We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haina Kalahari Lodge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our first safari and it set a very high bar. The owners, Adrian and Wanda were very welcoming and friendly. The tent we stayed in was remarkably comfortable and we loved the showers with glass sides so you could watch the sunrise as you bathed. The food was absolutely excellent. Adrian did his level best to try and get us some good shots of wildlife - the male lions on the last day were big and beautiful :). Note that as an experienced wildlife watcher I know we were lucky in that respect! We are hoping to go back at some point and I would certainly recommend this lodge to anyone doing a safari in the Kalahari region.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family of four stayed at the lodge for three nights in late June as the start of our safari circuit, and we were put up in two of the three luxury tents they have on premises. It was by a stroke of luck that our agent recommended Haina and was persistent in us taking it up, despite my reservations initially about the lodge not being situated within the Central Kalahari Game Reserve. The stay at Haina turned out to be possibly the best few days we've ever had on safari.

The game viewing is top class, and although the Haina plot is a managed game reserve, it shares a bordering fence with the CKGR and the surrounding game reserves which animals can still pass through freely. As most people would suggest, the Kalahari is quite a special place that is more suited for the traveller that probably has been on safari before and is not expecting to see hordes of animals, but rather appreciate the strength of survival of the wildlife in the desert environment. That said, we were lucky enough to see the Kalahari lions feed on a kudu kill just 400m from our tents on the very last day, and got to see what we came to the Kalahari to see - the desert animals like the Brown Hyena and Bat Eared Foxes.

It would be unfair, however, to rate the accommodation based on the game viewing standards, which vary from season to season and are of course subject to an element of luck. Adriaan and Wanda were amazing as hosts and managers, and for two of the three nights we were the only guests at the lodge and the staff were absolutely amazing with their attention to detail and knowing our preferences well, taking the extra effort to ensure that we were all well taken care of. Nothing was amiss, and we really appreciated the scrumptious meals served as well.

The rooms were completely luxurious, and Haina reminds you about the remoteness of the location by installing a shower facility with glass walls looking out into the bush. Animals roam around free in the area, and like most other camps, one does not leave the tent after dark. A note of caution is that in the dead of winter, the Kalahari gets absolutely frigid and quite obviously there isn't any air conditioning in the tents to warm the air up - so pack your thermals!

The day trip out to the CKGR is a must - which takes you to Deception Valley and Deception Pan, with gorgeous postcard perfect scenery en route and excellent game viewing. We also really enjoyed the Bushman experience, which I was very sceptical of at the beginning due to the fact that most of these 'tribal experiences' seem too indulgent for the tourist. What was different was that Haina was perfectly honest that this was really an "experience", highlighting how it is in some sense a show put up in the interest of educating interested guests on the ingenious ways the bushmen have overcome the harshness of the environment in the Kalahari.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakehyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Well i was fortunate to go to Haina Kalahari Lodge last month for a few days. The staff, and accommodation was wonderful. The beauty of the place, and the pans were magnificent.
Lets not forget the delicious food, and brunch served after a game drive out early in the morning.
My ranger was patient everytime i wanted to stop and take a photo, so my game drive was more of a photographic one.. and there were wonderful spots to stop and take pictures.
Thank you to Wanda,Adrian and Susan, for a love break away from the maddening world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This gem of a lodge is located in the Central Kalahari Desert and accessible by both air and car. My wife and i spent three delightful days. the tents were very nice with hot and cold running water, showers, etc. The food was outstanding. Wanda and her staff are doing a really super job. They are very accommodating and make you feel part of the family. One note - we were there in june and it can be quite cold so dress appropriately.

This is a place we would definitely return if we went back to Botswana.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Thanks to the lodge, all the staff and managers for their warm welcome and for looking after us so well on our trip! The tasty snack you guys made us was perfect after our delayed arrival from Gabarone.

The Luxury tent was gorgeous and one certainly feels removed from it all being far out in the bush - the sounds at night were incredible. The room was very comfortable and had a deck to sit on if you preferred some afternoon bush relaxing.

Game viewing was limited with the the thick vegetation.(A popular theme after the good rain earlier this year) This certainly didn't curb our Ranger Mozilla's enthusiasm for bush wacking and all sorts with one goal of proving to us that large game do exist at Haina! We eventually stumbled across a gorgeous female lion eating her meal... birds of prey sightings were also in abundance.

All in all we loved our time there! If you are heading to the Kalahari go kick back and enjoy this little gem.

Message to the Lodge. Many hotels use twin beads pushed together as a DBL/KING etc but Its just not the same as the real deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlyJok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at Haina for 2 nights and Wanda and her staff could't have done more for us! We were lucky enough to be one of the first people to stay in the newly renovated tents which couldn't have been more comfortable... hot indoor and outdoor showers, huge comfie bed and a beautiful outlook into the bush from our verandah.
The lodge area feels like your home away from home, with lots of couches to laze in, chairs around the pool to chill in, a bar overlooking the waterhole and a boma area that we ate supper in around the fire.
We were also treated to sunset drinks in the bush one evening which was a real highlight. Meals were varied and plentiful, including Gemsbok potjie and Springbok pie... delicious!
Game wise, we were lucky enough to have a sighting of a lifetime... a lioness with 4x 5-week-old cubs! Our guide, Mozilla, knowing they were in the area went out of his way to track them for us, resulting in unforgettable viewing of these little guys playing with each other and drinking from their mom.
As if all that wasn't enough, knowing we had a long drive ahead of us on the day we left, the kitchen put together a picnic for us to take with us which was a real treat!
All in all, a real highlight of our trip to Botswana and hugely recommended for some luxury in the Central Kalahari!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AfricaTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The Managers, Wanda and Adriaan couldn't have been more helpful and delightful - absolutely fantastic service - went above and beyond the call of duty to help us make the most of our stay here. We wanted to do a day's self drive into the Central Kalahari, and they loaned us a sat phone, secured extra petrol for us - and packed us off with a delicious cooler box of food. We were also unexpectedly upgraded to a luxury tent - stunning!
Sadly we were unlucky with wildlife sightings on the Haina Reserve itself - a lot of rain and very thick vegetation - but we heard lions roaring close by on two nights, and the other guests saw lions the day we visited the Central Kalahari.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietNim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mikalele Motel
#1 of 1 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
Meno a Kwena Tented Camp
#2 of 9 in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 44 in Maun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haina Kalahari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haina Kalahari Lodge

Property: Haina Kalahari Lodge
Address: Farm 67 | Hainaveld, Central Kalahari, Central Kalahari Game Reserve, Botswana (Formerly Haina Safari Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Botswana > Ghanzi District > Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haina Kalahari Lodge on the northern border of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve in Botswana. Classically African, relaxed and informal accommodation is offered in luxury safari tents. The main boma of wood and thatch houses the lounge, dining room and bar area. Mobile overnight and day trip safaris are offered into the Game Reserve. Activities on offer include game drives, quad bike safari and an unforgettable experience with the local Bushmen people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haina Kalahari Lodge Botswana/Central Kalahari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing