We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge, super hospitality and more elephantsa than you could shake a stick at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Situated by a waterhole and with a river running by the decks of the luxurious tents, this lodge is very comfortable, extremely well run and very close to the Savuti Marsh. if you like elephants, this is the place to come. We saw numerous large herds on our game drives with the excellent Gee - a fount of knowledge about the fauna, flora and even the medicinal qualities of impala droppings. IN the evening there is a regular stream of elephants in family herds down to the waterhole as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink, dinner and then relax with a brandy on the deck. The lodge was smoothly and efficiently run but with great warmth by the Batswana staff. The food was excellent and plentiful and the rooms comfortable and sited overlooking the river. At 6.15 one morning, as we prepared for our morning drive, two wild dogs chased an impala through the river 10 yards from our tent deck and the lucky occupants of the next tent regularly had a leopard sitting just over the river, in the open less than fifty yards from their tent. On drives we saw lots of lions - particularly large males, huge herds of buffalo on the swamp and a pack of wild dogs. If there is a drawback it is the number of other vehicles around - not like Kruger but we rarely drove ten minutes without seeing other tracks from the neighbouring lodges or campsites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for your review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience such great wildlife sightings and in doing so, felt that Gee added value to the experience. In addition, many thanks for your kind words of our facilities and our team of dedicated people on the ground.

We hope that one day the urge to return to the Savuti marsh will have you staying back at Savute Safari Lodge as our guest once again.

With many thanks and kind regards

Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

No doubt this camp has some of the best wildlife viewing we have seen in Africa. Great location and staff is very good. Food is excellent and rooms top notch.
However, be careful, animals get pretty close especially at night. Not much you can do about it, but an elephant ravaged the camp kitchen juste before we arrived.
View of elephants in the water is outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for this review - however as owners of Savute Safari Lodge, we are concerned that this review is not for our property. Savute Safari Lodge is completely surrounded by elephant proof fencing and we have no record of an elephant raiding our kitchen. We believe that you might be referring to the SKL campsite's tented camp, which we believe have had some issues with elephants trying to get into their kitchen?

With kind regards

Management and Staff of Savute Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I and our two teenagers are no strangers to Southern Africa however our 4 day safari adventure experience at Savuti Safari Lodge was indeed like no other. We feel overwhelmed by our experience and it is a pleasure to share our trip review with both seasoned travellers and new travellers also seeking an extraordinary safari adventure of a lifetime, including epic natural landscapes, service par excellence and the unique Savute wildlife magic.

The adventure officially starts when one boards the plane at Maun airport (spell) bound for Savute, with the excitement of all passengers noticeably magnified, for very good reasons.
The flight to Savute provided an eagle eye view of the magnificent Okavango delta and thereafter the vast Botswana landscape interconnected by intricate mosaic patterns of wildlife trails representing a communicating central nervous (eco) system – thought provoking stuff!!

The panoramic views throughout the short flight duration were stunning and within minutes of landing at the remote field airstrip, we were greeted by a large male leopard patrolling the bush perimeter - I kid you not - a great hors d'oeuvre start to our African safari adventure at Savute!!

The safari vehicle allocated to our family was very well equipped to take care of all our seating comforts and a guarantee of wide angle game viewing. Mr Gwist was our dedicated professional guide for the duration of our safari, always eager to respond to any enquiries on the local fauna and flora, as well as ensuring the best strategic position of the vehicle for that special photo-shot and personal experience – of which there were many shared with our family.

There is a huge variety of wildlife activity and interaction at both micro and macro levels within the Savute biosphere and each day we were taken on a journey in which all our senses were stimulated and stretched by the magic of wildlife interactions and sightings at incredibly close quarters within the natural wildlife environment.

Indeed the journey continues on arrival back at the Lodge for meal times where herds of elephant and various antelope species permanently congregate to quench their thirst at the water-holes, including regular sightings of all the big five, giraffe, warthogs, assorted bird species and smaller mammals.

We enjoyed the large variety of meal choices which were very well presented with both management and supporting staff present providing both excellent service and ensuring a relaxed cordial atmosphere with warm hearted entertainment – Fantastic!

During our stay at the Lodge we were given both family and individual attention according to our interests and it is this personal attention to detail that is an outstanding feature of the excellent hospitality and service provided to all guests. The thatched suites are breathtakingly sighted with magnificent panoramic views overlooking the river channel from the comfort of the attractively designed bedroom and wooden deck which offers superb viewing of wildlife, both during the evening and daytime.

The African blue sky during the day was always a hive of activity and an excellent indicator of wildlife activity on the go, as evidenced by the multitude of spoor tracks along the vehicle routes and across the landscape, including within the Safari Lodge camp site!! The daily safari drives and Lodge viewing opportunities are incredibly rewarding with totally unexpected surprises and wildlife adventure for the whole family – never a dull moment!!

Mr Gwist is to be commended for his sixth sense and bush craft skills in both anticipating and showcasing the very best of African wildlife, fauna and flora with mesmerising moments and incredible photo opportunities.

Extraordinarily, this included six leopard sightings with leopards hunting zebra and leopards fishing for large cat-fish, lion pride hunting leopards and the awesome close encounter of the alpha male lion ‘Scarface’ roaring supremely, elephant herds protecting new born from predators, the journey in the dry river bed to witness the on-coming head waters arrival bringing new life to the vast parched landscape, the choice of magical locations for our sun-downers with the awesome African red sun in the foreground, including our families surreal and sublime Baobab forest experience - Awe-inspiring and impressive!!

Thank you (!!!!) to all the Savute Safari Lodge staff and guide team members for making our African safari wildlife adventure so very special and personal and to the Desert and Delta management team in Maun for facilitating an incredible and extraordinary family holiday experience. Good wishes from Gordon, Anita, Caitlin and Mitchel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Gordon and the Branston family

Welcome home!! It goes without saying that we are delighted at your very detailed and in-depth review of Savute Safari Lodge. Many thanks for your kind words and the recommendation afforded to us.

You were certainly there at an incredible time and the mere fact that you managed to witness both the drying up and the commencement of the new flood within your stay had a great deal to do with the natural wonder that you experienced. However, six leopard sightings within four days, the first being within five minutes of your arrival in the Savute area, certainly has a great deal to do with being at the right place, at the right time - most people refer to it as luck!

Many thanks as well for your kind comments on Gwist as well as our team at Savute Safari Lodge.

We certainly hope that you will return one day to visit us and Savute Safari Lodge again.

With warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie, Mash, Gwist and the entire team at Savute Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've just returned from our 10th consecutive (11th in all) visit to Savute Safari Lodge. The number of visits surely indicates our love for this camp. When we first starting going there, in 2002, the Savute Channel was dry and had been for over thirty years. The game viewing was amazing for they had a pride of 34 lions and you saw them on a daily basis. Three years ago, water came to the channel which initially changed the game viewing. With all that water animals, other than the recidivists, didn't have to come to the lodge water holes to drink. Now, however, the animal life is amazing and game we'd never seen there before are present in huge numbers...cape buffalo, roan and sable antelope, water bucks! Imagine my surprise when I looked at the formerly dry channel and saw a fish eagle perched in a tree! This year, as we relaxed after dinner around the fire, a leopard walked down the banks of the channel and later wild dogs ran by! After dinner entertainment! The accommodations at Savute are fabulous. The "rooms", which are individual chalets, are large and airy, all with views of the channel. The personnel is extraordinarily well trained, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We stayed in a 5-star hotel in Palapye where the staff was not nearly as helpful and well organized. As I mentioned in a review of Camp Moremi, there are a number of lovely game camps in Botswana. So, why do we return, over and over, to the same ones? Of course we enjoy the game viewing and ultra comfort of the entire lodge facility. But it's the charm and warmth of our friends there than beckons us back every year. Someone asked us once how long we will continue to visit Savute every year. I answered "as long as we're ambulatory" and my husband said, simultaneously, "as long as the money holds out." On the plane home we were busily planning next year's visit.

Room Tip: I'm asking for room 1 next year. It's at the far end and a couple staying there said so muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Dolly and Jim

Your kind words and love for what we do, where we are and our home is so deeply appreciated. Thank you so much for your loyalty!!

Your 12th visit to Savute Safari Lodge is eagerly anticipated by all of us.

Today, we smile for the two of you.

Our best wishes - John, Mash, Taz, Natasha, Gwist and the whole Savute family!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Everything about Savute is first rate. The "tents" are wonderful with lush beds, great bathrooms, and a view of the elephants to die for. The food is really outstanding at all meals. The guides are excellent and will find interesting things that you didn't know existed as well as animals you are looking to see. The staff is excellent and the camp is just lovely. It is hard to imagine a place that is better than this. The pilot of our plane in leaving said this was her favorite camp of all in Botswana.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We are very pleased to read your kind review of Savute Safari Lodge. Thank you for being our guest and we are happy that your stay with us was a good one.

With kind regards - Obie, Angie, Mash and the Savute Safari Lodge family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Botswana, first time in this camp – although I previously stayed in other Desert and Delta camps. I absolutely LOVE this place.

It is a cosy camp located in front of a waterhole where elephants drink the whole day and in front of the Savute channel, which was flowing when we were there. The common area, though not luxurious, is extremely familiar with a nice library and bar. Rooms are big, new and very comfortable. Some have direct views to the waterhole with an amazing view of animals (I´ll request it next time!!). Food is also very nice with delicious brunches and dinners with direct view to the elephants :)

Game viewing is excellent. We saw lions in every drive we made, we also saw two leopards, herds of buffalos, every single type of antelope, birds and of course, elephants. The Savute mash has an idyllic landscape as well.

Nonetheless, it is the people who made me love this place so much. One returning guest told me it was not for the animals she also came back to same lodge, it was for the people because she could not imagine coming to Botswana and not spending time with them… And I absolutely understand her. Everyone is extremely enthusiastic, helpful, smiley and makes you feel like part of the family. Everyone in the management when we were there (John, Mash, Taz and Natasha), Jamaica Score the barman, waiters and cooks, and all the rangers (especially Baba, my friend, and Johnson who was our ranger, so smiley, so knowledgeable… thanks for all the viewing, we miss you!!).

I will definitely come back to this country and to this camp which has everything which makes me love this country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmorlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are humbled by your kind words and appreciate this review immensely. Many thanks for being our guest at Savute Safari Lodge on your recent visit to Botswana.

This kind of feedback is what keeps our team inspired to maintain and even improve on the service levels they offer our guests.

We hope that the future allows for us to be your hosts once again.

With warm safari greetings

John, Mash, Taz, Natahsa, Babba, Johnson, Mr Score and the rest of the Savute Safari Lodge family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

No words can possibly convey how wonderful was our stay at Savute! Our room overlooked the channel where we could see large numbers of elephants - single and in families- coming to drink. What a treat to sit on the deck of our room! Food, service and hospitality were superb!
Game drives with Gee were terrific! He was a great spotter of leopards and lions for us. He navigated water and plains to find a hunting lioness which he had somehow spotted from a great distance!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge and thank you for your wonderful review. Gee is going to be very happy to read your comments as well. We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back again for more safari action.

With warm regards, Obie, Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
136 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
51 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
295 reviews
23.4 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing