We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful camp great game viewing, unforgettable people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful camp great game viewing, unforgettable people”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Botswana, first time in this camp – although I previously stayed in other Desert and Delta camps. I absolutely LOVE this place.

It is a cosy camp located in front of a waterhole where elephants drink the whole day and in front of the Savute channel, which was flowing when we were there. The common area, though not luxurious, is extremely familiar with a nice library and bar. Rooms are big, new and very comfortable. Some have direct views to the waterhole with an amazing view of animals (I´ll request it next time!!). Food is also very nice with delicious brunches and dinners with direct view to the elephants :)

Game viewing is excellent. We saw lions in every drive we made, we also saw two leopards, herds of buffalos, every single type of antelope, birds and of course, elephants. The Savute mash has an idyllic landscape as well.

Nonetheless, it is the people who made me love this place so much. One returning guest told me it was not for the animals she also came back to same lodge, it was for the people because she could not imagine coming to Botswana and not spending time with them… And I absolutely understand her. Everyone is extremely enthusiastic, helpful, smiley and makes you feel like part of the family. Everyone in the management when we were there (John, Mash, Taz and Natasha), Jamaica Score the barman, waiters and cooks, and all the rangers (especially Baba, my friend, and Johnson who was our ranger, so smiley, so knowledgeable… thanks for all the viewing, we miss you!!).

I will definitely come back to this country and to this camp which has everything which makes me love this country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmorlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are humbled by your kind words and appreciate this review immensely. Many thanks for being our guest at Savute Safari Lodge on your recent visit to Botswana.

This kind of feedback is what keeps our team inspired to maintain and even improve on the service levels they offer our guests.

We hope that the future allows for us to be your hosts once again.

With warm safari greetings

John, Mash, Taz, Natahsa, Babba, Johnson, Mr Score and the rest of the Savute Safari Lodge family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
180
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

No words can possibly convey how wonderful was our stay at Savute! Our room overlooked the channel where we could see large numbers of elephants - single and in families- coming to drink. What a treat to sit on the deck of our room! Food, service and hospitality were superb!
Game drives with Gee were terrific! He was a great spotter of leopards and lions for us. He navigated water and plains to find a hunting lioness which he had somehow spotted from a great distance!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge and thank you for your wonderful review. Gee is going to be very happy to read your comments as well. We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back again for more safari action.

With warm regards, Obie, Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I spent 3 nights here and was amazed by the variety of wildlife. There were so many elephants I couldn't believe it! The staff was warm and helpful and Gee was an awesome guide. He spotted every animal or bird possible and was knowledgeable, funny and engaging. Metal was also a wonderful guide, with lots of fun stories to share. Obie and Rafael were terrific hosts, the food was delicious, and my room had a view of the watering hole - so no shortage of elephants. I loved the game drives and only wish I could have stayed longer!! I would definitely love to return to this lodge - one of the best experiences ever!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Sheila S

Welcome back home - thank you very much for your great review of Savute Safari Lodge. It was wonderful having you as our guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for your mention of Gee and Metal - we know how hard they try and certainly this kind of feedback says a lot in keeping them motivated. We look forward to your return visit....our elephant farm is waiting!

With warm safari greetings, Obie, Angie and the entire team at Savute Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

From the moment we arrived at the camp to be greeted with warm towels and smiling faces to the very sad moment of our departure, our time at Savute Safari Lodge was beyond anything we could have possible imagined.
The accommodation was fantastic - comfortable and well maintained with lovely hot showers. The food was delicious and the wine ever flowing!
The staff's enthusiasm was infectious and they were SO attentive and friendly. Most evening meals were preceded with a song by the camp 'choir' which got everyone smiling and sometimes joining in!!
Our wonderful guide was GEE. Gee is amazing. Our 2 boys (14 and 12) were in awe of his 'spotting' capabilities - he spotted a mother lion carrying her cub from miles away. He was brilliant at picking up trails and thanks to him we found lions by the bucket load, mating lions, lions eating a wildebeest and leopard. He was also very good at making sure we had the right angle for photographs. Gee's knowledge of all the animals and birds and their habitat was fantastic. He was friendly and informative and we all cried when we waved goodbye to him from the plane.

Thank you to everyone at Savute Safari Lodge for making so many wonderful memories for our family. A special thank you to the wonderful GEE, and to Obie, Mash and Angie.

we just wish we could come back.

Thank you thank you thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllTheGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We are deeply grateful to receive such a kind and heartfelt review - many thanks for this! We are very pleased that your Savute experience was so incredible for your family and can assure you that hosting you was only a pleasure and certainly a huge privilege.

Many thanks for your very kind comments about GEE. We are very aware of how dedicated he is and how hard he tries to ensure that our guests only have the best possible time and your kind words are hugely rewarding.

I goes without saying too much that you will always be welcome at Savute Safari Lodge and we sincerely hope that one day we will be able to make you feel at home with us again.

With our warmest safari greetings, Obie, Angie, Mash, Gee and the entire Savute Safari Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I do not write a lot of reviews, but this place deserves all the praise that is has gotten and more.

The people were by far the highlight, starting with the management team (Angie, Obie and others), the guides and the kitchen staff. Our guide's name was Metal. He had a genuine passion for what he was doing and had incredible knowledge of the park. He also had an amazing ability to bring the Safari jeep to exactly the right spot for a perfect photo and viewing angle.

The grounds were beautiful: the huts are well decorated, comfortable and look out over a frequently visited watering hole. The food was delicious and you are never hungry. The drives were on comfortable covered-top, open-side jeeps that took at most 8 people, but ours never had more than 6.

Definitely make this one of your stops in Botswana.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreysuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Considering your general reluctance to review your experiences, we can only offer you our deepest gratitude for this incredible review of your experience with us at Savute Safari Lodge. We honestly take huge pride in striving to ensure that our guests have a personal and genuine stay with us and the fact that our efforts and that of our team stood out so strongly for you is hugely rewarding to us.

It will only be a pleasure to welcome you back to Savute Safari Lodge some time in the future.

With warm Safari Greetings - Obie, Angie, Metal and the rest of our Savute Safari Lodge family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was the second stop on our recent trip to Botswana and Zambia. We first spent 3 nights at Chobe Game Lodge on the other end of Chobe national Park. When we arrived, we were a bit shocked at how rustic the lodge looked but our opinion changed pretty quick. I like to refer to it as - as close to camping you can get without having to rough it at all.

We didn't see more than a couple of elephants on our drive from the airstrip and were worried we wouldn't see much of anything in this area. When we arrived at Savute, we were greeted by Angie, who made us feel at home and greeted us with warm towels to wash our hands and faces. it was mid-day, so it was time for lunch. We all sat at communal tables out by the watering holes and ate what turned out to be great food. It tasted like home cooking, but much better than I can make. This is the most remote place we've ever been to but we were delighted that they even had a full bar. The staff even sits down with you and eats each meal.

As we ate, we watched elephants come down the small hill to the two small watering holes. The elephants paid no attention to us, even as they walked no more than 30 feet away. How cool!

Food: They played a drum when each meal was ready so everyone knew to come down and eat. There was a wide variety of food and it was all good. We had some interesting choices on the menu at times, such as springbok and kudu, but there were plenty of old staples such as chicken and vegetables. We ate lunch and dinner out by the watering holes and it was beautiful to watch the animals interact with one another. having to sit with others at dinner forces you to make friends quickly and it just enhances the experience. After dinner, everyone gathers around the campfire and talks, has drinks and trades stories of the day's game drives. It was a great time.

prior to dinner, everyone gathers at the bar for pre-dinner drinks. the staff sang and danced one night in the bar and brought the crowd into the fun. At dinner each night, they sing a short song before eating. Very nice. They have a nice wine selection for being so far out in the bush. I am a white wine drinker and they had 2 whites at dinner each night. Very impressive.

Bungalow: Our private bungalow was gorgeous and spacious, with a large, comfortable bed. the linens were very soft and the decor was very updated. they provided robes and slippers, a vanity for women to use, plenty of towels and laundry service. Laundry service is a blessing in the bush because you're not allowed to bring that many clothes on small planes. Turn the laundry in in the mornings, and have it back by dinner time. The bathroom was very large and had glass walls so you could look out on the bush if you'd like. All bungalows are spaced away from one another so nobody but the animals can see in. We ran out of hot water the first night so we learned to take quick showers. There is no heat in the bungalows, so on winter nights it can get a bit chilly. The great news is that you have heavy blankets and they give you hot water bottles to put at the foot of your bed before you go to sleep. It works! We were even a bit too warm one night.

At night, we had to be escorted to our room just in case there were any animals around. Hyenas came into the camp one night, so it's good that they offer this service. They tell you not to leave the room once you're escorted there. The staff will stay up as long as you want though. In the morning, they come wake you for the game drive. Breakfast is served before the game drive indoors where it's a little warmer that time of day.

Game drives: We were assigned to guide Metal for our game drives and he lived up to his
tripadvisor fame. He was great at finding what we wanted to see and took extra steps to make sure we got great views when there were other vehicles around. I told hiim I wanted to see big cats and the next morning was all about the lions. We came across a pride of 5 and then two lionesses stalking prey. it was so exciting! We also saw elephants, giraffes, large birds, hippos, kudu, wildebeest, zebras, impala, monkeys, and many birds I can't remember the names of.

Staff: Truly amazing, fun, caring. They seem to really like having the guests there and do like to joke and have fun. They eat with you, sit around the campfire and answer all your questios about the animals. They know what it means to provide amazing customer service.

Here is a story to show just how great this staff is: On the morning we were set to leave, we were supposed to leave the resort at 8:45 am, which meant there wasn't really time for a morning game drive. So we left for the airstrip on time and a few minutes later we met up with Metal and another one of our game drivers. they said our flight was running about 40 minutes late, so Metal wanted to take us to see a rare male leopard he had just come across. He said he would've felt bad if we left without seeing it. So we transferred ourselves and our bags to his jeep and went out into the bush. We saw the male leopard and he was so beautiful! After we watched him for a bit, we were off to the airstrip. We pulled up just as the plane landed. Who thinks to intercept the jeep to go on one final game drive? Metal and the rest of the staff here are very special.

One small detail: The watering holes in front of the resort are drying up but the staff said they would just pump water in to make sure the animals have what they need. We saw a crew out there surveying and searching for a well one day. the staff said they just had to wait for the equipment to come in to drill. Maybe check this before booking to make sure the animals haven't moved on to somewhere else. I believed the staff when they said they would find water for the animals though. They care very much about the wellbeing of the animals.

I highly recommend this resort. We didn't see as many animals in this part as we did at Chobe Game Lodge, but there are also more predators here (big cats) and we found that many of the animals are hiding in plain view. Overall, it's a wonderful place that everyone should try. We wished we'd stayed another night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Many thanks for your incredible review of Savute Safari Lodge. We value your opinions and this feedback tremendously and we are delighted that your stay with us made such a great impression.

Our people are the cornerstone of our success and your feedback will be used as a motivator for them to continue their efforts to ensure that our future guests expectations of their visit with us here at Savute Safari Lodge are indeed exceeded.

Many thanks for your kind opinions of Metal, your guide. We have no doubt that Metal, "The Professor" will be delighted with your feedback.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Botswana and certainly, to Savute Safari Lodge, some time in the future.

With kind regards and warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie, Mash, Metal and the team at Savute Safari Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am constantly amazed at the level of luxury and service that these camps are able to provide in such remote locations. Savute Safari Lodge was no exception. Strategically placed overlooking waterholes, the camp has comfortable, luxurious common areas (lounge, bar, dining areas). The main dining facility is open air, looking out over the water holes as well, providing a constant source of wildlife viewing. We really enjoyed sitting and watching the animals come and go, and interact with one another. The boma area with open fire was cozy and friendly for after dinner drinks.

Our room was spacious, well equipped, spotless and very comfortable. We spent quite a bit of time on our deck overlooking a water hole, watching elephants come and go. The bathroom had a nice, spacious shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Laundry was taken and returned promptly, always neatly folded.

The staff at the camp are amazing. Friendly, helpful, happy, informative, they went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We were met on arrival with hot towels and beautiful singing. We were treated to singing and dancing each evening and enjoyed it very much. Check in was quick and easy, as was check out.

Our guide, Baba, was very informative. We saw a huge variety of game and had excellent morning tea and sundowner stops.

I like these camps being all inclusive so you don't have to worry about bills and carrying too much money around. So convenient.

The food was excellent, a wide variety offered at every meal, and accompanied by nice wines in the evening.

I would recommend Savute Safari Camp very highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are even more delighted that you saw the value in our team at the lodge and their efforts to ensure that your stay with us was a hospitable one, is recognized. Many thanks for that - we will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Botswana and certainly to Savute Safari Lodge some time in the future?

With kind regards and warm safari greetings, Obie, Angie, Mash, Baba and the entire Savute Safari Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
232 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
398 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
248 reviews
90.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 20 in Chobe National Park
37 reviews
92.8 mi away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Jovago.com so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing