We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a life time”
Review of Savute Reserve

Savute Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rich in grasslands, desert plains and volcanic hills, the Savuti (Savute) area covers nearly two thousand square miles of Chobe National Park.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trip of a life time”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had a wonderful time on safari with Elephant trails, in Savute and Chobe . The animals are incredible and when we see documentaries on the animals it has so much more meaning. We are going on safari again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    22
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great animals, but a few too many vehicles”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

An excellent area to see huge elephant and buffalo herds around the marsh, the huge male lions and wild dogs. There are quite a lot of vehicles from the lodges and campsites in the area and so you rarely go ten minutes without seeing other vehicles and there are often a crowd of them around lions, leopards or dogs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KSAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elephants to spare!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

In 1992 I was the Deputy Headmaster of a Junior Secondary School in Tonota, Botswana, and I had the great good fortune to take 80 of our students to the incomparable Chobe National Park. It was an adventure that is as fresh in my mind as it was 20 years ago. There were herds of elephants bathing in the river beside the road with their young, 600 wildebeests in a single herd, kudus, impala and hippos, not to mention the pride of lions who had just finished a kill and allowed us to pass within 20 feet of them. It is a breathtaking area of wilderness where the animals tolerate humans, but barely, and is absolutely one of the places that every adventurer should have on their Bucket list. It is also a short drive from the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. as well as being at the northern edge of the Okovango Delta and the fringes of the Kalahari Desert. Plan to spend a month there to get the real flavour of it all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mme-arcati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Roadblock ahead: elephants!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Elephants were everywhere! It was great to be completely surrounded by wildlife and so far removed from the hoards of people you would find in some East African parks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCskydive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Take me back!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We came from Ihaha, north of Chobe, and the road to get to Savute was quite challenging. Depending on the month of the year the sand is more compact or it becomes loser and deeper. When the latter happens, it becomes a tough journey in which you will have to engage the low gear of your 4x4 vehicle a few times. However, the drive is also enjoyable as it feels like you are driving to the very heart of the African bush, and the sense and feel of wilderness is difficult to beat. The route from Savuti to Maun is not very sandy, mostly hard surface but quite in a bad condition. The vehicle's shocks will be surely tested! Like in all of Botswana's remote areas, driving with more than one vehicle is advisable.

The landscape in Savuti is truly beautiful and magical. It will not disappoint, either at the marsh itself or around it. We saw lots of animals (leopard, lions, zebra, giraffe, tesessebe, wildebeest, buffalo, elephants, etc). The Savute channel has been flowing during the last 3 seasons, after renaming dry for almost 3 decades. Because of this reason, wildlife was abundant. The roads heading to the marsh (if dry) are hard and easy, but the first couple of Km after leaving camp there is very thick sand to be passed.

On the negative side, I was mostly surprised at all of the lodge's game drive vehicles. None of them respected the park roads / rules and they went off track all the time in search for lions. It is quite sad to see how the people who work there on a daily basis are the first ones breaking the park rules just to show their upmarket costumers predators as close as possible. Let's remember that we are talking about a semi-arid ecosystem with very fragile vegetation and terrain that truly suffers form off road driving. Shouldn't these drivers think of sustainability and environment preservation? It isn't fair, and I wasn't impressed.

For my views on the campsite, see my more detailed review on "Camp Savuti - Campground reviews", here on Trip Advisor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank okavangowaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savute Reserve also viewed

Chobe National Park, North-West District
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 
Chobe National Park, North-West District
Chobe National Park, North-West District
 

Been to Savute Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing