We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“savuti safari lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Tourcoing, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“savuti safari lodge”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lodge a very high standard but the family spirit.
You are greeted with a very warm manner by a staff that during your stay, you will be considered as a member of their family;
We had to guide Johnson, a competent person and an absolute kindness;
We were spectators incredible moments (hunting a leopard by a family of wild dog), loads of elephants, lions have even made ​​the show with many births and play babies.
When the elephants, we do have never seen so much;
We also note the remarkable contribution of the kitchen and staff room that Savute Safari Lodge make a unique address in the Chobe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bushmen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
182
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Of the 4 Lodges we stayed at, this one was the best for variety of wildlife. All the staff were wonderful. It is difficult to compare as all the lodges are wonderful and unique. We enjoyed them all, for different reasons, but Savute showed us the best range of animals. Our guide Metal, was an encyclopaedia on the wildlife. Thanks Metal, we really enjoyed our time with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Savute Safari Lodge is perfect in every aspect. There are 10-11 chalets that line an elephant watering hole and fresh water stream that attract an abundance of wildlife. I could've spent my entire stay watching the animals gather, bath and drink in the water. But, the African drums call you to tea every afternoon and then out on an evening safari. The staff are friendly and engaging and quickly attend to every request. The chalets were clean and very comfortable. Each bed was encircled with mosquito netting, thus no bugs entered during the night. The food was abundant and delicious. Every evening guests are escorted from their chalet to the open air bar to enjoy drinks and appetizers. Dinner is served overlooking the water hole. I highly recommend this lodge!

Room Tip: Request a chalet close to the water hole so that you can enjoy the wildlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SherrieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
265 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This lodge is just before a waterhole and elephants are there almost all the time, just a few meters from the lodge. Hyenas, antelope and buffalos are frequent visitors and there is a spotted genet around raising cubs.Service is impeccable, the lodges perfectly insect-proof and I would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8 and 7; just before the waterhole, are the best to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Savute Safari Lodge was one of our accomodations during a 11 day safari through Botswana. We were there for two nights.



LOCATION: 
The lodge is conveniently located is an isolated area in Chobe. It is next to a watering hole that provides nourishment for an abundance of elephants from the surrounding area. If you love wildlife, particularly elephants, this is a lodge you must stay at.j


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was excellent. We had no issues with any requests that we had. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome.

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. The only thing to make note of is the prevalence of mosquitoes, particularly with rooms closer to the watering holes. Not a big issue. Repellant is provided and there are screens on the doors.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was very good. While the variety could have been greater, the food items that were provided were cooked appropriately, tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere.

The only concern that we had was regarding the general cleanliness of the pool area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities.



We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: All individual lodge units are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Imagine, you arrive and 20 Elephants are waiting for you, Tokos and Mongoose are everywhere and the resolut Manager named Mash takes you under her wings. One of the nicest places in Afrika, great food, happy staff and the Elephants never stop coming, you can watch them during your dinner. Wonderfull rooms, birds everywhere, just a perfect lodge, can not go better!

Room Tip: All rooms face the water edge, guess they are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The 12 luxury suites are beautifully appointed, timber and glass, traditional thatch, all with private decks.
Savute has excellent game viewing, but I will always think of it as the place of the elephants. We never tired of watching their antics at the waterhole which was so close to our suite we could smell them. All day and most of the night they stomped around in the water, splashing their babies, nudging each other, playing around, and trumpeting and chasing whenever the group hierarchy had to be affirmed.

Even the main dining area is itself a viewing platform, ideal for watching game at the waterhole. Pre-dinner drinks were served around the campfire, followed by delicious dinners. It was hard to know who enjoyed it the most, when guests were enthusiastically invited to partake in a pre-dinner song and dance performance.

We were presented with a beautifully hand-painted anniversary card, signed by the staff A complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our suite – which we enjoyed into the wee small hours, while watching our friends the elephants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilianC199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
429 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 20 in Chobe National Park
37 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
266 reviews
79.0 mi away
andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas
andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas
#9 of 20 in Chobe National Park
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing