We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful memory!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Seba Camp
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at three camps in Zambia and Botswana and Seba was by far the best. People very friendly and knowledgeable, comfortable tents, excellent food and interesting location made our stay very unique. I can confirm what fellow travelers have said about this camp: the staff made you feel very welcome and gave us the energy and enthusiasm to make the 6AM wake up calls a moment to cherish.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

From a very luxurious lodge in South Africa to Seba and we felt we were really in the bush with a beautiful welcome from Beatrice and Aaron and their lovely staff singing us an African welcome. We were housed in the family tent, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, two large decks and a small pool, perfect for a family get together, but there were just the two of us. We did enjoy the space however and felt we were miles from anyone when sitting out on the deck in perfect solitude watching whatever wild life decided to grace us with their presence. And grace us they did. Elephants were a frequent visitor around our tent particularly one which liked to sleep beside our tent, buffalo tended to wander past and numerous small animals delighted us with their antics.

Our guide Jacko was excellent and we saw so many wonderful animals with him and loved hearing his stories. How he managed to spot the game in the distance is a total mystery to us, but he found us everything. On the return from our first evening safari we were taken to a bush dinner, lanterns and tables set out in the bush by a fire. Quite a special evening for all the guests particularly with the lovely African singing.

The staff were fantastic, nothing was any trouble and sitting around the camp fire in the evenings listening to stories from the staff and guests was a wonderful way to end the perfect days we experienced.

From our amazing hosts through all the staff we had an an exceptional experience at Seba, they were all so friendly and wanting to make our stay as perfect as possible.

During this trip we stayed at a couple of very luxurious lodges and some other tented camps but Seba Camp really stole our hearts. Hopefully one day we will return.

Room Tip: For a family the family tent is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank professional2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We researched the available accommodation in the Delta very carefully before selecting Seba for a 3 night stay at the end of May - and it lived up to our expectations in every way.

Every member of staff was exceptional: the camp managers Beatrice and Aaron were wonderful hosts and entertained us with their stories over meals, and campfire drinks. In particular, our guide Matamo, was a treasure trove of knowledge and information: there was not a single bird or tree he didn't know by name and his motto "never, ever give up" when searching for game, paid off as we visited hyena pups in their dens, spent an hour watching a lion, cicrcled skittish buffalo herds, and approached elephants to within a few meters.

The camp facilities are excellent: the beds comfortable and hot water bottles a welcome touch for the cold winter nights. At night the elephants fed around the tent chalet and we were able to watch them for hours with a torch from our verandah. One night a leopard chased an impala onto the open deck in the camp while we were having dinner. The wounded animal spent the next day sheltering in the camp and when I asked if we could help save him, was told that the camp philosophy is to let nature take its course. On another night, during dinner, a hippo emerged from the lagoon while we were sitting down for dinner, and we watched by torchlight from a few meters away: it was awe inspiring to be truely imersed in the bush.

The mokoro ride was a highlight of the stay: the design of the mokoro parts the water grass as you glide silently through and the African sun setting behind the trees, viewed from the water is nothing short of magical. A delightful surprise awiated us at the end: I won't spoil it for future visitors.

During the river cruise, Matamo taught my teenage daughter to fish: she caught 5 fish under his patient tutelage squealing with glee as she gained confidence.

We were fed seven times a day: every meal was excellent. We loved the selection of red wines. Mostly we loved eating on the deck with wtachful monkeys in the trees, the friendliness and attentive service of the camp staff and the feeling of peace in the beautiful setting of the camp.

A huge thank you to our very charming Matamo, the camp staff and chefs, Beatrice, Aaron, Tony (who provided commentary on the flight to the camp), Darren and Ernie (our pilots) and the many other people from Wilderness Safari who welcomed us at every point of the journey and made sure the trip was comfortable and enjoyable.

Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelling008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We spent 3 glorious nights at Seba Camp in November 2012. Our hosts James and Claire were superb. Nothing was an effort for them and the wonderful staff. Every staff member was polite, spoke very well, were neat, warm, friendly and attentive. Our guide Speedy was too wonderful for words, has an amazing sense of humor that made the tours extra special. The memories will be in our hearts forever. We were surprised by an extra activity, an elephant ride!!! Thanks to Nina and Julian and their fabulous staff. The food was perfect, the rooms outstanding, the experience of having elephants just metres away while we ate...I cannot think of one negative thing to say. Thank you to all at Seba camp for making our trip so awesome.

Room Tip: The family room has a private plunge pool, much needed after the glorious game drives.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

3 days in Seba Camp. everything was perfect. the rooms, the guides, activties, the staff, food, everything ! Dont't miss a half day on the boat to see the elephant rosing, suprise the buffalos.... Make sure to avoid the dry season, when you can't use the boat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were really spoilt here. It was just us (a family of 4) and another couple in the entire camp.

Firstly, Matamo ("Maty") our guide was just brilliant. He's a real asset to the camp. Nothing was too difficult. He was willing to do anything for us.

The warmth, friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff was superb. We were treated like royalty. The camp itself has a scenic lagoon in front of it. From here we could go fishing (which our 11 year-old son throughly enjoyed).

The mokoro trip was amazing. We enjoyed the hyenas. Tracking the lion that was roaring the night before. This camp has lots of water around which make the drives much more fun because you've going through water some of the time.

This is wonderful camp and the people make it so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TunkuHalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spent five wonderful nights at Wilderness Safari's Seba Camp -- really ranks as one of my best travel experiences ever. I have two daughters -- 4 and 6 -- and the staff, and especially our guide Matamo, made it an unforgettable experience for them. The lodge is beautiful, food was excellent and service was truly perfect. The staff clearly love what they do and enjoy having guests -- made us feel so welcome and pampered! The game viewing was great as well, saw almost everything we hoped for. Enjoyed Mokoro rides in the marsh, fishing as well. Really exceeded all our expectations. My 72 yr old mother just couldn't get over how wonderful it all was! We had a large family tent -- three rooms (one upstairs), our own plunge pool, and an amazing view from all parts of the tent. Can't recommend this lodge and the company - Wilderness - highly enough. They really know how to do it right.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMCalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
19.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
230 reviews
23.9 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#4 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
239 reviews
35.6 mi away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#19 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#18 of 72 in Okavango Delta
184 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#26 of 72 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
31.6 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Zarafa Camp
Great Plains Conservation Zarafa...
#22 of 72 in Okavango Delta
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Seba Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Seba Camp

Address: Okavango Delta Safari Reserves, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: £551 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Seba Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introduce your young family to the wonder and magic of wild Africa.Family-friendly Seba Camp overlooks a perennial lagoon with prolific birdlife and resident pods of hippo. Each tent celebrates the different ethnic groups of Botswana through vibrant décor, while the main area – including dining area, bar and lounge-library – is set on a raised saligna deck with floodplain views. There is ample space for children in the purpose-built family suites – including a built-in 'tree-house' and an elevated deck which has its own small swimming pool and sandpit.HighlightsThe large elephant population aside, a growing abundance of game graces the area: giraffe, zebra, impala, wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe. Lion, leopard and hyaena are regularly found nearby, herds of buffalo are occasional visitors, and there are excellent opportunities to see the rare roan antelope. 8 Tents (including 2 Family Suites): Elevated, spacious tents; en-suite bathrooms; private deckExperiences: Day and night game drivesElephant research Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) Mokoro excursions on the waterways (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Safaris Seba Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing