We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Stay, A Must for Elephant Lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Savute Safari Lodge was one of our accomodations during a 11 day safari through Botswana. We were there for two nights.



LOCATION: 
The lodge is conveniently located is an isolated area in Chobe. It is next to a watering hole that provides nourishment for an abundance of elephants from the surrounding area. If you love wildlife, particularly elephants, this is a lodge you must stay at.j


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was excellent. We had no issues with any requests that we had. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome.

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. The only thing to make note of is the prevalence of mosquitoes, particularly with rooms closer to the watering holes. Not a big issue. Repellant is provided and there are screens on the doors.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was very good. While the variety could have been greater, the food items that were provided were cooked appropriately, tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere.

The only concern that we had was regarding the general cleanliness of the pool area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities.



We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: All individual lodge units are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Imagine, you arrive and 20 Elephants are waiting for you, Tokos and Mongoose are everywhere and the resolut Manager named Mash takes you under her wings. One of the nicest places in Afrika, great food, happy staff and the Elephants never stop coming, you can watch them during your dinner. Wonderfull rooms, birds everywhere, just a perfect lodge, can not go better!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water edge, guess they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The 12 luxury suites are beautifully appointed, timber and glass, traditional thatch, all with private decks.
Savute has excellent game viewing, but I will always think of it as the place of the elephants. We never tired of watching their antics at the waterhole which was so close to our suite we could smell them. All day and most of the night they stomped around in the water, splashing their babies, nudging each other, playing around, and trumpeting and chasing whenever the group hierarchy had to be affirmed.

Even the main dining area is itself a viewing platform, ideal for watching game at the waterhole. Pre-dinner drinks were served around the campfire, followed by delicious dinners. It was hard to know who enjoyed it the most, when guests were enthusiastically invited to partake in a pre-dinner song and dance performance.

We were presented with a beautifully hand-painted anniversary card, signed by the staff A complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our suite – which we enjoyed into the wee small hours, while watching our friends the elephants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilianC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When we got to Savute airstrip our guide BK told us the elephants were waiting for us for morning tea.......little did we know he was serious and when we arrived at the lodge - there were around 80 elephants drinking and trumpeting at the waterhole! Now that's what you call a WELCOME!
Our room was stunning - newly renovated and it had a sneaky view of the waterhole from the deck. It is huge and spacious and everything is well catered for.
We loved being able to have lunch and dinner on the deck 20m away from the elephants...that was truly amazing! You can't beat the real bush TV in front of you at the lodge.
The next morning we went out and BK was such a fantastic guide! He managed to get us into some amazing positions for great photos and found us a pack of wild dogs that we were desperate to see :) That was such a highlight. We also sat watching a leapard eating a kill which was stunning. That evening we went back to find the leapard and managed to see her drinking which was fabulous!
The staff are all so welcoming and friendly and everywhere we've been, we have absolutely loved that they all know your name and come find you to chat and get to know you :)
The food is heavenly and we thoroughly enjoyed the impala pie. The 2nd night we were there, the staff had baked a cake for one of the guest's birthday! They all came out and sang happy birthday in the traditional language which was so special!
We loved Savute and are already planning on coming back one day soon - thank you to everyone for a memorable experience :)
Caroline and Matthew

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Car014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Caroline and Mathew

Savute magic is what we call it!

Thank you very much for your very kind review of your experience with us, it is clear that Savute lived up to its reputation as well!! We are very happy that you had such a good time with us and certainly will ensure that not only ourselves, but our elephants are ready and waiting to welcome you back again in the future.

With warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie, BK and the Savute Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Savute Safari lodge was our second camp in Botswana and we were not disappointed on arrival. The location of the camp on the Savute channel is superb and the layout of the rooms gives everyone a view over the channel from the balconies. It was great to be able to sit on the deck and watch the elephants cross the channel to get to the bore hole. The food and the service in the camp was first class with the staff going out of their way to make you feel at home. Our daily game drives with our driver Johnson were full of surprises, the wildlife around the marsh was plentiful from the large herds of Elephants and Water Buffalo to close encounters with Lions and Leopards. This is somewhere that we would be happy to come back too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Many thanks for your review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your overall Savute experience was memorable for you. Thanks for your kind comments about our team and especially Johnson, your guide.

We will always be excited to welcome you back to our paradise some day.

With kind regards

Obie, Angie and the team at Savute Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Savute has a great attitude, it is very friendly and there is a great communal spirit at meal times, when you arrive back to camp and in the bar when the choir made up of every member of staff from cleaners to chefs to guides to management burst in singing and dancing - they were fantastic!
The rooms are huge, with beautiful comfy beds and a lounge area and ours (Number 8) was directly in front of a watering hole which through the afternoon and into the night was frequented by up to 15 elephants at a time with twenty more up and down the savute channel and at the other watering holes - between game drives you can just sit by the pool and watch them - it never stops being fascinating. Room 8 was pretty stinky because of the elephants but we kind of loved that in a farmyard kind of way and it's a small price to pay for the best view in camp, the bathroom has a glass front as well so you can even shower looking at the elephants! The camp is also absolutely full of wildlife, there are beautiful birds in every tree, genets coming down trees to steal biscuits, squirrels, mongoose, porcupines under the deck (although you never see them) and most mornings fresh leopard prints around the rooms!
The food is varied, and delicious, it mainly comes in the form of buffets, but the chef is also there cooking fresh bits and pieces right in front of you. The staff were wonderfully helpful, friendly and the guides and management join you at every meal so you have the opportunity to get a real insight into how people live in Botswana.
Our guide Johnson made the trip really special, he was a fantastic guide, fun, and a brilliant tracker full of knowledge and stories. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, giraffe, every conceivable type of antelope, hyena, zebra, buffalo, wilderbeest and a lot more!
Savute are not catering for the very top of the market that we experienced in some other camps, but they are so so close and it is reflected in the price. They set us up a beautiful candlelit, private dinner on our last night for our honeymoon, which was really special, and the game viewing is fantastic, we also felt like we took a lot of different routes and saw a lot of different landscapes which was great.
One thing to note is that it is purely game drives here, so if you are going to different lodges as well, choose one where you can go on a boat trip, or a helicopter ride, canoe etc just for a different perspective.
We loved our time in Savute and if you love elephants this is definitely the place for you!

Room Tip: Get a front row room for a better view of the elephants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Firstly, we want to welcome you back home and thank you for choosing Savute Safari Lodge as one of your destinations for your recent honeymoon. We loved having you stay with us as our guests.

Wow - what detail and what an incredible review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to let people know about your stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. Your review expresses so much of what we try really hard to deliver as a product. You are right - we are not a fancy, "over the top" luxury lodge - not for lack of the facilities etc. but purely because we want our guests to feel at home, be comfortable to relax with us and allow for our staff to take over and assist.

Johnson is going to be very happy to read your comments, so thanks for mentioning his efforts, this feedback is always rewarding.

May the memories of your experiences with us be memorable and warm for the two of you forever.

With our best wishes - Obie, Angie and our team at Savute Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Situated by a waterhole and with a river running by the decks of the luxurious tents, this lodge is very comfortable, extremely well run and very close to the Savuti Marsh. if you like elephants, this is the place to come. We saw numerous large herds on our game drives with the excellent Gee - a fount of knowledge about the fauna, flora and even the medicinal qualities of impala droppings. IN the evening there is a regular stream of elephants in family herds down to the waterhole as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink, dinner and then relax with a brandy on the deck. The lodge was smoothly and efficiently run but with great warmth by the Batswana staff. The food was excellent and plentiful and the rooms comfortable and sited overlooking the river. At 6.15 one morning, as we prepared for our morning drive, two wild dogs chased an impala through the river 10 yards from our tent deck and the lucky occupants of the next tent regularly had a leopard sitting just over the river, in the open less than fifty yards from their tent. On drives we saw lots of lions - particularly large males, huge herds of buffalo on the swamp and a pack of wild dogs. If there is a drawback it is the number of other vehicles around - not like Kruger but we rarely drove ten minutes without seeing other tracks from the neighbouring lodges or campsites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSAfricaHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for your review of Savute Safari Lodge. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience such great wildlife sightings and in doing so, felt that Gee added value to the experience. In addition, many thanks for your kind words of our facilities and our team of dedicated people on the ground.

We hope that one day the urge to return to the Savuti marsh will have you staying back at Savute Safari Lodge as our guest once again.

With many thanks and kind regards

Obie, Angie and the Savute Safari Lodge family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#12 of 21 in Chobe National Park
136 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
51 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
295 reviews
23.4 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing