We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canine friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Red Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Canine friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

It's always a pleasure to find a hotel which actually welcomes dogs rather than just tolerating them. The non-refundable pet fee is steep but the overall value is still good, particularly given the refreshing "non-chain" personality of this place. The view from my second floor room was spectacular at night as different coloured lights lit the falls. I'd stay here again if passing through the region.

Room Tip: Get a view of the falls if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
31
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
latrobe
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Short getaway in the eastern Fingerlakes? Stay at the Red Mill Inn in the middle of Baldwinsville, NY. Great friendly American staff, value exceeds price, very clean and cozy. Short drive to all major arteries in any direction. Not a hangout or a chain. It's not big but it's comfy. Good restaurants and bars within walking distance. Need a place for a 100 person meeting or wedding reception? This is it. What a hidden gem! My best rating for a super place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and south sides border the river and the canal lock. Huge third floor suite is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Incorporated hotel from an old mill. The rooms are clean and the facility is well kept. The floors are old and the walls are thin so sound does travel. I would recommend being in an upper floor if the sound of walking above bothers you (hopefully you are in a room where children aren't above). It isn't the type of hotel that would appeal to children. It is in walking distance of many restraurants and pubs. We have stayed here several times.

Room Tip: You have the river on one side and the locke on the other so whatever your viewing preference is - y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Red Mill Inn a former grist mill, was the perfect end each day of the college move to Syracuse. I didn't want to stay in the city and the Red Mill was a mere 15-20 minutes from the University.
I lived being on the Erie Canal and Lock 24.
The rooms has a rustic charm and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was roomy and the tiles and granite counter were lovely.
This Inn was exactly what I had hoped for, traveling alone au wanted to feel at home, which Red Mill Inn did.
Booked my room for Oct. 7 family weekend!
True breakfast not so great, but iI didn't care because I don't eat breakfast.
Kelly was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I attended a wedding reception here and it was absolutely beautiful. Such a pretty place but I was not crazy about the hotel. Bed was uncomfortable and I had to call down for extra blankets which took awhile to get. The view is very pretty over the water though and you can walk anywhere in baldwinsville from this hotel. It has a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FunNana333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goose creek,sc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family stayed here when we were in the area to spread my father-in-law's ashes on his favorite fishing lake. There were about fourteen of us and everyone loved this hotel. Kelly and the rest of the staff there were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and clean. the lobby was very comfy and was used by all as a meeting place and just sit and relax and chat. In was situated between the Seneca River Falls and Canal Lock 24, which made for great views from either side of the building. I loved watching the lock rise and lower as it pasted boats through it. On the falls side dozens of birds of all varieties feeding. It was beautiful and amazing to watch. The falls and bridge were lit up at night with changing colors which was nice to watch.
There was plenty of good places to eat within walking distance and a bar right across the street with live bands Friday and Saturday night from 6-10 PM.
Walk across the Lock and there was THE LOCK24 restaurant with a big deck and chairs in the grass to sit and enjoy your drinks. Also, quite a few other very good eateries within a short walk.
Overall, we all had a great time! We already started planning another trip back,which we never have done for a hotel before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lousal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldwinsville
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
16.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
#2 of 12 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
#21 of 31 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites - Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Mill Inn

Property: The Red Mill Inn
Address: 4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027-2923
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Baldwinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the Central New York area be sure to visit The Red Mill Inn, a historic facility featuring 32 guest rooms and event space for up to 150 people. The management and staff are committed to sharing a memorable lodging experience with our quests and providing top-of-the-line service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing