We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mankwe Bush Lodge(Okavango Delta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
199
32
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
32
7
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwilderness safarissunken living roomgame viewingwild dogsguide chrisraised boardwalktented suitemonday nightleopard cubsoutdoor showermain areabush dinnerevening drivethe managerssafari experiencestaff went out of their way
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family of 4 (parents plus 24 and 22 year olds) started our African adventure at Vumbura Plains (South) in late May of this year. It was hands down our favorite stay of the whole trip - and that is saying a lot considering the fabulous places we stayed along the way. Hamish, Millie, Julie, and the entire staff were incredible and made sure we were very well taken care of every second of our stay. Everyone in the camp always greeted us with a smile and friendly word. The 5 star rooms were beautiful and very comfortable (loved the hot water bottle under the covers when we turned in after dinner). All the meals/snacks/wine/cocktails were delicious and had choices for my vegetarian daughter as well as the meat eaters. The views over the delta from the sunrise as we were woken up to the sundowners around the firepit to the sky full of stars at night were breathtaking. Our guide Ban was the absolute BEST. He knew everything about the animals, birds, vegetation, constellations, insects, snakes, smells, tracks, etc. He made our stay extra extra special! The only word I have found to sum up our time at VP is magical! I hope we will be able to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We cant wait to heap your praises on Ban and the rest of the team in camp.

Vumbura Plains is a luxury camp situated in the northern Okavango Delta, comprising two separate satellite camps, each with its own raised dining, lounge and bar area tucked beneath a canopy of shady, indigenous trees and with a vista across the floodplains. The main area lays emphasis on relaxation furnished with soft sofas and idiosyncratic objets d’art. The 14 rooms, raised off the ground, are unique in contemporary design; the dimensions are square, with extensive use of light wood and space. Each suite has a large, comfortable bedroom, sunken lounge with cushions, “sala”, en-suite facilities, an outdoor shower, private deck and plunge pool. A family suite is also on offer with a private deck linking the two separate rooms. Vumbura Plains offers both land and water activities, principally game viewing in varied habitats on open vehicles, mekoro and boats, providing an excellent all-round experience.

Thank you again, and we hope you and your family return one day soon.
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is my 3rd trip to Vumbura Plains (VP) and they have always exceed my expectations. My wife and I spend about 25 days/year in the Delta on vacation and have visited a lot of the Wilderness camps. We have also spent about 20 days specifically at VP (North and South) and so I write this from a perspective of seeing a few different managers/guides in action under many situations. Their performance at VP (and at all wilderness camps) is consistently professional and their focus is on the details and on hospitality/service. They know hospitality and their people are every well trained in it; from the managers to the room staff … AND wilderness does it so well. They have 30+ camps all over Africa and from the many I’ve stayed at they are the best! Nobody knows more about the African Safari experience better than Wilderness does. Send me a note and I’ll go out of my way to fill in the details that I may have left out below. We are headed back to the Okavango Delta (Wilderness Camps) in a few months for 3 weeks!

ADVICE FOR FIRST TIME TRAVELER AND RETIREES: Don’t be concerned about going to VP by yourself or not as part of a tour group. You’ll have a great time and the managers (Hamish and Millie) and your guides will take care of you. This is a place you can go without someone leading you as part of a tour/photography group. I am also envious of you; to have VP be your first African experience and it will be one of the highlights of your life. Wilderness provides such a unique experience that you can go with friends or alone. They have all the logistics worked out for you from the moment you land in Maun until you are watching wild dogs. They handle every detail and their logistical processes with getting people in and out of the camps is flawless. Your experience will also be better if you stay for 7 days. You’ll love the outdoor showers too ☺

PHOTOGRAPHERS: The key to getting great photos is being in an area where there’s plentiful game and to have a guide that knows how to position you when you see the anmials. VP has both of these in an intimate setting with very few vehicles. The guides at VP (I always ask for Ron and Ban) are local Botswana people that have had extensive training in the Okavango Delta to look for game and are VERY experienced guides. Not only did they grow up in the delta, they have professional training in guiding and animal behavior. I would be VERY VERY VARY cautious if someone says they know animal behavior or the Okavango Delta better than Wilderness Safari guides like Ban and Ron. After you go on your trip to VP, it’s the local guides and the memories with the animals that last. How special it is to see the animals from the local’s perspective; this enriches the experience and are the memories that will last a lifetime. You might not remember the people you meet in life, but you’ll always remember the guide you have in Botswana. They know so much about the history of Botswana, the political situations, economy, and they can give you a locals perspective (not something someone read out of a book) I took a D4 and D800 with the 70-200mm and 200-400mm lens. This was perfect!

ET CETERA: I agree with the other 5 star comments on the food, comfortable vehicles, décor, room size, accommodations, and the drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnglen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Johnglen 1976,

Thank you for your fantastic and informative review. And thank you for your continued support of Wilderness Safaris.

Wilderness Safaris is an ecotourism company dedicated to responsible tourism throughout the areas in which it operates in Africa. Our goal is to share these wild areas with guests from all over the world, while at the same time helping to ensure the future protection of Africa’s spectacular wildlife heritage and sharing the benefits of tourism with local communities. We operate camps and safaris in nine different countries: Botswana, Congo (Brazzaville), Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe and the Seychelles. Our wildlife, marine and cultural safaris in remote and pristine wilderness destinations are specialised, educational, explorative, and fun. Camps and services are safe, authentic and insightful of guests’ needs. The private concessions that we manage offer some of Africa’s most impressive and untouched wildlife experiences. We are privileged to operate on more than three million hectares (eight million acres) of Africa’s best wildlife and wilderness reserves. The idea of space to breathe – the wilderness experience – is a large part of what makes our operation unique and special.

Thank you again for your wonderful words and we look forward to seeing you soon
The Team at Vumbura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

explain how great the feeling is staying in a camp like Vumbura. The view to the Delta and watching elephants and hippos roam around you is quite amazing.
The staff was warm and fun to be with. We felt like a family.

Our guide, ST was awesome. He knew his way around and we had some incredible experiences.
It was pretty cold at night as this is winter, but the beds were comfy and warm. Keep your robe around for a bathroom break. and don't worry about all the great animal sounds that surround you constantly. It is very, very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the north side . Only 6 rooms. We were in #3 and our friends in 4. Both were super.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear rudy s,

Thank you for your delightful review.

The chilly early morning weather at Vumbura has not disheartened anyone, with all guests being enthusiastically out on the vehicles in the morning – rewarded with excellent sightings of lions, lions, lions and more lions. Our three resident prides clearly love the area near camp and almost every day we have heard them calling around camp, most nights for up to four hours at a time. We have also noticed one female has left her pride as she was heavily pregnant, so hopefully we will be seeing some cubs soon. Our coalition of two brothers has also been busy courting various females in the Kwedi Concession, so there could be even more cubs on the way soon.

We hope you come to visit us again soon
The Team at Vumbura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

One word that describes our stay at Vumbura Plains is fabulous! My honey and I stayed four nights in a "tented room," which would be better described as a luxury suite in the middle of nature. Sitting on the coach in our sunken living area, with an unobstructed view of the delta, we watched a family of elephants stroll by and that was mystical. Our agent "Opulent Africa" worked with Wilderness Safaris to provide the adventure of a lifetime in Botswana at this secluded piece of paradise in the Okavango Delta.

From the time we took off on a Wilderness scheduled plane to the moment we landed in Maun we were delighted with every part of the experience. Vumbura Plains is described as a "premium" camp in the wide variety of safari adventures that are offered by Wilderness Safaris. With a maximum of sixteen people in camp, every aspect of the adventure is carefully planned to provide the perfect experience. We were greeted at the Vumbura landing strip by Sparks with a cold water and invitation to use the enclosed bathroom in the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival at camp the manager, KCI was waiting with a smile, cold towel, and drink and concisely explained how our four days would work.

Our guide, Luke, really knew his stuff from expertly driving the Range Rover on the sandy roads and wet marsh, to thoughtfully pointing out the location of too many animals to mention. His knowledge of the delta, animals, birds, wildlife, plants, and flowers was outstanding. Plus Wilderness Safaris is truly dedicated is leaving as small of human footprint in nature as possible. Our first night we enjoyed a "bush" dinner that was accompanied with singing, drumming, and dancing by the staff of the camp that all seemed happy to be part of the team at Vumbura Plains.

Our safari was not inexpensive, but was well worth very cent. Delicious food, outstanding staff, fabulous "tents," knowledgeable guides, well maintained vehicles, and perfect game viewing made for an experience of a lifetime. Plus we now have a new standard for "tent" camping.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the last room with a view and shade in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear ronvoyage,

Thank you for your fabulous review. Nothing makes us happier then seeing that our guests enjoyed their time with us.

Vumbura Plains, tucked beneath a canopy of cool, shady, indigenous trees, seems to float on a sea of waving reeds, situated as it is in the midst of a large floodplain. The sumptuous rooms are uniquely designed, spacious and raised off the ground on wooden decks to take in a wide-angled vista.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
The Team at Vumbura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at Vumbura Plains Camp for a long weekend, what an amazing experience. The rangers were fantastic and we saw plenty animals. The accommodation is very luxurious. A big negative is that we chose this particular camp because it was advertised that you can do boat game drives, go on mokoros and land game drives. It was a huge hassle to get a boat ride and we had to get other people to join our boat otherwise they wouldn't take us. We couldn't get a mokoro ride as there was no one to take us and we would have to have given up a game drive for that (we were told we could do that over and above). I would definitely go back but knowing that it is only land based game drives.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeMeSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Vumbura Plains Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MeMeSouthAfrica,

Thank you for your great review, even though the camp and its activities did not live up to your expectations. This is very unusual behaviour for our camp and we will investigate it to see what went wrong.

Activities on offer at Vumbura Plains include game drives (which continue after sunset as night drives), mokoro trips through the narrow channels and waterways, and motor boat trips in the larger waterways. Walking is also an option, but must be prearranged with you guide or camp manager as not all guides are qualified for walking in Botswana. Your camp manager will discuss your programme with you on a daily basis to make the most of your time here.

Thank you again
The Vumbura Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews