We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting and fantastic experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning setting and fantastic experiences”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Savute Safari Lodge was the last of the lodges of my trip - all with Desert and Delta. Great staff, accommodation and food. Nothing was too much trouble. I had two guides during my three nights there - both really friendly and knowledgeable. The view from the dining area is incredible - overlooking the Savuti River, with two waterholes as well, always ensured elelphants and many other animals to watch whilst we ate. Since returning I have been recommending a visit to anyone I know who is planning a trip to Africa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
182
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Savute Safari Lodge was everything we could have wished for . The staff , lodge , food and drives all superb . The rooms are overlooking the river and watering holes and every day we were entertained by various animals from elephants to hyena . On the drives we saw all the big five except the rhino which does not live here . Having been on safari a couple of times before I would strongly recommend this lodge and would be amazed if you were disappointed . My only problem now is working off all the excellent food and drink consumed .

Room Tip: We booked through go2africa who ensured we had the best rooms everywhere we stayed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This lodge is a bit more commercialized then the others we went to but it was such an amazing place. The view we had from where you eat your meals is so cool! You would be eating dinner and an elephant would walk up behind you. WE saw a ton of animals, many that we had not seen at other camps. Our guide was the BEST guide you could ever have, Baba! He treated us so well, and made me feel like his daughter ( i am 17 and he has a 17 year old daughter as well). I was able to sit up front with him and it made the experience so much better. HE was willing to push the distance to give us the best trip. The food was very good though dinner was hard to find any vegetarian options, as I had told them I was but the manager seemed to have forgotten to tell the chefs about that. THe other meals were very good though. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, it is a must here as not all rooms have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This camp is the best! The staff are fantastic, the rooms are perfect and the elephants are constant visitors to the channel in front of the camp. Our ranger was so knowledgeable and he made our experience exceptional. We saw great game, the food was excellent with a lot of variety and the atmosphere in the camp was so happy!! WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was the second lodge on our safari through Botswana. We arrived after a long drive from Chobe and everyone was very nice and welcoming upon our arrival. The accommodations are beautiful and our room was very close to a watering hole so we could watch elephants from our deck. As with all the other Desert and Delta lodges, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The second night, we dined outside alongside elephants and porcupines. We saw a leopard while out on one of our safari drives, which was incredible. One thing to note - if you are traveling in Botswana in June - it is winter and it can get VERY cold. We thought we would be prepared by bringing various layers, but when you wake up at 5am and then spend hours in an open-air safari vehicle, the cold is penetrating. We had to buy fleeces at the lodge's gift shop. Most everyone was not well prepared. During this time, I would recommend bringing warm/wind-protecting coat, fleece, hat, scarf, gloves. At night, it got down to freezing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We moved from Chobe Game lodge to Savute Safari lodge by light aircraft to discover a 5 star luxury lodge set against a stunning river setting ,from first reception to final departure we were treated as friend and part of their extended family . The game viewing was outstanding and the guides could and did track a Leopard stalking two jackles. They make sure you are never hungry with Breakfast , brunch , afternoon tea , sundowners , and finally Dinner we must be putting on pounds !!
We would recommend this Lodge to anyone

Room Tip: Take warm Cloths if you travel in June it very Cold in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwtuk363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a lovely place this is. The friendly staff met us with drinks and " bush showers" a warm facecloth. Very welcome after a dusty drive. Friends and I were on a Desert and Delta 10 night safari, excellent choice of tour company. The Lodge overlooks a channel and there is a waterhole to which elephants and other game use all the time. One evening whilst having dinner we were awe struck when a group of 20 elephants including a baby which was nudged by its mum to cross the water channel, joined us for dinner. Appearing out of the dark they appeared like ghosts in a slow moving caravan, this will stay in my memory forever. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and overlook the water, a treat having wildlife strolling past whilst in the shower. We saw lots of wildlife including a pride of lions hunting wildebeast, also the bird life was fabulous. A perfect place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamE47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
13.8 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
245 reviews
60.7 mi away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
429 reviews
13.0 mi away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.1 mi away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#13 of 20 in Chobe National Park
37 reviews
87.4 mi away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
265 reviews
79.0 mi away
andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas
andBeyond Chobe Under Canvas
#9 of 20 in Chobe National Park
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing