt to advertise it to others (but the gift shop was closed for renovations). I would highly recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Chobe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We fell in love with the Muchenje Safari Lodge. The facility is amazing, in an amazing location, with an amazing view -- you get the idea. 11 cottages overlook the flood plane and when it is really dry animals flock to Muchenje's own watering hole. A beautiful pool and multiple viewing decks are a great place to sit although we were there in March and the bug population can be overwhelming. Great meals are included and the senior staff dine with you so you have a chance to get to know them - a very colorful group in every way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Raves for Muchenje! We had a wonderful time there and saw an amazing amount of wildlife. The manager, Robert, knows what he is doing as every bit of service was gracious, warm, and comfortable. Our guide Synack was lots of fun and had a great way about him. The rooms and meals were fabulous and the location is excellent. We want to go back!

Room Tip: We were in #1 - the furthest away from the lodge. 2 baths and a great view from the tub and deck.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank north4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Muchenje Safari Lodge was beautiful! Wonderful experience. We were met by a fantastic couple - Robert and Joy. Robert kept us entertained with stories; Joy provided information about every detail of the meals, accommodations, arrangements. Both of them were very very personable and thinking of every possible need. Someone was unable to use the new large family room - so we benefited from being able to stay there. It was incredible - loft area, two bathrooms, wonderful view. We were there to do game drives - and they were fantastic! Early morning in Chobe, then back for a quick breakfast, then all day on the water (wonderful views of hippos, elephants, etc!), then back for a late dinner and then out again for a night drive! Great animal sightings and excellent guides (we had Sinah - very patient and very knowledgeable). The meals were excellent/delicious. We were there for Christmas dinner - and Joy so thoughtfully had "crackers" and a Christmas gift for each of the guests. If you want a place with beautiful accommodations, delicious meals, and incredible game drives, this is it! The lodge is away from the very busy Kasane area - and outside Chobe park (meaning that we had to rush at times to get out of the park before it closed! - but that was no problem!

Room Tip: If you can get the newer large family suite, go for it! Beautiful!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JubilantTravelerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great place for a few days safari. The lodge is situated in a incredible place close to the river. We had a fantastic safari, all the park is amazing. There are thousand and thousand of elefants, impalas, hipos and even lions !! The lodge is fantastic, room was very wide and nice. Food was quite good as well and the people that runs the place made us felt quite comfortable. I wish I could come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iciar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews