We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variety of experiences”
Review of Leroo La Tau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leroo La Tau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had an enjoyable time at Leroo La Tau. We saw the zebra migration, with many zebra's coming down to the Boteti River to drink each day. We did game drives and boat excursions and had an interesting visit to the local school where the school children entertained us with their local singing and dancing.

Room Tip: The room did not have wi fi but it was available in the main area. If you have trouble walking requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We completed our safari in Botswana with 2 nights at Leroo La Tau and loved it. The room was beautiful and had a great deck with an amazing view of the river and lots of animals. There were hundreds of zebras - I can only imagine what it's like during the migration.The game drive we went on was very cool and different from the others. It was along a sandy beach and we were able to get very close to zebras, elephants, giraffes, hippos, and vultures. We also took a full-day game drive to see the baobab trees and the salt pans, which was amazing. They sometimes serve meals in the bush - a few minutes drive away from the camp - so we ate a great lunch and dinner outside during our stay. The freshly grilled kudu was delicious. The staff were extremely friendly and nice and accommodating to every guest's needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Leroo La Tau lodge in April, 2014. The staff was very warm and gracious; Nelson and his team made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Our guide Harrison was knowledgeable and informative. Our game drives with Harrison in the Pans as well as boat trips along the river were excellent. We saw lions on a kudu kill - many elephants - wonderful birds. The thatched cottages overlook the Boteti river - we could hear the hippos at night. Harrison also took us to a nearby village one day - we visited the school and medical clinic which was very informative. I would encourage everyone to include the village tour in their itinerary. We enjoyed our interactions with all of the staff; the music was excellent every evening. What a way to start our trip in Botswana. We will remember the diverse discussions with the Leoo La Tau staff and the other guest - and especially "the wedding". I hope that one day we can return to Leroo La Tau. Thank you Nelson and team for an unforgettable experience.We would highly recommend LLT. Mary T. from SC

Room Tip: all the rooms are great with views of the Boteti River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May of 2014. The rooms were very modern with a large bathroom, beautiful views, outdoor space and comfortable bedding. The grounds also had a pool and a hide along the river. The days were hot and the nights cold, but the rooms were typically comfortable and chilly in the mornings. Activities were limited to game drives in the Magkadikadi park or a boat trip on the Boteti river. We opted for all game drives as we had our fill of water activities.
We were fortunate to be in the park during the zebra migration, and certainly got to see lots, and lots, and lots of zebra. There do not seem to be many predators in plain view; however, we saw some leopard tracks and heard lion in the night. On our last day we spotted a male lion with a companion wandering through the bush, but lost them as they wandered off in an opposite direction. We drove around trying to find them again without success, as the bush was very dense.

Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable, sense of humor, good driver, good at positioning the truck and determined to follow the tracks. However, I did not like the use of a safari vehicle where one had to sit in a middle seat. Nowhere else was this the case.

While I would have liked to see the pans, we were told that visits to the Nxai Pans would be only for those who stayed 3 nights and pre-arranged the visit.

The food was good and the house wine was a custom Desert & Delta safari selection of South African varietals.

The water for showering was difficult. One afternoon it was barely tepid, but by the evening, there was only hot water, not possible for some of us to shower. This never did seem to get fully solved, the temperature was simply adjusted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank le_nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just returned from an African safari which included 3 nights at Leroo La Tau. What an amazing trip…amazing staff, amazing food and an amazing guide, Tau. Each ride along the river and beyond was an adventure in sight and sound. Tau, not only helped us understand the animal world we encountered but also the vegetation. And on the final morning when we visited a local village he discussed with us the lifestyle of the local citizens. I have been to Africa but never in the bush and never to Botswana. It was truly a moving experience which I shall always cherish. We were five on this trip and each one has expressed how they shall carry these experiences with them for the rest of their lives. The staff, the chef and again our guide, as well as the many other guests we met, will keep this special lodge in our hearts always.
Thanks to all at Leroo La Tau!
Barbara

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We started our Botswana/Zimbabwe trip in Leroo La Tau... we couldn't imagine a better start, Leroo La Tau is absolutely magic. Nelson and his management team gave us a very warm welcome; we instantly felt at home. The room (spacious, clean, large deck, all perfectly OK) has a truly magnificent view over the Boteti river. The food is perfect and the diner entertainment was fun to experience. The staff is super friendly. The game drives, boat cruises, sundowners where awesome with plenty of wildlife, including a huge herd of zebra (never saw so many before), hippos, elephants, crocs, birds, lizards, African rock python and even a black mamba. Everything is perfectly organized. Guides are very knowledgeable and keen on sharing their experience and knowledge. We enjoyed the concept of the Desert and Delta Safaris lodges (we also had the pleasure of staying at Savute - see my review of Savute Safari Lodge) : all guests and part of the management/staff have breakfast, brunch, tea, diner, etc. together at a large table which favors lots of interaction and conversation. After diner, conversations continue around the boma (staff makes sure the glasses don't stay empty). Nelson and the Leroo La Tau team are so much fun ! We had an unforgettable stay. What a way to start our trip. We will remember the interesting discussions with the Leoo La Tau staff and the other guests. I hope that one day we can return to Leroo La Tau. Thank you Nelson and team for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Boteti river and have a truly superb view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a beautiful lodge just outside Makgadikgadi NP in Botswana. The 12 cabins are above the river with wonderful views of wildlife grazing in the river below. They are quite luxurious, apart from being woken by hippos and elephants in the middle of the night, (how fun) sleep quality was excellent.

The central main lodge is in the center, a short walk from all cabins. The cabins are beautiful and face the river, that side is all windows so you can even view from the shower! The food and service is excellent. They always serve foods for the non adventurous so everyone can eat.

Game drives are twice a day with a rest between. We were two females and were able to use the bush facilities when needed without being shy.

Ishmael, our guide was very knowledgeable and kind. You will love it.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M&MB_Phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Leroo La Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leroo La Tau

Address: | Boteti River, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Central District > Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
Price Range: £361 - £649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leroo La Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leroo La Tau, reopened in 2008 under new ownership, rises majestically above the dry Boteti Riverbed which stretches across the western border of the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The park, populated by up to 30,000 zebra and wildebeest closely accompanied by predators, offers guests the chance to experience the exhilaration of seeing large concentrations of game and the resultant predator interaction.The lodge comprises 12 thatched chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms. The main lodge building is surrounded by an expansive wooden deck with a plunge pool, where guests can immerse themselves in the ultimate wildlife experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leroo La Tau Hotel Makgadikgadi Pans National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing