We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hideaway off the beaten track”
Review of Guma Lagoon Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guma Lagoon Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hideaway off the beaten track”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 4 nights here in the permanent tents and had a fabulous time. One day we took a trip across the lagoon, up the 22km to the main channel for a morning of fishing. The trip was beautiful, bird life awesome, papyrus amazing, tiny channels a but hair raising but add to the excitement. My wife caught a 2kg tigerfish. That afternoon in the lagoon I caught a 1.5kg 3spot bream. We had plenty of rest and enjoyed the scenery and tranquillity. Be warned the sort track from the main road is thick sand and can take 45minutes or longer for less than 15km. As always in Botswana always have extra fuel over holidays as the demand often exceeds supply at the remote fuel stations.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of an overland trip. The transfer from the villages was a fun experience and even more so when we went back in their big truck. In Tent 2 you could watch the sunrise from your bed....amazing. The monkeys around the balcony at sunrise and sunset were fun....and listening to hippos at night was new! The trip in the mokoro was great, very relaxing and interesting. A wonderful place to relax. We only ate breakfast provided by the camp and I think its great that, even when taking the permanent tent option you can provide your own food. The only draw back was that the bed in tent 2 was uncomfortable (you could feel the frame), but we were so tired it didn't really matter! No one else in our group appeared to have this issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We camped here for 2 nights. Could not have enjoyed ourselves more.

Absolutely magic - overlooking the lagoon, listening to the animal and bird noises, relaxing with a drink.

Very friendly people and the guides were excellent.

Went for a trip in a mokoro - even more magical, and ever so peaceful. Loved the Squacco Herons. Also a night trip looking for animals and birds: amazing how far away you can see crocodile eyes!

(And after the day trip we really enjoyed the pool.)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seymourh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

On arrival we were welcomed by the staff, and our luggage taken to our tents in the campsite.
We had to wait until morning to take in the beautiful views from the sundeck overlooking the lagoon. The location of the campsite is beautiful and has a true bush feeling, and our accommodation private and cosy and under trees. Had our own ablutions with a wonderful view. The deck was a favourite for us, and so enjoyed sitting and gazing out over the water. The campsite had a lovely pool with a shower, and a handy toilet near the main lodge for convenience. The table service with our meals was excellent and we never left the table feeling hungry. We spent most of our time out on the water fishing and found that the guides were not hands on for most of our time out - not enough interaction with us on how to and where to! The birdlife was fantastic and we could hear hippos every evening. A wonderful few days at Guma..

Room Tip: Room/Tent No 1 has no view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The camp is wonderful and I would rate it 11/10.
The setting is beautiful and so is the campsite. Each campsite is private, has its own ablutions and electricity. The pool is nice with its own shower (very classy).
The welcome wasn't great. I expected a warm welcome and even though we were shown around and given the tour, it was totally "without feeling", as if it was just a job the guide had to do. No enthusiasm at all. He was like this throughout our stay.
The communal kitchen lacked a lot of basic equipment and didn't have hot water to do the dishes. But that is not a complaint, merely a mention.

Our fishing guide on the other hand was very good. He was very knowledgeable, bubbly and super friendly, the exact opposite of the camp staff. We caught a nice fish, and he even offered to clean it for us. That was very unexpected and very nice.

If you like fishing then this is a good spot and I would recommend the place to my friends, but would like the owner to know that hospitality is a key role in a business.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AIRJAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I camped here as part of a private mobile safari. We had a wonderfully warm welcome, told we can take our own drinks into the lodge and help ourselves to tea and coffee. The campsites are under trees and the toilets and showers adequate. The better shower is at the pool and the toilet near the lodge is excellent. The rest a bit hit and miss but fine. The lodge verandah is great for sunrises. The pool is small but welcome. We were transferred by smaller vehicles from a nearby village to the lodge - the roads are poor and can flood / deep sand - but this was part of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881swf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed at Guma Lodge in August 2012 for 2 nights.What a magical place it is.

Firstly it is an experience to arrive at Guma Lodge as you are met by a driver from the lodge who transports you in a supposeingly 4x4 as you go through sand and water ( a bit like a pond ) but still adventueous.The truck that met the tour that I was with actually became bogged not once but twice and as lead form of transport also became bogged we required reinforcements from the lodge to be able to arrive at the lodge which did occur but late and so we had lunch at 4pm.

But what a setting Guma Lodge is a fishing lodge but that means little if you just want to enjoy the wonderful sunsets the pinks and mauves are glorious.

I stayed in one of the tents and that was amazing it was near the water but view a but restricted by trees but of an afternoon I would sit and watch the monkey highway come to life as the monkeys used the trees to go where ever they where off to.

Of a night you could here the hippos in the river.

The beds are very comfortable but you do need to use the extra blankets provided.

Dinner and breakfast are table service and excellant.

The tour also undertook the traditional dugout canoe trip where one travels through the waterways of the Delta we only did a few hours which is ample to appreciate the Delta.We saw a crocodile but the drivers of the canoes where instructed not to look for hippos based on passed events of canoes being capsized.

We stopped at an island for a snack and drink before returning to sit on the balcony of the lodge or laze in your tent .

All staff are very accomodating with an honour system of the bar when not in attendance.

Dress warm when being transported in the open vehicles as it can be very cold with the wind blowing through the open windows.

Room Tip: Not so much to choose a good room but you can let the flaps on the windows and door down to keep ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
103.2 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
46 reviews
15.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#3 of 71 in Okavango Delta
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shakawe River Lodge
Shakawe River Lodge
#3 of 5 in Shakawe
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
72.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#23 of 71 in Okavango Delta
173 reviews
57.7 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
149 reviews
80.8 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guma Lagoon Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guma Lagoon Camp

Property: Guma Lagoon Camp
Address: Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:3 star — Guma Lagoon Camp 3*
Also Known As:
Guma Lagoon Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Guma Lagoon Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing