We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chitabe camp, September 2013, 3 nights”
Review of Chitabe Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chitabe Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrive at Chitabe hearing the traditional welcome song, while to my left and too close for comfort was an elephant munching on some leaves. Our room was very comfortable, the farthest one from the lodge. From the veranda we were sorrounded by nature. Some hornbills were pecking at the window, seen tehir own reflexion and trying to start a fight. Every noon, a band of baboons decided to make the roof of our tent their playground and I filmed the canvas shaking under the onslaught of mainly very young baboons sliding on the sides. There were some high openings covered in chicken wire for ventilation close to the roof, and sometimes one of them would perch there and look at us inside wondering. There was an elephant that roamed at night, we could hear the crunching of leaves so near, and sometimes if he got too close, the tent would shake a little, but we never worried. Our guide Phinley, was superb. As I was very interested in photography, and carrying 4 cameras with lenses frfom 24-70 to 500mm he always managed to place the vehicle so the light and the shot were great. I wanted very badly to see leopards, as in myh previous visit to Tanzania I aonly caught a glimpse of one. Rather late one evening we heard one had been sighted, a mother with 2 cubs, and we headed for the area. Only a certain number of vehicles are allowed on one site so there were already 3 vehicles, with I believe is the max. Courtesy imposes to the first vehicle that arrived to retire and be replaced by ours, and we got to take a number of pictures with flash. But Phinley agreed to start very early the next day, and we located in the general area the mother and cubs with the breaking light. We were alone and got to take great pictures including one of the cubs eating from a kill that was carefully hidden in the vegetation. The food was excellent, the staff extremely friendly. We saw an incredible variety fo wildlife. I am enclosing a picture of an elephand brosing outside my tent.
Great experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ekneler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Chitabe. Phinley is indeed, “superb”. He is such a knowledgeable and experienced guide and has been with Chitabe for 15 years. We are happy that you were able to get great sightings of leopards and no doubt some great photographs as well.
Kind regards, the Chitabe Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Overall a beautiful camp in a great location. Staff was very good although the camp manager was not as visible relative to other Wilderness Safari camps we have visited. Thought breakfast was a bit weak on selection rest of meals very good. We had one room issue, the shower drain did not drain adequately and water goes on to wooden floor. We pointed this out to the camp staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at Duma Tau and Little Vumbura before spending two nights at Chitabe. I found the other two properties to be more luxurious and had better food, and the service was definitely much better at the other two camps. However, I am still giving Chitabe five-stars because the animal viewing was just amazing and I wouldn't have wanted to miss Chitabe. Upon our arrival, we saw a pride of lions on our way from the airstrip to camp. We also saw: a cheetah on the hunt, a porcupine, a lion eating a buffalo, leopard, hippos, two very curious hyaena pups etc... There was an elephant hanging out right next to the dining room. We were in Africa to see wildlife and the animal viewing at Chitabe was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PRyan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Terrific camp with comfortable accommodations and attentive staff. We saw an incredible amount of wildlife. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful and the food, fabulous! Great cooking! Clean rooms and we had a nice view of the landscape.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at three different lodges around the Okavango Delta and Chitabe was my all around favorite. The scenery in this area isn't the best, but who cares when you are looking at all the wildlife! We saw just about everything we wanted to see except a cheetah, and even then, we were close - we tracked one for many hours but couldn't find it. When it comes to game viewing, Chitabe set the bar high for our other camps. The staff were all very friendly and eager to help. We thoroughly enjoyed the traditional Botswana dance and meal around the fire. I would (and have) recommend Chitabe Camp to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FortyEightFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our first trip to Africa & Botswana. The first camp we stayed in was Chitabe in the Moremi Reserve. The camp is beautiful with 8 tents which are very private. Rooms are spacious, well-appointed. and very private so you can make good use of the outdoor shower--just be careful with the baboons! The staff is very friendly and our guide (Anton) was super!! Food is delicious! We have nothing but praise for this camp. The game drives were outstanding; we stayed for 3 nights and every game drive was filled with new sights. This was a great start to our trip. Would definitely return to this camp!

Room Tip: All tents are beautiful and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 915susanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our entire experience at Chitabe was first-class. Our guide, Ots, worked so hard, and the wildlife we were able to see in a few short days was unbelievable. The physical camp is beautiful....very clean & the staff was all very welcoming and helpful. A spectacular lunch in the bush was so special and such a great surprise for us. The coordination between Wilderness Safari Camps was so appreciated. We never lost any time in our transfers, with both morning & evening game drives daily. It worked like a finely tuned machine!! Thanks to all the people who keep this amazing camp running....you really know your stuff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paharlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
45.6 mi away
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta Camp
andBeyond Xaranna Okavango Delta...
#17 of 71 in Okavango Delta
151 reviews
86.0 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 71 in Okavango Delta
199 reviews
27.8 mi away
Jumbo Junction Camp
Jumbo Junction Camp
#53 of 71 in Okavango Delta
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.1 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#20 of 71 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
23.5 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#2 of 71 in Okavango Delta
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#25 of 71 in Okavango Delta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitabe Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitabe Camp

Address: | bordering Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range: £379 - £796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chitabe Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The archetypal Okavango game-viewing destination. Raised on decks on a beautiful tree island in the south-east of the Okavango, Chitabe Camp looks out across a Delta floodplain that is transformed during winter from dry rushes to lush oasis, one of only a few distinct habitats in this diverse concession. Back in camp, the thatched dining and lounge area provide beautiful views, while each tent exudes its own personality, aided by superb fine art wildlife photographs. A pool provides cool sanctuary in the heat of the day. Highlights: On this classic safari experience, game drives take in the different habitats - the variety of these ensures that there is an equal diversity of wildlife, including big game such as elephant and buffalo, but also a range of plains game species like wildebeest, tsessebe and lechwe in numbers that support healthy lion, leopard and hyaena numbers, as well as regular visits by wild dog and cheetah. The camp is composed of 8 tents: spacious en-suite Meru-type tents, individually styled; outdoor shower; double vanity basins. Experiences include: day and night game drives • guided walks (on request). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitabe Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Chitabe Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing