We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The last of our three lodges on this trip. Again a fantastic welcome from all the staff on arrival. This was our favourite and the view from the spacious rooms over the Boteti River makes you want to forget the unpacking and just sit and admire it. The room are again very well equipped with everything you need. The laundry service just as efficient as the other lodges. The food and beverages are just as plentiful and of a high standard as we had now got use to. The hospitality at the lodge was of the highest standard and the efforts put in by all make it a memorable place to visit.

The game drives involve a short a boat ride to the 4x4s parked on the other side of the river. Our guide, Easy, was very informative and enjoyed passing on his knowledge of the area. Seeing him laugh at the behaviour of some of the animals showed someone who truly loved their job.

I would have no hesitation on recommending this lodge as part of a safari to Botswana.

The three lodges I have reviewed are all part of the Desert and Delta Group, they all work to the same standards giving a fantastic and memorable experience of Botswana. Highest thanks to them all for such a great holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
71
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Wonderful viewing by boat and truck along the river. A big herd of elephants crossed the river right in front of us. Also saw some very big kudu bulls close by. I agree completely with Jackie F. regarding staff and names mentioned. Nice swimming pool where to spend the resting period just relaxing. The sun downer with gin and tonic at the river on a sofa was very unique. Once again, absolutely great view!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally well located, well appointed and very clean and up to the high Desert & De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. We had such a fantastic time on our drives with our guide Tau! He was so knowledgeable about the animals and nature and just a really pleasant person! Despite having a few days of rain, Tau did an excellent job of showing us the beauty of Botswana. The staff is very warm and caring, they even put on a performance for us to show us what traditional weddings are like in Botswana! We want to give a special thank you to Tau, KB, Nelson, Candy, and Patrick for making our stay so lovely! We can't wait to return during dry season!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a beautiful place to stay, with the wildlife sooooo close. Safely behind the fences and elevated above the river, was the perfect backdrop of this Lodge. Our hosts were wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our guide Calvin graciously showed us his community, near by, which we loved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
242 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A very good lodge at a very beautiful location. Service is very good. Patrick is a good guide. Although game viewing is less when compared with other locations and beetles are a problem than others, all this has to do not with management but with Makgadikgadi in general. Difficult to beat and recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feyzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Like many other reviewers, Leroo La Tau was our last stop on our Botswana safari tour. We were there for two nights (and wished it was longer).



LOCATION: 
The lodge is located on an elevated position above the river with spectacular views of the surrounding area.


SERVICE:
 The level of service during our stay was superb. Every single staff member greeted us with a hello and smile making us feel most welcome. A special mention must be made regarding Juan and Priscilla. Not only was the service they provided professional and knowledgable, but it was delivered in a very personable manner that truly made you feel like a guest at their "home".

ROOMS:
 There are only a small number of lodges. Each one is very nicely appointed balancing the modern amenities we all seek while on holiday while still maintaining a unique African ambiance. Each one overlooks the river and are spaced out appropriately to provide privacy. At night you can hear the hippos wandering around.


DINING:
 The food selection and service was excellent. The food tasted great and served in a fantastic atmosphere. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and they baked a special birthday cake for her.

SAFARI: There is an abundance of game viewing in the area. You are transported by boat to where the safari vehicles are kept where you then drive around the riverbank and surrounding area.

Overall this is an excellent lodge that provides a very high standard of service and amenities. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends or family.

Please see some of my photos as well as they can provide some additional insight into Leroo La Tau.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms with spectacular views over the river and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterCheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our final stop on our Botswana trip, and well worth the wait. The lodge is up on a cliff overlooking the Boteti River and the Kalahari Desert, and the cabins have walls of glass facing the River, for 24/7 views of wildlife coming in for a drink. We saw herds of elephant, zebra, wildebeest, giraffe, and the occasional hippo just by looking out the window. Almost didn't need to go on any of the safaris, but we did, and enjoyed those as well. Particularly liked the "night safari," as this was the only place we were able to leave our cabins after dark. Staff is friendly, accommodating, and welcoming, and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: There is no way to choose a bad cabin here. However, the walk is longer from the outer cabins to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackyardBunnyWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walbots, Director of Sales at Leroo La Tau, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks you very much for the time you have taken to review your experience with us at Leroo La Tau. We are indeed delighted that the unique location and "different" experience of Leroo La Tau provided a memorable and enjoyable stay.

With warm safari greetings - Juan, Priscilla, Nelson and the team at Leroo La Tau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
37.8 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gweta Lodge
Gweta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gweta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiaan's Camp
Tiaan's Camp
#1 of 1 in Xhumaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
90.4 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Property: Leroo La Tau
Address: | Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leroo La Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing