We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and watch the river flow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relax and watch the river flow”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a water camp. The boat and mokoro rides are it's speciality. The birdlife is spectacular and the guides and mokoro polers are knowlegeable and sharpsighted. Mammals are less prevalent; elephant ploughing through the waters, very relaxed; hippos , up close,not always relaxed; reed buck, the elusive singata, lechwe and even a giraffe. Game drives are possible but seem bumpy after cruising the waters. Leopard tracks in camp and elephant and hippo often pass through. The elevated walkways are fun and keep the passing game at bay. Beautiful owl resident in camp.
The food was good, baking excellent, though a slight tendency to overcook chicken and duck, the main part of the meal was delicious, veg crisp and not overcooked and yummy deserts.
The rooms are spacious , the beds particularly comfortable, and the deck overlooks a plain inhabited by antelope and nightly others elephant, hippo.
I would recommend a three night stay here as a relaxing alternative to the more vigorous ,bouncing around associated with Ferrari safaris on land.
Staff are most pleasant and welcoming

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Charles C,

Thank you for your beaming review, we will be sure to share it with all our staff.

Xigera Camp is positioned on the extreme western boundary of the Moremi Game Reserve, placing it at the very centre of the Okavango Delta alluvial fan. This magnificent area epitomises the permanently flooded section of the Okavango Delta: with palm-filled hardwood islands, hardwood riverine forests, a multitude of clear water channels and expansive flood plains. This part of the Moremi is a true wetland paradise and Xigera is surrounded by deep channels and lush vegetation.

Thank you again,
The Xigera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
58
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Xigera Camp is a special. My husband and I wanted to experience safari by water and the Okavanga is a truly unique area. Goms our guide was young, enthusiastic and so so knowledgeable. He really is an expert on the area and the animals. His effort to track the illusive leopard was nothing short of brilliant. Highly recommend him and it was sad to say goodbye.
We loved our time in this remote part of the world. We were so spoilt with gourmet food by their six chefs! it is a private no-rush camp with quality laid on.
Truly a special leg of our trip organised impeccably by Lucy Copson of Go2Africa.
Thankyou +++

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonaliveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Leonaliveslife,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to hear you had such a brilliant time with Goms. We will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Xigera and its surrounds is the land of the sitatunga antelope and Pel’s Fishing-Owl. Water birds are also seen in large numbers including Rufous-bellied Heron and the secretive White-backed Night-Heron. Papyrus swamp specialists include Greater Swamp-Warbler, Copperytailed Coucal and Luapula Cisticola. Birding around Xigera Camp and on other islands is also extremely productive for specials like Brown Firefinch, Swamp Boubou, Hartlaub’s Babbler and Western Banded Snake-Eagle. A displaying African Goshawk can often be seen in the morning. Although Xigera is considered to be a permanent water camp, one may be surprised by the presence of lion, leopard, hyaena and buffalo on the islands. These animals will happily wade and swim between islands in search of food.

Thank you again
The Team at Xigera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GABORONE
Level Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This camp situated in the Okavango Delta is an island opposite Chief's Island and is the best relaxation you could hope for. The tranquil surroundings are matched by the excellent service and hospitality of the staff, who are simply the best!!. Neil is a great manager with a super sense of humour.The curio shop is a 'must visit' and the 'sand trap' is a fantastic idea. You will probably not see much game but lots of birdlife and beautiful waterways and channels.

Room Tip: All rooms are private and face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Famlee,

Thank you for your great review and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to Neil and all the staff at Xigera.

Our Sand Trap is a favourite feature amongst guests and staff alike. It is always great to take a quick look at, what some have considered the Local Newspaper, the prints left in the sand. Amazing to see the amount of movements and happenings around us while we sleep in our safe tents.

Thanks again for your comments.
The Xigera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Xigera offers a slice of magical paradise in the Okavango Delta. The staff is stellar, great food, jungle-like feel walking along the boardwalks of the property, water-based activities, and the most beautiful, brilliant birds I have ever seen (lilac breasted rollers & pygmy king fishers). The highlight of my short stay here was boating in the mokoro with the best polers in the Delta; GOMS, Rider, Onx, Brendan ~ these guys have so much passion & enthusiasm for what they do ~ and appreciation for the beauty of Botswana. I truly left pieces of my heart scattered throughout the channels of the Okavango Delta. Xigera instilled a feeling of complete disconnect from the monotony of my life; the most pure serenity, peace, and gratitude for the beauty of Botswana. I love it here & hope to return soon! Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Not much to add to other reviewers comments. We absolutely loved this place. Apart from the beautiful accommodation, facilities and food, it is the people who make Xigera the magic place that it is. The guides are immensely knowledgeable and passionate about their work and Botswana. They were the most friendly and professional of the 4 lodges we visited in Botswana and South Africa. The lodge staff were efficient and so lovely. Great leadership from Neil.
Special mention to Goms who's knowledge and passion for the wildlife and birds made our stay so very memorable.
Highly highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our family of five adults arrived at Xigera from the excitement of Lagoon camp. Three of us had stayed in Xigera several years before and were delighted to be back. Neil and his team are thoroughly professional, engaging, friendly without being overbearing. Everyone is full of good humour. Our guide, Henny, could not have been better. A star! The tents and common areas are comfortable, well set out and equipped. We wanted for nothing and could not ask for more.

We chose Xigera to experience its atmosphere and its pristine surroundings. It really is an astonishingly beautiful location with fast flowing water channels and languid pools. But this year by late August the waters had already receded to such an extent that some important channels were closed to power boats and some special areas were inaccessible. That said, we were frequently very close to hippos and elephants, not to mention crocs and water snakes. The birdlife above all is spectacular and the hours drifted away as we glided amongst them on makoras or motor boats. Our boat trip to idyllic Xigera Lagoon brought us to our first sighting of a group of the nearly endangered African Skimmers. This was pic-nic time for us as we watched these remarkable birds and their companions - egrets, herons, storks, ibis, cranes - feeding on and around the sandbank. It doesn't get any better than this.

Whilst we may have come to Xigera for the water and the birds, the experience of our game drive will never be forgotten. We had our most fascinating and intimate elephant encounter ever. Over an hour or two we watched two groups of elephants feeding on real fan palm fruits. We watched the largest female strike one tree and then another, shaking each in turn till the fruit came raining down. She meticulously gathered each before popping it into her mouth as we might a peanut. The youngsters were pushed away. Eventually, in one case, the only fruits uneaten had rolled to the very edge of our vehicle. The gentle giant lumbered over till she was within touching distance entirely focussed on leaving not one behind. Thank you Henny, thank you Xigera.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iainauk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Overall the camp gets good review due tothe game viewing, excellent staff, and nice location.
Camp Manager is very good, food is excellent. Location is key to game viewing.
Room was very nice except the shower drain does not drain very fast and water goes outside the shower drain area onto wooden floor. We pointed this out to staff and learned our traveling couple had same problem.
Other issue is an elephant knocked over a tree and broke down part of the elevated walkway.
People want to be close to animals but sometimes this can be a problem or potential problem.
How do you stop an elephant ? In any case camp was lucky no one was injured.
Despite these two issue we would recommend the camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXtraveler67_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okavango Delta
0.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#13 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#32 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#29 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp
Address: Paradise Island | Moremi Wildlife Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Delta, surrounded by crystal-clear channels of water and lush vegetation, Xigera Camp is the quintessential Okavango experience. This blue-green world is home to a number of water-loving Okavango 'specials' including spotted-necked otter, Pel's fishing-owl, wattled crane and the Delta's highest concentration of the elusive sitatunga antelope. Situated on the aptly-named Paradise Island, the almostyear-round water makes this the ideal camp for exploring by motor boat and mokoro (dugout canoe) - an idyllic connection to a bygone era that allows silent and tranquil progress across waterlily-dotted waters. •10 tents (1 family) • mokoro • motorboat • game drives (water dependent) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xigera Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Wilderness Safaris Xigera Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing