We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nogatsaa Pans Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1,369
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1,280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Kwalape Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Liya Guest Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Chobe Game Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
314
47
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
47
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holesavute channelwild dogsdesert deltagame drivesview of the waterdining areawarm towelsdirect viewlanding stripsafari lodgesense of humourwatch elephantsbefore dinnerthree nightshis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We stayed at 3 D&D lodges on our recent Bots safari. Savute had the best game viewing for us (though timing is everything) and the best guide (Baba). Rooms were great - not tents but really nice individual hard sided rooms with deck, comfy bedding, etc.. Felt like a 4-5 star hotel room, (but obviously no wifi or tv). All rooms overlook the Savute channel (mostly dry bar a few watering holes that attract elephants primarily). Camp has max capacity of 24 I think. Laptop with internet (very slow since off satellite) available if you must.

This area is mostly flat, a few small hilly areas, with both dry marsh, scrub, and pan like areas. One lunch was served in the bush for the whole camp - outdoor BBQ - an excellent touch. Dinner, tea and brunch are served outside, with the watering hole to watch. Breakfast is indoors. Staff here was excellent. Game drives gave us everything they have (no Rhino in most of Bots except Chief's Island) - we saw leopard, lion (with cubs), fresh kill, hyena, herd of cape buffalo, wild dogs, elephant, kudu, impala (of course), baboon, warthogs... Most of the area is dry in winter, barring a few water holes - several are sourced from bore holes run by the park service to keep water here year round.
There is a Belmond lodge next door and a public campsite nearby. Consequently while game viewing was fairly uncrowded, the self-drive cars from the campsite could crowd the scene occasionally. Usually only 2-3 Land Cruisers at a major viewing, and often only us.
Air strip is 10 mins from camp. Pool is cold (unheated), but deck around has nice viewing of watering hole.

Desert and Delta have a great program - efficient connections from camp to camp via their own air service - Safari Air. Transfers communicated the day before departure - ours were usually around 10am. D&D recommends $10/pp per day cash tip to guide at end and $5/pp per day to general staff. General commentary among guests was a little higher often appropriate if great service.

Room Tip: No significant difference in rooms. No choice either!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear LondonUnveiled
Thank you for the excellent overview and for sharing your recent visit to Savute Safari lodge with us. It is always such a pleasure to read such extensive reviews from our guests and to hear about your wonderful time and memories that were made. Thank you for choosing Desert and Delta Safaris for your stay in Botswana.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We stayed in Savute for 2 nights and were lucky enough to have 4 fantastic game drives. We saw a whole host of animals including Elephant, Zebra, Giraffe, Hippos, Hyena and a Leopard. The highlight for us was the 2 prides of lions, we saw one of the prides take down a buffalo which was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guide Obed knew so much about all the wildlife and plants it was a real educational experience. He looked after us and made sure we had the best trip of our lives.

All of the staff at the lodge were fantastic especially Score the barman who made some great cocktails and was always on hand to top you up! The food was great and as it was our honeymoon we were treated to a very special dinner next to some elephants. The rooms are perfect, very comfortable and you have a balcony to watch the different wildlife at the waterhole in front of you. We saw so many Elephants and at night Hyenas.It was very excitng! We would like to thank all the staff for helping us to have such a great experience. Would love to return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear Gareth H
Thank you for the great review from your time at Savute Safari Lodge. I am very familiar with the kill you are referring too, as Obed took a short video clip of this and sent it to us here in Maun. What a fantastic experience and thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Our room was #8 - our deck looked out to the waterhole. I can't even begin to describe the thrill of taking a shower and watching four bull elephants coming out of the trees loping towards to the waterhole. In the afternoons we would watch 10+ bull elephants hanging out, exhibiting submissive behavior to larger males, occasionally getting into scuffles. It seemed that each male that arrived was larger than the last.

The staff at Savute Safari Lodge are genuinely friendly, warm and welcoming. Each night the staff choir would sing for us before dinner. The staff take turns dining with the guests which is a wonderful opportunity to learn more about their beautiful country. The staff are so accommodating. We loved Score the bartender - who always made sure our wine glasses was kept full and packed our favorite sundowners.

The dining area is open and looks out to the waterhole. One night a leopard ran across the channel, another night there were two hyena, another night cape buffalo.

The rooms are more aptly described as small cabins. Huge rooms with a seating area and large bath with a deck running the entire length of the building. At night and in the morning the staff escort guests to and from the rooms. One morning we had fresh leopard prints on the path next to our room. Totally cool! There are mosquito nets over the beds.

Our guide Metal found me my first leopard - the fishing leopard of Nat Geo fame. My third trip to Africa and I finally saw my leopard. We ended up seeing her on two of the game drives. Having a great guide can make or break a safari. All of the guides we met had been with the company and/or at Savute for multiple years. Metal has been with Desert & Delta for nine years plus.

You will definitely not go hungry. Brunch after the morning game drive is huge with eggs made to order and some local dishes (try the bobotie). Dinner always included two options such as beef, fish or chicken. Hot chocolate (or coffee/tea) and snacks during the morning game drive, tea before the afternoon game drive. Appetizers in the bar before dinner.

The environment around the Savute Channel is very different from the Chobe River area or the delta. The rains were not as hoped this year, so the waterholes were drying out. So when we were there at the end of the May/early June the zebra had migrated to LInyanti and the wildebeest were migrating as well. We saw plenty of zebra in the delta, so this was fine, but migration should be kept in mind when booking. We did see lots of lions, cape buffalo, giraffe, steenbok, kudu, impala and of course elephants everywhere.

We spent three nights and wished we had spent one more night. Many travelers spend just two nights, which I don't think is enough time here as there is so much to see. There is a community laptop where you can check email. I was to busy looking at the animals and birds to miss the cell phone or internet.

Room Tip: Rooms #6, #7 and #8 have views of the waterhole. #6 and #7 are near the dining area and fire pit so do get some noise.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank tdh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear tdh42
WOW, what a great review from your recent stay at Savute Safari Lodge. You have managed to paint a perfect picture from your stay there. I am so pleased that you were able to see your first Leopard with us and then to see it again the next day, just amazing. Thank you for the kind words about the staff, service and food. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This lodge in Chobe Park far exceeded all our expectations. The game viewing, and our guide, were excellent. We saw a pride of lions take down a zebra on our first drive!
Every drive after that was full of fascinating surprises.
The lodge itself, and our bungalow, were very ecologically correct, but at the same time left no stone unturned to give us elegant surroundings in the middle of the bush! Out bungalow was private, elegant, and roomy. Our deck and the bathroom and shower looked over a dry river bed that led to a water hole right below the main lodge area. Animals came and went at all hours. The grounds and the staff were always welcoming and immaculate.
The food was exceptional. I was on a restricted diet, and the week-trained kitchen staff went out of its way to present me with beautifully prepared food that I could eat. We had a wonderful breakfast every day, a morning game drive, a snack before lunch if desired,and a delicious lunch. Then there was "high tea", followed by the afternoon game drive, usually with sundowners and a light snack out on the drive. Then dinner, served under the stars with candlelight, China, crystal, etc. There was a fully stocked bar which was always available, and drinks were offered at every turn, including lovely South African wines which were poured at lunch and dinner.
The staff provided exuberant entertainment and enthusiastically saw to our every wish. The fellow travelers hailed from all over the globe, and enhanced the entire experience when we came together for meals, cocktails, and after dinner campfires. It was a dream trip!

Room Tip: We had the farthest room out and enjoyed the 2-minute walk to the lodge.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimeoutLakeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear TimeoutLakeport
Thank you for yet another great review, this time from your recent stay at Savute Safari Lodge. The wonderful overview will be most helpful for future travelers to the lodge. I will also be sharing the feedback with the team at Savute. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

If you love elephants you will love this lodge! There is a watering hole just in front of the lodge with 24/7 viewing of elephants, among other wildlife. The food is incredible and the staff are stellar! The wildlife viewing in this particular area of Chobe is really quite remarkable. All the guides are veterans and professionals who guarantee an magical safari experience. I would highly recommend this lodge and company (Desert and Delta Safari's)

Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJM_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear KJM_Boulder
Thank you for the great review and recommendation to stay at one of our 8 lodges. Savute is truly a remarkable place for wildlife and beauty. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team too. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews