We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our pick of the 4 Lodges we stayed at in Botswana.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Of the 4 Lodges we stayed at, this one was the best for variety of wildlife. All the staff were wonderful. It is difficult to compare as all the lodges are wonderful and unique. We enjoyed them all, for different reasons, but Savute showed us the best range of animals. Our guide Metal, was an encyclopaedia on the wildlife. Thanks Metal, we really enjoyed our time with you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for Savute Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Savute Safari Lodge is perfect in every aspect. There are 10-11 chalets that line an elephant watering hole and fresh water stream that attract an abundance of wildlife. I could've spent my entire stay watching the animals gather, bath and drink in the water. But, the African drums call you to tea every afternoon and then out on an evening safari. The staff are friendly and engaging and quickly attend to every request. The chalets were clean and very comfortable. Each bed was encircled with mosquito netting, thus no bugs entered during the night. The food was abundant and delicious. Every evening guests are escorted from their chalet to the open air bar to enjoy drinks and appetizers. Dinner is served overlooking the water hole. I highly recommend this lodge!

Room Tip: Request a chalet close to the water hole so that you can enjoy the wildlife!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SherrieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This lodge is just before a waterhole and elephants are there almost all the time, just a few meters from the lodge. Hyenas, antelope and buffalos are frequent visitors and there is a spotted genet around raising cubs.Service is impeccable, the lodges perfectly insect-proof and I would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8 and 7; just before the waterhole, are the best to stay at.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Savute Safari Lodge was one of our accomodations during a 11 day safari through Botswana. We were there for two nights.



LOCATION: 
The lodge is conveniently located is an isolated area in Chobe. It is next to a watering hole that provides nourishment for an abundance of elephants from the surrounding area. If you love wildlife, particularly elephants, this is a lodge you must stay at.j


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was excellent. We had no issues with any requests that we had. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome.

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. The only thing to make note of is the prevalence of mosquitoes, particularly with rooms closer to the watering holes. Not a big issue. Repellant is provided and there are screens on the doors.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was very good. While the variety could have been greater, the food items that were provided were cooked appropriately, tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere.

The only concern that we had was regarding the general cleanliness of the pool area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities.



We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: All individual lodge units are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Imagine, you arrive and 20 Elephants are waiting for you, Tokos and Mongoose are everywhere and the resolut Manager named Mash takes you under her wings. One of the nicest places in Afrika, great food, happy staff and the Elephants never stop coming, you can watch them during your dinner. Wonderfull rooms, birds everywhere, just a perfect lodge, can not go better!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water edge, guess they are all excellent
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The 12 luxury suites are beautifully appointed, timber and glass, traditional thatch, all with private decks.
Savute has excellent game viewing, but I will always think of it as the place of the elephants. We never tired of watching their antics at the waterhole which was so close to our suite we could smell them. All day and most of the night they stomped around in the water, splashing their babies, nudging each other, playing around, and trumpeting and chasing whenever the group hierarchy had to be affirmed.

Even the main dining area is itself a viewing platform, ideal for watching game at the waterhole. Pre-dinner drinks were served around the campfire, followed by delicious dinners. It was hard to know who enjoyed it the most, when guests were enthusiastically invited to partake in a pre-dinner song and dance performance.

We were presented with a beautifully hand-painted anniversary card, signed by the staff A complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our suite – which we enjoyed into the wee small hours, while watching our friends the elephants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilianC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When we got to Savute airstrip our guide BK told us the elephants were waiting for us for morning tea.......little did we know he was serious and when we arrived at the lodge - there were around 80 elephants drinking and trumpeting at the waterhole! Now that's what you call a WELCOME!
Our room was stunning - newly renovated and it had a sneaky view of the waterhole from the deck. It is huge and spacious and everything is well catered for.
We loved being able to have lunch and dinner on the deck 20m away from the elephants...that was truly amazing! You can't beat the real bush TV in front of you at the lodge.
The next morning we went out and BK was such a fantastic guide! He managed to get us into some amazing positions for great photos and found us a pack of wild dogs that we were desperate to see :) That was such a highlight. We also sat watching a leapard eating a kill which was stunning. That evening we went back to find the leapard and managed to see her drinking which was fabulous!
The staff are all so welcoming and friendly and everywhere we've been, we have absolutely loved that they all know your name and come find you to chat and get to know you :)
The food is heavenly and we thoroughly enjoyed the impala pie. The 2nd night we were there, the staff had baked a cake for one of the guest's birthday! They all came out and sang happy birthday in the traditional language which was so special!
We loved Savute and are already planning on coming back one day soon - thank you to everyone for a memorable experience :)
Caroline and Matthew

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Car014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Caroline and Mathew

Savute magic is what we call it!

Thank you very much for your very kind review of your experience with us, it is clear that Savute lived up to its reputation as well!! We are very happy that you had such a good time with us and certainly will ensure that not only ourselves, but our elephants are ready and waiting to welcome you back again in the future.

With warm safari greetings - Obie, Angie, BK and the Savute Safari Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 22 in Chobe National Park
269 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#12 of 22 in Chobe National Park
131 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 22 in Chobe National Park
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 22 in Chobe National Park
51 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 22 in Chobe National Park
285 reviews
23.4 mi away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing