We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand New and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridgetown Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridgetown Resort
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brand New and Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A friend in the Peace Corp booked this place for us and it turned out to be just terrific. Our room turned out to be the equivalent of a one bedroom condo with two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. It looked out on a lovely lawn and swimming pool and we could see the glimmer of the Chobe River and hear the elephants moving around. The hotel arranged our game drive in the Chobe National park for us and is was just beyond belief. We were within 3 feet of 4 lionesses and their 6 month old cubs. We got out of the Range Rover for tea and an impala ran so close to me I could have touched it, not to mention the cheeky baboons sitting the bushes hoping we might leave something for them. The hotel also arranged our sunset river cruise. Our guide found crocodile, monitor lizards and so many birds while avoiding the multitude of other tour boats out at the time so I mostly felt like we had the river to ourselves. The staff we were very kind, friendly and helpful. We ate all our meals there (breakfast is included) and were very satisfied. Americans may find the meal service rather slow, but my Peace Corp daughter explain that it's that way everywhere in Africa and we found that to be true. The food was quite good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms face the Chobe River. The ones with upstairs balconies probably have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J-NutQuilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This Hotel/Resort is perfect for who wants to experience Chobe without staying in uncomfortable tents. You're only 5 min drive to the Chobe gate: this means you can have a full day safari into the Chobe during the day, but once you're back, you can have all the comforts of a well managed Hotel. This hotel has been open recently, and it's brandnew, with big and very comfortable rooms (DSTV, aircons, hairdryer, etc), but the best thing is the Staff. Big attention to all your needs.
Cleaning was excellent, even in the evening they can come to set the room.
The food is excellent, well prepared by the Chef Jacks, with several options at lunch or dinner.
European standars for cleaning and service make this resort one of the best in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinaelenameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Chobe view from the room balcony is breath taking, the atmosphere is refreshing and welcoming. The activities offered make the stay even more adventurous and exciting. The bar area makes for a conducive relaxing spot

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardChabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I would suggest people stay away from this "resort". There are way better places one can stay in for the same amount or even less. The service is terrible and you're made to share apartments even after paying full amount for the whole flat. The food is as horrible as the guest relations service. They belong to the lowest end of the hospitality industry...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwandinyanyirir... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chobe National Park hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2014. The rooms were very spacious and relatively clean. The staff were very friendly. The restaurant supper buffet was adequate but our bill was altered after we signed it, presumably to add a tip where it was not warranted.

An infestation of bugs from the river occurred throughout the resort that resulted in millions of small insects climbing walls and infiltrating rooms. Housekeeping staff did their best to remove them, but the thousands that entered our room alone were very off-putting, to say the least. We found bugs in our luggage, shoes, on curtains, floors, walls and more. We will try another hotel next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Decent accommodation. Fresh well air-conditioned rooms. Very bad service +
Excellent food if you make a deal with chef Jack. Very nice guy. BUT if Jack is not around … enjoy your ride… with badly cooked meals and very poor service in the restaurant.
Be careful … service is very very poor! Safari drives are not provided by the hotel … be ready to wake up 30 minutes earlier and being transported to another hotel where you will be treated as “problematic child” in the family.
Be careful with your bill. Request all quotes to be confirmed in writing. When we complained about quality of safari drives lodge provided its own car with ranger as it was initially quoted. Upon checking out from the lodge we were requested to pay additional USD200 for “extra” service, ie lodge car with ranger which fully paid against original invoice. Other "extras" were added to the bill for another USD200, which we never signed for. Hotel manager Joyce Chika black mailed us “either we pay or no flight back to Johannesburg as she would call airport”. All was done at the very last second and we had to pay. Worse than that up until now we have not received final bill from the hotel despite a number of requests.

Room Tip: do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
7.4 mi away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,033 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
408 reviews
1.8 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 24 in Kasane
29 reviews
6.7 mi away
Liya Guest Lodge
Liya Guest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chobe National Park
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgetown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgetown Resort

Property: Bridgetown Resort
Address: Kazungula, Chobe National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chobe National Park
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Chobe in Luxury with the new Bridgetown Resort. Come and soak in the sun and relax in this beautiful new resort situated between the Northern Botswana towns of Kasane and Kazungula. Bridgetown Resort centrally near the point where the four countries of Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe meet and within easy distance of the Natural Wonders and beautiful sites of these countries...Chobe Game Reserve, Impalila Island, the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers, the Voctoria Falls and the Caprivi Flood Plains... Accommodation at Bridgetwon Resort comprises 10 Luxury Suites, all River Facing, and 26 De-Lux Rooms with en-suite facilities, with 13 of the De-Lux Rooms are North Facing with views of the Chobe-Zambezi River basin and 13 are facing South with views of the Kasane Forest, read more... Facilities at Bridgetown Resort consist of a themed main restaurant, a lounge bar and swimming pool, in room Spa Treatments, Activity Centre, and a Curio Shop, read more... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing