We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

The best luxurious African tour operator andBeyond will exceed anyone's expectation. From the planning and organizing to arrival at the airport and the whole trip was superb!!
It deserve a 7 star rating! We went in 5 of their hotels around Africa and Xudum was new. Everything was excellent! Location , accommodation, food, service and activities made us feel like we were royalties!
Salute to all the people behind andBeyond! We will go back anytime and we are always dreaming o doing another trip soon with you guys!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_karthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I highly recommend Xudum. My comments mirror what others have already written. By comparison, we stayed at Ulusaba in Sabi Sands two years ago and, while it was perhaps slightly more deluxe, we prefered Xudum and the Okavango Delta. It's more remote, less crowded (fewer game vehicles), and has better game viewing than Sabi. One minor criticism: the food isn't as "amazing" as some suggest. If you're a foodie, you'll find the meals more hearty than gourmet. If you want great food, go to Cape Town and Franschhoek.

Room Tip: They are all good. Just depends whether you want to be close to the lodge or more remote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaNimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent 4 nights in April 2013 at Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge. It was simply amazing and magic! Beautiful room, amazing location, excellent food, outstanding service and staff members!

The trip from Pom Pom Airstrip to Xudum takes more or less 2 hours but gives you already an entertaining stalk possibility of the awesome flora and fauna of Okavango and Xudum. Once at the lodge, a warm welcome of the staff lets you feel immediately at home! At all, the whole staffs were so friendly, helpful, charming and servable and everything and everyone was simply outstanding.

BT our guide was very sensitive to our wishes. Thanks to him and to Justice we had the chance to spot a leopard by day in the middle of the bush. And a few days later during our night stalk we tracked a leopard not far from our camp… such an exciting experience!

Zie, the chef was really the magic ingredient inside our menus. She performed simply delicious menus, tasty and light: 3 Michelin like!

Tumi, our waitress, performed a 5star service and our maids Sarah and Oatamele let us feel like lords in our castle in the bush.

Everybody, with the cheerful attitude took kindly to us and let us feel very special guests. Thank you so much for the very special and magic time we had with you!

Mokoro trip was nice but to act with caution. Helicopter flight and massage service in the room (additional costs) were amazing and recommendable.

Overall! MAGIC XUDUM, we will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We loved the delta so much last year, me went back again. Xudum was fantastic for game viewing, much better than I'd expected. The first evening was extraordinary! Not long after packing up from sundowners having seen ellie, antelope, and various other general game we headed back towards camp with the spotlight on , we saw a spring hare and then 5 lion on the hunt. We tracked them for not more than 15mins or so, it was clear they had something in their sights and it didn't take long before the noise confirmed - they had a kill. It was a young kudo - whilst this was an amazing experience to watch unfold and its mother nature in the raw - it is somewhat stomach churning at the same time. The drive back to camp was rather quiet with just the fireflys to distract me and a good stiff drink to recover once in camp.

We were lucky with sightings, coming across a number of very little babies - elephant, giraffe, buffalo and various antelope. We had a visit in camp by a herd of elephants with one male on the outer of the herd remaining parked outside our hut near the plunge pool all afternoon. It was so amazing watching this big ellie so relaxed grazing so close to us. We did a walk one morning which is a great way to learn more about all the little things and to see some of the general game from a different persective, the rangers are totally competent - you feel very safe in their hands. The lovely part about the delta is you can do boat trips rather than hours in vehicles - it is, in our opinion, the best way to see the delta and its inhabitants. There is nothing like coming across a great big elephant in the middle of the waterlillies.

The camp was lovely, the common area is well thought out and the interactive kitchen with Z & Ida was brilliant, our butler Tumi was a gem. The food is first class yet not over done or big portions and if you happen to be there to witness a special occasion - sit back and soak up the singing and dancing, it is truely wonderful, I want to go back just to have a birthday there!

The huts are well spaced out, the interior is a bit dark & heavy feeling for our personal taste. The weather is clearly hard on these structures so maintenence is a daily challenge. Having said that, the little issues we had were addressed quickly by Joyce and her support crew - the service by the housekeeping, kitchen/dining staff at the camp was excellent.

Its hard to pick one over another when you stay at a couple of different camps, its like splitting hairs over the tiniest little bitty detail - they all have things that you love and things that could be better and every guest has a different take, every day the animals are in different places, doing different things. Which ever camp, which ever company you go with at this level - its going to be good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K8C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is absolute perfection! Everything about Xudum is wonderous! From the moment the guide and ranger collected us at the airstrip the stay was incredible.
Lillian and Zie are awesome in the kitchen - they and their staff concoct the most amazing meals! Even though you are not hungry everything is so tasty and yummy!
Our ranger and guide, BT and Obby, were simply incredible - they showed us so many different animals and birds - and to keep all 6 people on our vehicle happy and interested was an incredible feat!
Joyce and Tsebe do a really great job of managing the lodge and were simply lifesavers by providing me with zambuk and strepsils when I was feeling very unwell!
Kets too was an amazing butler and managed to keep up with our very demanding group and kept us all absolutely content!
Though Xudum is not the simplest place to get to it is well worth every minute spent travelling, but is a really difficult place to leave!!

Room Tip: Suite 6 is the closest to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamlynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

If you hate impeccable personal service, ridiculous quantities of great food, amazing wildlife and bird life, non-stop personalized bar service, friendly staff and total relaxation in the middle of a pure wilderness then this place is not for you.

We have been on many safaris and been to destinations all over the world, many of them awesome, but few as unique as this place. It is a definite do over. Great for romantic getaways, group vacations with friends, and just to relax.

The remoteness of this camp (and some of its associated camps) means that this is not a 1 or 2 night destination. We (3 couples) stayed 3 nights and all agreed we could have stayed longer.

To Joyce, Lillian, BT, Obby, Kets, Tsebe, Zie and Tsebe - Thank you for an unforgettable 3 days!!

To &Beyond - please keep doing what you do so well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grim-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

If i was just to rate this place on accommodations this would get more than 5*
The "hut" we stayed in was bigger than our house back home. It had a plunge pool - but granted as it was "winter" the pool was freezing cold so we didn't go in.
The bathroom was fantastic, it had an upstairs patio, really I could live in the accommodations permanently. They did our laundry without us asking and they were the sweetest people ever.
Xudum was a bit different than Sandibe and Chobe as its completely surrounded by water. 40-odd minutes by boat to the camp. There used to be an airstrip but it got flooded a while back and now they use pom pom.
The food here was good, though we did like the food at sandibe better.
The day here was a bit different, you got up early and went for a drive after tea and biscuits, then you came back and had breakfast, then lunch, then another drive and dinner. Honestly it felt like we never stopped eating.
They had internet here but it was a bit hit and miss.
The generators go off at night so charge your batteries during the day.
The animals here were pretty sparse, this is more of a birding location and honestly it was reflected in the people who were with us. There were two groups with very expensive cameras (they sounded like machine guns going off) and we had to spend ages waiting for one guy to mount his camera and focus take his hundreds of pictures unmount and continue on. If we hadn't already seen many animals at chobe and sandibe they honestly would have ruined our vacation here - so unless you are interested in birding I would recommend you avoid Xudum just for the other people that might be with you. Additionally - considering the animals - As nice as the people are, as pretty as the landscape is, I would actually choose to go to a more land based camp if you can as the quantity of animals is minimal when the water is high (water is high when the land is dry, water is low when it rains - counter intuitive but the rain and water level are not related as the water comes from far away)
Animals we saw: buffalo, elephants, giraffes, many many birds

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
70.1 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
5.5 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
25.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#25 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
91.5 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#16 of 71 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#35 of 71 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Property: andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge
Address: Botswana, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the freedom and exhilaration of the Okavango Delta at andBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge, with its unique rooftop hideouts in each of the nine private safari suites. Overlooking a sparkling lagoon, the earthy, handsome glamour of this striking lodge provides the perfect counterpoint to the natural bounty of this watery wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xudum Delta Hotel Okavango Delta
AndBeyond Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge Botswana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing