We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing safari”
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing safari”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just returned from an African safari which included 3 nights at Leroo La Tau. What an amazing trip…amazing staff, amazing food and an amazing guide, Tau. Each ride along the river and beyond was an adventure in sight and sound. Tau, not only helped us understand the animal world we encountered but also the vegetation. And on the final morning when we visited a local village he discussed with us the lifestyle of the local citizens. I have been to Africa but never in the bush and never to Botswana. It was truly a moving experience which I shall always cherish. We were five on this trip and each one has expressed how they shall carry these experiences with them for the rest of their lives. The staff, the chef and again our guide, as well as the many other guests we met, will keep this special lodge in our hearts always.
Thanks to all at Leroo La Tau!
Barbara

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We started our Botswana/Zimbabwe trip in Leroo La Tau... we couldn't imagine a better start, Leroo La Tau is absolutely magic. Nelson and his management team gave us a very warm welcome; we instantly felt at home. The room (spacious, clean, large deck, all perfectly OK) has a truly magnificent view over the Boteti river. The food is perfect and the diner entertainment was fun to experience. The staff is super friendly. The game drives, boat cruises, sundowners where awesome with plenty of wildlife, including a huge herd of zebra (never saw so many before), hippos, elephants, crocs, birds, lizards, African rock python and even a black mamba. Everything is perfectly organized. Guides are very knowledgeable and keen on sharing their experience and knowledge. We enjoyed the concept of the Desert and Delta Safaris lodges (we also had the pleasure of staying at Savute - see my review of Savute Safari Lodge) : all guests and part of the management/staff have breakfast, brunch, tea, diner, etc. together at a large table which favors lots of interaction and conversation. After diner, conversations continue around the boma (staff makes sure the glasses don't stay empty). Nelson and the Leroo La Tau team are so much fun ! We had an unforgettable stay. What a way to start our trip. We will remember the interesting discussions with the Leoo La Tau staff and the other guests. I hope that one day we can return to Leroo La Tau. Thank you Nelson and team for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Boteti river and have a truly superb view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a beautiful lodge just outside Makgadikgadi NP in Botswana. The 12 cabins are above the river with wonderful views of wildlife grazing in the river below. They are quite luxurious, apart from being woken by hippos and elephants in the middle of the night, (how fun) sleep quality was excellent.

The central main lodge is in the center, a short walk from all cabins. The cabins are beautiful and face the river, that side is all windows so you can even view from the shower! The food and service is excellent. They always serve foods for the non adventurous so everyone can eat.

Game drives are twice a day with a rest between. We were two females and were able to use the bush facilities when needed without being shy.

Ishmael, our guide was very knowledgeable and kind. You will love it.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&MB_Phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The last of our three lodges on this trip. Again a fantastic welcome from all the staff on arrival. This was our favourite and the view from the spacious rooms over the Boteti River makes you want to forget the unpacking and just sit and admire it. The room are again very well equipped with everything you need. The laundry service just as efficient as the other lodges. The food and beverages are just as plentiful and of a high standard as we had now got use to. The hospitality at the lodge was of the highest standard and the efforts put in by all make it a memorable place to visit.

The game drives involve a short a boat ride to the 4x4s parked on the other side of the river. Our guide, Easy, was very informative and enjoyed passing on his knowledge of the area. Seeing him laugh at the behaviour of some of the animals showed someone who truly loved their job.

I would have no hesitation on recommending this lodge as part of a safari to Botswana.

The three lodges I have reviewed are all part of the Desert and Delta Group, they all work to the same standards giving a fantastic and memorable experience of Botswana. Highest thanks to them all for such a great holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Wonderful viewing by boat and truck along the river. A big herd of elephants crossed the river right in front of us. Also saw some very big kudu bulls close by. I agree completely with Jackie F. regarding staff and names mentioned. Nice swimming pool where to spend the resting period just relaxing. The sun downer with gin and tonic at the river on a sofa was very unique. Once again, absolutely great view!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally well located, well appointed and very clean and up to the high Desert & De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. We had such a fantastic time on our drives with our guide Tau! He was so knowledgeable about the animals and nature and just a really pleasant person! Despite having a few days of rain, Tau did an excellent job of showing us the beauty of Botswana. The staff is very warm and caring, they even put on a performance for us to show us what traditional weddings are like in Botswana! We want to give a special thank you to Tau, KB, Nelson, Candy, and Patrick for making our stay so lovely! We can't wait to return during dry season!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerang, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a beautiful place to stay, with the wildlife sooooo close. Safely behind the fences and elevated above the river, was the perfect backdrop of this Lodge. Our hosts were wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our guide Calvin graciously showed us his community, near by, which we loved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
37.8 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gweta Lodge
Gweta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gweta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiaan's Camp
Tiaan's Camp
#1 of 1 in Xhumaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
90.4 mi away
Thamalakane River Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Property: Leroo La Tau
Address: | Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leroo La Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing