We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
144
24
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
24
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild dogsgame viewingcooling unitwilderness safarispainted dogbirds galoreanimal sightingsbig catsgreat picturesproper breakfastduma tauother guestsstayed dayshis knowledgemoremi reserveland roverevery turn
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Phinley our guide was incredible. The staff was just ok -- they weren't unfriendly but they socialized more with themselves than the guest. The food wasn't good. If they updated the camp and work on food I would considering going back. The animals were a 7 on scale of one to ten so we weren't unhappy with the camp hence may 3 out of 5 rating for the animals.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Travel-quiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Travel-quiz,

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you were able to take some great photos of all the wonderful sightings you enjoyed with Phinley.

With regards to the feel of the camp, we are sorry to see you felt this seemed a little tired. Although our current structures are still in good condition, exposure to the environmental elements can and do eventually take their toll and therefore, Chitabe Camp is planning a complete refurbishment (update as you call it) of all the walkways, lounge and dining areas, the curio shop and pool area; early 2018. Our architects have been working on the developmental plans for the last 8 months and we are certain that you will be thrilled with the new design, its flow and how it works beautifully with the natural surroundings. We hope you will visit us again once this is all complete.

Your comments on food have been noted and we are pleased to inform you that our “Catering and Food Experience” manager will be working with the chefs to “tweak” some of our menu offerings to ensure we consistently offer the most flavourful, wholesome, and beautifully presented meals possible for all our guests while always taking into consideration their dietary preferences.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

My daughter (mid 20's) and I stayed two nights and had a wonderful stay. We were very well looked after and the food was delicious. The review below bares no resemblance to our stay and we were there May 15-17th. Staff went out of their way to ensure we did not miss any game drives with excellent meals made available outside scheduled times. On our last day we were able to go directly from the game drive to the airstrip and we were even provided with a packed lunch. We were very sad to leave.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Traveller170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you Traveller170 for the wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for sharing your wonderful memories with everyone - we look forward to sharing your great words with all our staff and hope you will both visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Let me start with the positive. Our game drives with Phinley were phenomenal. He was a great 'tracker' so that we found animals, as they moved, such as a leopard and wild dogs, and had the time to observe them. We found the staff to be unpleasant overall, and annoyed when we arrived late by flight and they had to serve us brunch, waiting for us to be finished, and again when we left with a late breakfast when they said they had toast for us and were annoyed with other requests, such as yogurt and coffee. Coming from very welcoming camps, this was extremely disappointing. We received other people's laundry. We had electrical issues such that charging was near impossible. The room was wanting and it was uncomfortable to have a half wall for the toilet and the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank krtravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear krtravelDelaware,

We are sorry to hear your time with us did not meet your expectations but are glad to see that with the help of Phinley and the outstanding game viewing afforded to us within this magnificent part of the Delta – that your game drive experience was “phenomenal”.

We have since investigated all the concerns you mentioned and must apologise that you found the service to be less than stellar. We take feedback such as yours very seriously and like to believe that the many positive reviews we have received support that. Please know that the Chitabe Team takes great pride in consistently hosting guests with friendliness and warmth, and above all great service. we always strive to do our utmost for all our guests and apologise if this is not the impression you were given.

With regards to the electrical problems during your stay – as would have been explained to you by the staff, this was a power management problem that was out of our control. Our system is designed to “trip” as a safety measure, should it get overloaded or have a complication due to different currents or voltages. Utilizing a different charging station in our office would have resolved the issue, and we will ensure our staff offer these alternatives to any future guests. Overall, we are pleased that you so enjoyed your time on “safari” viewing the variety of wildlife and being able to take the time to observe them.

Your review prompted our team of have a period of introspection and in-depth discussion so that this type of recurrence is prevented, and we can assure you that all issues raised were unpacked in great detail.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Gosh where do I even start, living in Botswana (born and bred) I have traveled the world, seen London, New York the beauty of ancient Greek history and many other places UNTIL I said let me see what the Okavango Delta has in store for me.

Flying in and sitting upfront with the Pilot was the beginning of what turned to be an AMAZING few days. Landing on an untarred Airstrip and being meet to go to the Camp, seeing my Beloved Giraffe, lions, buffalo the treasure of the Leopard...the rooms were amazing (getting up for the early mornings was HARD but the drive to spot some animals gets you up). The food and service was amazing that I could not believe that "Luxury is indeed in my back yard".

I would say ENSURE you have your professional and cell phone memory ready to campture your moments, try the local drinks and weather permitting cool down in the pool after your lunch.

You will be treated like royalty that you may even feel the need to wear a crown LoL. Take the TRIP make the booking and have the TIME of your life!! Never sit to long on an opportunity, take it and experience it

Room Tip: All ROOMS are amazing, for honeymooners get the furtherest (they have outdoor showers for use only during the day)
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KelzBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear KelzBenz,

It is always great to have such high praise from our fellow countrymen, we are overjoyed to have been able to show you all the beauty available right on your back stoop. We hope you will visit us again soon - with extra memory cards for your camera and phone.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Overall a lot of fun and great animal viewing ranging from lions, Kudo, Zebra, Giraffe and Hyena. The highlight for this camp is the wild dog. Pack hunting for game. So intense but a blast to see and experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Earl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Chitabe Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Earl,

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed all the antics courtesy of the local wild dog pack. We have been proudly supporting the Botswana Predator Conservation Trust for several years now - this trust is responsible research focused on Africa’s most endangered large carnivore, the African wild dog, it now has a record of life histories of thousands of wild dog over more than ten generations. Chitabe supports the programme financially and the researchers logistically; Chitabe guides help in data collection. Thanks to this and many such projects we boast a large number of wild dog within our concession. Thank you for sharing this with us and we hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews