We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating & relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deception Valley Lodge
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My wife & I stayed 2 nights in August 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The central Kalahari is a unique environment that not many get a chance to experience. The facilities and food were great. We were fortunately to see a lot of wildlife including a group of lion cubs and an large male lion. I highly recommend Deception Valley Lodge as a unique option for your Southern Africa trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ucaimaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Deception valley lodge is a great destination in its own: it's not a great destination for the amount of animals you may spot but it is the best experience you can have in game safari. Yaku , the owner of the lodge ( 2nd generation) drives the jeep with the help of a bosciman guide, Nancy, whose skills in tracing animals is beyond our imagination. You have the chance to learn how to smell, and see in the dry savana, you can spot the black lion of kalahari, his cubs, lots of kudus, tall giraffes and a wide number of multicoloured birds.
The list is long, the experience unique.
The quality of the accommodation is very good, the food is excellent. You can take your time watching the sky and the Southern cross , enjoing the silence of the wild kalahari.

Room Tip: By far, all the bungalows are very nice and comfortable, the lodge has its own private air track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blusavoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family of 4 ( including sons aged 21 and 18) stayed at Deception Lodge for 3 nights as a finale to our Africa trip. We loved hearing how this family owned private reserve had evolved and were amazed at the incredible care taken in the design of the guest villas, the main lodge facilities and every level of interaction. From the blankets and hot water bottles on the chilly morning safaris to the immaculately set tables for brunches and dinners. Also amazing to have wifi in the middle of the Kalahari desert! This was the highlight of our trip. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: As there are only 6 villas with lots of space between them, all are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is an incredibly special spot. There are only a handful of private bungalows and the lodge is 50km from the nearest town or safari hotel so it feels wild and secluded. The amenities are great, the food is delicious and the staff is above and beyond.

Deception Valley made of our Honeymoon unforgettable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monkeypod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had three wonderful days here and really enjoyed the food the wilderness, the sunsets, listening to the bushman and the guides, and learning about life in the Kalahari. I will not repeat all what others have said but I can say that I am very glad that we included this lodge in our 12 day safari.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopOle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Deception Valley Lodge at the beginning of May for three nights, as part of a larger trip through Botswana and South Africa. We included DVL in our itinerary as we, in a rather vague way, wanted to see the Kalahari Desert, and we wanted to have contact with Bushmen.
There were two game drives a day, early morning and late afternoon, each lasting 3 to 4 hours, with only four guests per vehicle, plus a guide/driver and a Bushman tracker, providing very intense game viewing: the tracker would explain what he was looking for as we followed a particular animal, and the guide/tracker combination were indefatigable as they persisted with the spoor. Of course we didn't always find what we were looking for, but over the three days came really up close with such diverse animals as the fabled black maned Kalahari lion, porcupines, and chameleons. For birders, there was a wide variety of raptors such as the bateleur, in large numbers. And then the biggest surprise, on a 'cultural afternoon' our professional trackers donned their traditional Bushman gear and for three hours gave a detailed, fun, immensely interesting demonstration of San life as it used to be, just for our small group. This was everything we came for. This was much more than anything we could have hoped for. It was like a dream, sitting next to a Bushman making a fire the traditional way, demonstrating how to hunt a warthog down a hole, trap a guinea fowl, make a bow, use a bow and arrow...Then we got back on the game vehicle and followed the tracks of a brown hyena as the sun started to set over the Kalahari bush.
The accommodation was first class, the food was fantastic, the facilities were immaculate. But the Kalahari bush, the Bushmen, and real-life tracking of lions and other animals, were simply superlative and a unique experience.
Many thanks to our host and guide Jacobus, and tracker Xamse.
We made our bookings via Footsteps in Africa, and felt that we got a good deal on a 'circuit of lodges' combination that included Deception Valley Lodge, Delta Camp and Savuti Camp, with flights by Delta Air.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olaf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You should stay here! If you are just considering a trip to the Kalahari, then stay here. You won't regret it!

My family and I recently spent 4 weeks in Southern Africa. We finished with a 4 day stay in Deception Valley lodge. I was unsure what standard the facilities would be like in the middle of the Kalahari. But we were all excited by the adventure.

I was really happy with our stay. The lodges were great, the guides were fantastic and we all want to go back. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was unbelievably good, considering we were in a desert. I would have expected that standard of dinner in a good restaurant in Cape Town.

The experience with the San bushman really showed how they lived. My children (aged 6 and 10) were included in all the safaris. Their best memories are from the Kalahari, and it's the place in Africa that they both want to go to.

The downside? Well we don't really have any. The Kalahari had 3 years of rainfall in the months before we arrived, so the grass was really high. (That meant we saw less predators and more birds.) However Jakob changed our safaris to account for this. So consider the time of year that you go - true of any African trip.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0 mi away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#2 of 17 in Gaborone
409 reviews
0 mi away
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Haina Kalahari Lodge
#4 of 7 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
92 reviews
0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#4 of 73 in Okavango Delta
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Deception Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deception Valley Lodge

Address: Farm 65 Haneveld | Private Bag HA 58 HAK, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range: £682 - £753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deception Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Deception Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deception Valley Hotel Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Deception Valley Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing