We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd trip to Vumbura Plains Camp with great service and hospitality!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okavango Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3rd trip to Vumbura Plains Camp with great service and hospitality!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is my 3rd trip to Vumbura Plains (VP) and they have always exceed my expectations. My wife and I spend about 25 days/year in the Delta on vacation and have visited a lot of the Wilderness camps. We have also spent about 20 days specifically at VP (North and South) and so I write this from a perspective of seeing a few different managers/guides in action under many situations. Their performance at VP (and at all wilderness camps) is consistently professional and their focus is on the details and on hospitality/service. They know hospitality and their people are every well trained in it; from the managers to the room staff … AND wilderness does it so well. They have 30+ camps all over Africa and from the many I’ve stayed at they are the best! Nobody knows more about the African Safari experience better than Wilderness does. Send me a note and I’ll go out of my way to fill in the details that I may have left out below. We are headed back to the Okavango Delta (Wilderness Camps) in a few months for 3 weeks!

ADVICE FOR FIRST TIME TRAVELER AND RETIREES: Don’t be concerned about going to VP by yourself or not as part of a tour group. You’ll have a great time and the managers (Hamish and Millie) and your guides will take care of you. This is a place you can go without someone leading you as part of a tour/photography group. I am also envious of you; to have VP be your first African experience and it will be one of the highlights of your life. Wilderness provides such a unique experience that you can go with friends or alone. They have all the logistics worked out for you from the moment you land in Maun until you are watching wild dogs. They handle every detail and their logistical processes with getting people in and out of the camps is flawless. Your experience will also be better if you stay for 7 days. You’ll love the outdoor showers too ☺

PHOTOGRAPHERS: The key to getting great photos is being in an area where there’s plentiful game and to have a guide that knows how to position you when you see the anmials. VP has both of these in an intimate setting with very few vehicles. The guides at VP (I always ask for Ron and Ban) are local Botswana people that have had extensive training in the Okavango Delta to look for game and are VERY experienced guides. Not only did they grow up in the delta, they have professional training in guiding and animal behavior. I would be VERY VERY VARY cautious if someone says they know animal behavior or the Okavango Delta better than Wilderness Safari guides like Ban and Ron. After you go on your trip to VP, it’s the local guides and the memories with the animals that last. How special it is to see the animals from the local’s perspective; this enriches the experience and are the memories that will last a lifetime. You might not remember the people you meet in life, but you’ll always remember the guide you have in Botswana. They know so much about the history of Botswana, the political situations, economy, and they can give you a locals perspective (not something someone read out of a book) I took a D4 and D800 with the 70-200mm and 200-400mm lens. This was perfect!

ET CETERA: I agree with the other 5 star comments on the food, comfortable vehicles, décor, room size, accommodations, and the drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnglen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Johnglen 1976,

Thank you for your fantastic and informative review. And thank you for your continued support of Wilderness Safaris.

Wilderness Safaris is an ecotourism company dedicated to responsible tourism throughout the areas in which it operates in Africa. Our goal is to share these wild areas with guests from all over the world, while at the same time helping to ensure the future protection of Africa’s spectacular wildlife heritage and sharing the benefits of tourism with local communities. We operate camps and safaris in nine different countries: Botswana, Congo (Brazzaville), Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe and the Seychelles. Our wildlife, marine and cultural safaris in remote and pristine wilderness destinations are specialised, educational, explorative, and fun. Camps and services are safe, authentic and insightful of guests’ needs. The private concessions that we manage offer some of Africa’s most impressive and untouched wildlife experiences. We are privileged to operate on more than three million hectares (eight million acres) of Africa’s best wildlife and wilderness reserves. The idea of space to breathe – the wilderness experience – is a large part of what makes our operation unique and special.

Thank you again for your wonderful words and we look forward to seeing you soon
The Team at Vumbura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    30
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
128
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

explain how great the feeling is staying in a camp like Vumbura. The view to the Delta and watching elephants and hippos roam around you is quite amazing.
The staff was warm and fun to be with. We felt like a family.

Our guide, ST was awesome. He knew his way around and we had some incredible experiences.
It was pretty cold at night as this is winter, but the beds were comfy and warm. Keep your robe around for a bathroom break. and don't worry about all the great animal sounds that surround you constantly. It is very, very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the north side . Only 6 rooms. We were in #3 and our friends in 4. Both were super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear rudy s,

Thank you for your delightful review.

The chilly early morning weather at Vumbura has not disheartened anyone, with all guests being enthusiastically out on the vehicles in the morning – rewarded with excellent sightings of lions, lions, lions and more lions. Our three resident prides clearly love the area near camp and almost every day we have heard them calling around camp, most nights for up to four hours at a time. We have also noticed one female has left her pride as she was heavily pregnant, so hopefully we will be seeing some cubs soon. Our coalition of two brothers has also been busy courting various females in the Kwedi Concession, so there could be even more cubs on the way soon.

We hope you come to visit us again soon
The Team at Vumbura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One word that describes our stay at Vumbura Plains is fabulous! My honey and I stayed four nights in a "tented room," which would be better described as a luxury suite in the middle of nature. Sitting on the coach in our sunken living area, with an unobstructed view of the delta, we watched a family of elephants stroll by and that was mystical. Our agent "Opulent Africa" worked with Wilderness Safaris to provide the adventure of a lifetime in Botswana at this secluded piece of paradise in the Okavango Delta.

From the time we took off on a Wilderness scheduled plane to the moment we landed in Maun we were delighted with every part of the experience. Vumbura Plains is described as a "premium" camp in the wide variety of safari adventures that are offered by Wilderness Safaris. With a maximum of sixteen people in camp, every aspect of the adventure is carefully planned to provide the perfect experience. We were greeted at the Vumbura landing strip by Sparks with a cold water and invitation to use the enclosed bathroom in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival at camp the manager, KCI was waiting with a smile, cold towel, and drink and concisely explained how our four days would work.

Our guide, Luke, really knew his stuff from expertly driving the Range Rover on the sandy roads and wet marsh, to thoughtfully pointing out the location of too many animals to mention. His knowledge of the delta, animals, birds, wildlife, plants, and flowers was outstanding. Plus Wilderness Safaris is truly dedicated is leaving as small of human footprint in nature as possible. Our first night we enjoyed a "bush" dinner that was accompanied with singing, drumming, and dancing by the staff of the camp that all seemed happy to be part of the team at Vumbura Plains.

Our safari was not inexpensive, but was well worth very cent. Delicious food, outstanding staff, fabulous "tents," knowledgeable guides, well maintained vehicles, and perfect game viewing made for an experience of a lifetime. Plus we now have a new standard for "tent" camping.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the last room with a view and shade in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear ronvoyage,

Thank you for your fabulous review. Nothing makes us happier then seeing that our guests enjoyed their time with us.

Vumbura Plains, tucked beneath a canopy of cool, shady, indigenous trees, seems to float on a sea of waving reeds, situated as it is in the midst of a large floodplain. The sumptuous rooms are uniquely designed, spacious and raised off the ground on wooden decks to take in a wide-angled vista.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
The Team at Vumbura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at Vumbura Plains Camp for a long weekend, what an amazing experience. The rangers were fantastic and we saw plenty animals. The accommodation is very luxurious. A big negative is that we chose this particular camp because it was advertised that you can do boat game drives, go on mokoros and land game drives. It was a huge hassle to get a boat ride and we had to get other people to join our boat otherwise they wouldn't take us. We couldn't get a mokoro ride as there was no one to take us and we would have to have given up a game drive for that (we were told we could do that over and above). I would definitely go back but knowing that it is only land based game drives.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMeSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MeMeSouthAfrica,

Thank you for your great review, even though the camp and its activities did not live up to your expectations. This is very unusual behaviour for our camp and we will investigate it to see what went wrong.

Activities on offer at Vumbura Plains include game drives (which continue after sunset as night drives), mokoro trips through the narrow channels and waterways, and motor boat trips in the larger waterways. Walking is also an option, but must be prearranged with you guide or camp manager as not all guides are qualified for walking in Botswana. Your camp manager will discuss your programme with you on a daily basis to make the most of your time here.

Thank you again
The Vumbura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very highly recommend!!! Our group of 3-generations of family members - my husband and me, our boys ages 12 and 13, and my parents all had a wonderful time at Vumbura. We stayed 3 nights in June 2013. The "tents" are huge, with comfortable beds with mosquito nets, a huge sunken seating area, a huge in-room shower, spacious closets and shelves, as well as a big outdoor seating area and private plunge pool (too cold to try on our visit) on private deck with beautiful views overlooking the delta. Raised walkway between tents and the dining area and bar area. We frequently saw kudu lounging beside the walkway, warthogs traveling around in front of our deck and even an elephant one evening up against the side of our boys' tent after dinner. And that was just in camp. On our morning and evening safaris, we were never disappointed. Our guide was fabulous! We chased wild dogs, saw an elephant chase a pride of lions away from a tree, saw lions have a standoff with an elephant, saw a den of hyenas with pups, saw lions mating, and pretty much saw more than we could have imagined. Great wildlife viewing by vehicle. Also can take short drive to boat and spend an afternoon exploring by boat - beautiful. Our guide Emong was fabulous! He was great with all age groups, made extra effort to make sure we saw what we wanted to see and didn't spend time on what we weren't interested in, and he skipped rocks and played soccer with elephant dung balls with our boys at water holes where we stopped for tea or sundowners. Not only knowledgable, but a terrific personality, great laugh, fun guy!!! Vumbura is divided into two sub camps with separate common areas and tents. Ours was the side managed by Hamish and Millie. Can't say enough about how great they were!!! One night they offered to arrange hamburgers for our boys in their tent and a movie on a portable TV with VCR so that the adults could enjoy an evening of adult conversation. Another night they arranged a surprise stop for us en route back to camp after a late afternoon and evening game drive -- a little hot chocolate stand out in the dark where we all had hot chocolate and the adults had adult hot chocolate drinks with Amarula. (They had discovered that my father enjoyed Amarula on pretty much everything from ice cream to coffee to an after dinner drink, so they made sure to offer it all the time.) :) Vumbura did not have AC or heaters in the rooms at the time we were there, but they gave us hot water bottles for our beds and in the vehicles in the morning and had big fleecy blankets at every chair for dinner. It was generally cold in the early morning, warm in the afternoon and chilly again at night in June. No wifi at the time we went.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmbdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear kmbdallas,

Thank you for your delightful review. We love hosting children at our camp as there is nothing more rewarding then experiencing everything through them for the first time.

At the first Wilderness camp you visit, children between the ages of 6 and 12 years will receive a special Bush Buddy Pack. These packs are educational and fun and include a Wilderness bag and cap, an activities booklet, and eco-friendly pen and torch, a bug-viewer and a water bottle. Teenagers between 13 and 18 will receive a similar pack with similar items appropriate to their age group. If you are travelling as a family and your children haven’t received their Buddy or Teenager Packs, please do not hesitate to ask the manager. Vumbura Plains also has a Children’s Programme, with games and activities – and even a mokoro experience. Please speak to the staff about this offering.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
The Team at Vumbura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is amazing! The rooms are enormous with sunken seating areas, large storage capacity for gear and clothes, a spectacular 8 foot square free standing indoor shower, an outdoor shower, deck, private seating under shelter and private pool. Wow!! Everyone greets you by name - which is amazing since people are constantly coming and going. They pick you up at the airstrip and bring you to the main check in area. You are greated warmly and asked if you have any dietary issues. Not just food allergies but preferences or avoidance things. Each meal has a menu tailored to your individual needs. The cooking was fantastic. This is not a place to be if you are dieting.
Our tracker was Sabonta or "Zee". He was kind and caring and tried to find every animal and habitat that was requested by the variety of visitors. There were several people who were with us on our vehicle who purchased new cameras prior to the trip. They had no earthly idea how to work them - which I find crazy if you want to get great shots. Zee was very familiar with equipment and with lighting conditions and angles. He showed each of these people how to use their camera. He made sure when stopping to photo the animals, that we were in the correct direction (not facing into the sun). He helped frame a few objects and made suggestions about photography. He LOVES his job and it shows.
We were lucky enough to be there on the BOMA nite for the show and barbecue along with traditional african foods. What a delight.
This place has electricity 24/7.
I am grateful to Rose at theluxurysafaricompany.com for recommending this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superior. Take advantage of the indoor and outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Robin R,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words, we will make sure to share these with Zee and all the staff at Vumbura.

Our Premier camps offer an exclusive and original experience in pristine wilderness areas. We promise relevance and balance, authenticity and education, as well as elegant and stylised accommodation. These camps combine luxury, superbly designed architecture with the warm comforts of home and personal service. Each Premier camp has its own style, as well as additional features such as salas for a soothing midday siesta or outdoor showers ‘under the stars’. Our rates are as all-inclusive as possible in our Premier camps with the core activities such as game drives, nature walks, boating, local drinks and all meals included in the price. For game drives, we use customised 4x4 vehicles that are spacious and comfortable, providing “window” seats for all guests. Our knowledgeable guides accompany guests on all activities for the duration of their stay in any one camp. Children between 6 and 12 years are welcome on the basis that private activities and/or sole use of camps are booked and paid for.

Thank you again for your kind words
The Vumbura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have an excellent stay at this camp in the Okavango Delta. This was our first camp on our first safari and we were really impressed. The food here was beyond excellent - best we had in Africa. The rooms were beautiful as well - well equipped with everything you could possibly need including hair dryer, bug spray, and all toiletries. The indoor shower was devine. We loved our guide Ban - so knowledgeable about all the wildlife we saw. And the camp managers Hamish, Millie, Lorato and the camp staff were great as well. I highly recommend this camp.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khock79162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear khock79162,

Thank you for your dazzling review.

Visitors have been thrilled to see some pretty exceptional animal sightings. Wild dog, leopard and hyaena cubs have all been spotted regularly. The most notable sightings this month have all occurred around three cheetah which have come into the area. This young group comprises two males and a single female travelling together. One particular game drive saw them chase a fully-grown male red lechwe into the water. There was then a fairly lengthy stand-off between the animals, when the lechwe eventually decided to turn the tables and chased the young cheetah around. The cheetah scattered and, due to their inexperience, were unable to capitalise on the defensive gaps the lechwe left open.

Thank you again and we hope you return to our wonderful camp soon, or maybe try out Vumbura North next time.
The Vumbura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Okavango Delta hotels
75.7 mi away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
16.0 mi away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#13 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
53.2 mi away
Selinda Camp
Selinda Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.2 mi away
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp
#29 of 70 in Okavango Delta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#32 of 70 in Okavango Delta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp
Address: Vumbura Plains, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Okavango Delta
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vumbura Plains, a luxurious retreat of contemporary design, seems to float on a sea of waving reeds in the midst of a large floodplain. The sumptuous rooms, each with its own plunge pool and sala, are uniquely designed, spacious and raised on wooden decks to take in a wide-angled vista. Because the area is a mix of water and dry land, wildlife is diverse, so water-loving lechwe splash through the reeds, while rare sable antelope can be seen in the dry savannah. Lion, leopard, elephant, cheetah, wild dog and buffalo along with plains game and prolific birds provide an excellent all-round wildlife experience. • 14 tents • 100% solar • day and night game drives • village visit • mokoro • boat • nature walks • catch-and-release fishing • spa ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vumbura Plains Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve
Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp Botswana/Okavango Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing