We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Experience”
Review of Kanana Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanana Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Kanana as a family of two parents and two children (19 and 21).
Our first time on safari and Kanana was the perfect introduction. Expert guide, Amos, was a knowledgable tracker who was able to get us close to elephant, giraffe, baboon and many others! We saw some amazing things and felt privileged to bear witness to the beautiful wilderness of the Okavango Delta. The camp is situated on the banks of the river which give glorious sunrise views and the sunset river cruise to the Heronery is an experience not to be missed! Game drives provided an astonishing variety of wild game; Kudu, Impala, Lechwe, Elephant, Giraffe, Zebra, Baboon, Monkey, Reedbuck, Nile Crocodile, Jackal, Genet and Aardvark! During afternoon game drives a sundowner drink was produced by the guide accompanied by a delicious snack of cured meat or stuffed pimento peppers to be consumed in the African bush surrounded by untouched nature.
The accommodation was a very luxurious standard when one considered the location. Showers heated faster than my shower in the UK and the beds were soft and always warmed with a hot water bottle which was invaluable in the surprisingly chilly African winter evenings!
The food at Kanana was magnificent and combined local tradition with modern cuisine. Individual dietary requirements were fully catered for. I was in camp with vegetarians, lactose intolerant and gluten free individuals who were all fully catered for. Drinks were available with a full selection of marvellous South Africa wines, local lagers and classic soft drinks (coke, fanta etc).
I would wholeheartedly recommend Kanana Camp as a perfect destination for those wanting to experience some of the best the Okavango Delta has to offer in absolute comfort and under the dutiful care and attention of the friendly knowledgeable hosts Gregg and Viv.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ERM171292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
141
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My friend and I spent 3 unforgettable days at Kanana Camp in early May this year, fully packed with wonderful moments. From the very first beginning, we felt at home away from home, as the whole Kanana team around Viv and Greg was so friendly and welcoming and the service was excellent. The location is stunning. Nestled against the water's edge, it offers great views. The perfect place to wind down between the different acitvities on offer, like game drives, night drives, boat trips, mokoro tours and bush walks. The activities were clearly the highlights, and Aubrey, our guide for the 3 days, made the most out of them for us. His passion for nature and wildlife was infectuous, he was extremely knowledgeable, and had a good sense of humour. We learned so much and had a great time together. We simply couldn't have asked for more. Very special 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent three wonderful days in Kanana in early May. The camp is absolutely stunning: a very peaceful place; beautiful, clean and very comfortable rooms; delicious food. The staff is phenomenal: everybody was so friendly and helpful, making us feel so welcome. The service was excellent all-round. Kanana offers a broad range of activities, and we could not get enough of game drives (day & night), bush walks, boat and mokoro trips. We had an excellent guide - Aubrey - who took extremely good care of us throughout our stay. We had a great time and a lot of fun with him. Aubrey is highly qualified and knowledgable; he was very responsive to any of our questions and readily explained a lot about the wildlife and nature. He even explained the stars to us during one of the night-time drives which was amazing. Aubrey really accomodated any of our wishes; he even took us on another bushwalk before we had to leave later that morning - a wonderful finish to an overall fantastic stay at Kanana. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our group of 4 adults had a wonderful time at Kanana, Our first guide, Opie was very informative and gave us all the time and detail we needed. he has a great sense of humour which made it great fun in the vehicle or boat. we were a bit disappointed we had to change guides half way through but Isaac was also an excellent guide. Both were very passionate about conservation and the animals and made a great effort to get us to see any animals we requested.
The staff, food, drinks, and rooms at Kanana were all fantastic. we couldn't have asked for anything more.
We would highly recommend Okavango Delta as a safari destination and Kanana as your camp as they have a bigger choice of activities over other camps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you should have the good fortune to hear about Kanana before you travel to Botswana then my advice would be to leave it to the end, leave the best till last. We spent three days in Kanana in early May and it made a wonderful impression on us. The staff were quite excellent; every day was a joy and we were really sorry to leave. Our guide was Kenny who was great. Six star rating !
Other camps were also wonderful but Kanana made the greatest impression on us and given half a chance (and a win on the lottery) I would go back there tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent 3 unforgettable nights at Kanana and we loved every minute of it. Every detail its just perfect! Isaac was our guide and he showed us all the beautiful spots of the Delta and we saw all the animals that you could wish for. The best fotos of our vacation we shot at Kanana!
Mark and the rest of the staff very much made us feel at home - with the difference that the food at home is not as tasty ;-) as it is at the Camp. Thanks a lot to everybody at Kanana - the paradise of the delta!!!! Heike, Bernd and Paul

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HH0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed three nights and absolutely loved it! In addition to the good food, great service, beautiful accommodation, wonderful game spotting etc. etc. - the staff were in a great mood and conveyed the feeling they too knew they were in Paradise! We had a very knowledgeable guy, Issac who could not have been more helpful. But everyone was great. Mark and Georgi have done something fantastic in motivating the staff to be so genuine and sincere and still enjoying their work. Everything was perfect in terms of logistics etc.etc. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
68.6 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
45 reviews
17.6 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
213 reviews
6.8 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
74 reviews
23.0 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#9 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
220 reviews
25.5 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#23 of 71 in Okavango Delta
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanana Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanana Camp

Property: Kanana Camp
Address: Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4 star — Kanana Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden jewel on the Xudum River, Kanana is located in the southwest of the Okavango Delta. The area encompasses a necklace of islands dotted with palms, figs, ebony and knobthorn, and is home to a myriad of birds, plants and animals. The nature of the habitat means it is the perfect place to experience the diversity of species found within the Okavango Delta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanana Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Kanana Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing