We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Delta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Delta Camp
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Arrived at Delta camp via a little cessna from Maun on the sand/mud strip runway and transfered to camp via mokoro canoe gliding along the crystal clear waters of the delta, dodging hippos along the way, a slightly daunting experience to say the least! However you get used to it. The main lodge is in a stunning setting, one of the first to be built in the delta but still looks as good as new. The chalet rooms are various designs of tree house built into the surrounding area all with unique and stunning views, elephants often wander through which provides wonderful photo opportunities, as long you stay out of their way! Game walks on the surrounding islands are very interesting although in summer (Dec - Mar) a lot of the animals are dispersed as there is so much water around. However you are guaranteed to see elephants and hippos all year round and bird watching is spectacular. The food was amazing and of the highest standard. But it was the staff that really made the stay special, I can't recommend this lodge enough and really didn't want to leave after only 3 nights!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JemWatWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2011

We aren't the first guests to have items taken...watch your cameras, videos, ipods etc.
Beautifully appointed ....wonderful location...great manager...
Keep your posessions LOCKED.......
This is ashame as it has so much to offer but when you loose your memories...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pamed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Awesome place. Nothing will prepare you for this place.

WOULD have liked a second for a shower when we arrived after having travelled for 36 hours... but other than that, cant complain!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank meme780000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

For a pinnacle experience in the African bush, you must stay at Delta Camp. It is a beautiful combination of excellent service and an outdoor wildlife experience. You can view elephants eating from your room, the hippos passing by while relaxing on the deck with a cold cocktail. Yes! They have COLD drinks. The meals are amazing and in the company of the owners, Chloe and Peter, who will astound you with more incredible stories of the bush. Their guides are some of the best educated that I have come across in my many visits to Africa. I highly recommend a visit here while in Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maninkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We arrived at Delta Camp in the afternoon, in time to see the sun fading over the Delta. The lodge is well-appointed with creative textiles, artifacts, books, and games. The staff is wonderfully friendly and responsive. Our room was a simple, yet elegant, structure made of natural materials, facing out onto the grass. We could easily view birds and wildlife from the safety of our open-air sitting area, or from the comfort of the lodge. The naturalness of the Lodge and rooms made our experience special- we were able to unwind and enjoy the peaceful surroundings without the distraction of engine noise. The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff provides yummy seed bars in the morning and we return to a full breakfast spread, with healthy yogurt and fruit options or eggs any way you like, along with grilled tomatoes, homemade breads, and other treats. All afternoon, we enjoyed reading and napping, before an excellent afternoon walk. The guides were confident and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Delta Camp without reservation to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldCurious_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband & I took a 40 day tour of southern Africa, and Delta Camp in the Okavango Delta remains a sparkling highlight of our time there! A luxurious adventure not to be missed!

Situated next to Chief's Island, Delta Camp is as eco-chic as you can get. Our villa was perched on the side of a delta tributary, hosting 3 walls and a stunning panorama of the wildlife at your fingertips! Comfy bed with mozzie net, reading couch and separate light, binoculars to sit and watch the host of birdlife, beautiful open shower. Love that each of the rooms are organically designed to highlight their placement within the camp.

We took full advantage of the 2x daily walking safari’s- traveling via mokoro across the hippo highway to our walking destinations. Close encounter with hippo was gracefully handled by the guides, lions (heard not seen), elephant, zebra, impala, warthog, marabou stork, giant eagle owls… Animal life is abundant! The all-local guides were a wealth of knowledge and lovely people making the whole experience remarkable.

I am both vegetarian and a damn fine cook- making me a pain… I am happy to report the food at Delta Camp is delicious! Fresh made bread, delicious homemade energy-bars, fresh fruit and veg and an open bar to boot- every meal was great.

Peace & quiet, the sweet smell of grass and the adventure of a lifetime await you… You will be rewarded for your travels into this far corner of the planet at Delta Camp.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyHarteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I have been to Delta camp twice. At some point, I am going back with my whole family. I love it there. It is so magical..... The chalets are fabulous and the food divine. I love the morning ride in the mokoro and the safari walks. It is so exciting to view the animals in their environment. I would recommend it to anyone. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#16 of 73 in Okavango Delta
203 reviews
0 mi away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#4 of 73 in Okavango Delta
134 reviews
0 mi away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#51 of 73 in Okavango Delta
16 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 73 in Okavango Delta
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Camp

Address: Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: £1,271 - £1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Delta Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing