We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tree house!”
Review of Delta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Delta Camp
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at delta Camp in the off season when we were the only guests. We had the tree house room and it was MAGICAL. Hippos played under our balcony while eagles watches. The staff and guides are fantastic. MD is particularly excellent.

The food is great and you will feel like you are will friends.

This lodge is a hiking lodge, so get ready to roam and see the animals on foot and in dug out canoe. Cannot recommend it here enough.

Room Tip: The tree house! Stay in the Tree House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank monkeypod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We knew it as Oddballs but others called it Delta.. anyway it was our first experience in the Okavango and very pleasing in every way.
Flew in from Maun, stayed two nights, took several mokoro trips and Colin had a go at driving one, mentored by Jackson, who says he has been there since 1975.
Beds are in dome tents, no extra space, your gear goes in a lockable trunk on the platform.. bucket shower, perfectly fine, flush toilet.. all solar, no generator noise.. friendly people, lovely sunsets, cold beer, hippo grazed past the tent, elephant in the reeds.. got the picture?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aeoliansands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Botswana. We spent 2 nights in Delta Camp. John our guide was fantastic, and we felt privileged to be shown his village of Xaxaba. John showed us his home (that he built himself) and introduced us to his wife. We enjoyed the tranquility of the mokoro, and loved seeing the painted reed frog. It was amazing to be on foot and see wild animals so close. Our accommodation in camp was unique as it was built around a tree (not the tree house).
Lena (the manager) has a great understanding of the people and the animals of the Delta.
On the way to the airstrip, we had to wait for a herd of elephants to move off the road. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Not only were Jackson and Lena the perfect hosts, the food was fabulous and the game viewing was extraordinaire. The tree cabins were a perfect way to be housed in this area. I loved the walk back to the room after dinner, in the dark, through the elephants and hippos. The mokoro boats were a great experience as we glided through the grassy marsh in near silence. The walks were informative and enlightening. We really were with the wildlife. The sunset was like going to church and the staff gave us a perfect experience. I highly recommend this camp.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful and there is always the two story (high in the tree) room. Lots of steps and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zlato50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This lace is like no other I have ever stayed in my life. There are no car tracks anywhere in the bush because they do not use cars at all. The stay consisted of morning and night bushwalks with a huge variety of wildlife to see - but not too closely! My 83 year old dad managed to get through one 3 hour session which was about enough for him but he loved the open chalets with literally nothing but a fly net between you and nature.

This camp is hard work compared to being driven around by a gun toting driver - our guides carried a straw that he chewed on as his only protection. He explained that guns make you complacent around the wildlife so they were more gently.

This all means you won't get close up to a leopard kill or enormous elephants but you will have an experience unlike any other you have ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

All travel at this lodge is by the mokoro boats or on foot. You have a personal guide for the duration of the stay at he will tailor the trips to you, in our case he found the game we wanted to see. Rooms are spacious and open air, very secluded. The food and house staff are all very good. Expensive, but this the the way to get immersed in the Delta.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

After the shikaras of Kashmir, the pinasse of Mali and the one-leg rowing fishermen's boats on the Inle Lake of the Shane State of Myanmar, it was our turn to experience the mokoro of the Okavango Delta (a mokoro is a small boat carved our of the trunk of the "sausage tree" and propulsed by the power of the boatman pushing a long stick in the bottom of the lake). MD-our guide and Matt-the camp manager, greeted us at the landing strip; Matt took our luggage to the camp by jeep while MD took us there by mokoro, in about half an hour. Wonderful experience: a quiet sliding on the water among water lilies, beautiful landscape, birds singing, some hipos in the far distance (you definitely do NOT want to be anywhere close to a hipo while in the mokoro).
As it seemed to have been our lucky time of the year, we were the only guests at the camp and were able to get the much coveted tree-house, which was truly a one-of-a-kind experience: absolutely fantastic view from its balcony at all times of the day or night but especially at sunrise and sundown and endowed with all needed amenities. Otherwise, not much of game sighting, inclusive off the half-day walk in the Moremi Reserve, contrary to other reviews (all the game we saw was at a far distance). While the food was good, it was nothing when compared to the meals we had at the Deception Valley Lodge and so was the service - it was perhaps the difference between dealing directly with the owners (at the DVL) vs. dealing with hired help, although MD did his best to be helpful. Overall, a unique experience (the mokoro and the tree-house) in the superb landscape of the Okavango Delta.

Room Tip: Try to get the tree-house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldnomad_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0 mi away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
0 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#14 of 73 in Okavango Delta
205 reviews
0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#5 of 73 in Okavango Delta
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Deception Valley Lodge
Deception Valley Lodge
#2 of 7 in Central Kalahari Game Reserve
145 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge
andBeyond Sandibe Okavango Safar...
#12 of 73 in Okavango Delta
245 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Camp

Address: Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: £822 - £1,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Delta Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing