We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bville”
Review of The Red Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Red Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great rooms. Rented a room suite for a baby shower. Great views of the river. TVs didn't work but wasn't that big of a deal. Great location across from the bars too. Staff is very friendly. My wife and I have stayed here many times and will continue to. Little high on price but worth it.

Room Tip: Views of the river
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachrutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Red Mill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I needed to stay in Baldwinsville for a week in November. The hotel is lovely to look at in an historic building between the lock and the river. We stayed in a queen room. We checked into the room in the evening. The lights were so dim we couldn't see much. There is a
ceiling light near the door and closet. There are two bedside lamps with energy efficient bulbs and
stained glass shades. It was very difficult to see in the room and the light was insufficient for reading. One morning it was overcast and I needed my flashlight to see the things in the drawer. The bathroom has adequate lighting but was not heated. The overnight temperatures were in the twenties and the bathroom had an outside wall. It was very cold if you went in and shut the door. It was also very cold to getting out of the shower into a cold room. There was no chair so you could sit on the bed or in the bathroom. No place for computer use but the bed if you needed to keep up with work. They do offer free WIFI. The bed was very soft. There were many good things about the Inn. There was plenty of hot water, it was clean and we had a view of the lock. They serve a continental breakfast. The staff were generally pleasant and helpful. There are several accessible outlets for computers, phones or other electrical devices. The closet was large and had ample hangers. I might even choose this hotel again if I were in Baldwinsville in summer. It wouldn't be my choice again for a cold weather stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here back in Aug. of 2011. We loved it. We had the MCHARRIE SUITE WITH LOFT. We loved it. The stairs going up to the loft were a little tight but fun. It was nice having a small apartment sized room to stay in. We love the area and we come up to visit family often. We are currently planning another trip up there for this coming week but we are hoping to get the MCKENNA Suite, which is the largest suite they have. Everything is within walking distance or a short drive away. We always have a great time when we visit here. This hotel is Highly Recommended. I work at a 4 Diamond Resort a couple hours away and have been in the hospitality industry for over 12 years now, If i'm recommending it then it has to be good. Hope this helps anyone that is looking for a nice quiet place to stay and just relax.

Room Tip: I would choose either of these 2 room types MCKENNA SUITE, or the MCHARRIE SUITE.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaiWestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

It's always a pleasure to find a hotel which actually welcomes dogs rather than just tolerating them. The non-refundable pet fee is steep but the overall value is still good, particularly given the refreshing "non-chain" personality of this place. The view from my second floor room was spectacular at night as different coloured lights lit the falls. I'd stay here again if passing through the region.

Room Tip: Get a view of the falls if at all possible.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Short getaway in the eastern Fingerlakes? Stay at the Red Mill Inn in the middle of Baldwinsville, NY. Great friendly American staff, value exceeds price, very clean and cozy. Short drive to all major arteries in any direction. Not a hangout or a chain. It's not big but it's comfy. Good restaurants and bars within walking distance. Need a place for a 100 person meeting or wedding reception? This is it. What a hidden gem! My best rating for a super place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and south sides border the river and the canal lock. Huge third floor suite is u...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Red Mill Inn a former grist mill, was the perfect end each day of the college move to Syracuse. I didn't want to stay in the city and the Red Mill was a mere 15-20 minutes from the University.
I lived being on the Erie Canal and Lock 24.
The rooms has a rustic charm and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was roomy and the tiles and granite counter were lovely.
This Inn was exactly what I had hoped for, traveling alone au wanted to feel at home, which Red Mill Inn did.
Booked my room for Oct. 7 family weekend!
True breakfast not so great, but iI didn't care because I don't eat breakfast.
Kelly was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldwinsville
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
16.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
#2 of 11 in Liverpool
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
23.5 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#6 of 11 in Oswego
74 reviews
15.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Mill Inn

Address: 4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027-2923
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Baldwinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the Central New York area be sure to visit The Red Mill Inn, a historic facility featuring 32 guest rooms and event space for up to 150 people. The management and staff are committed to sharing a memorable lodging experience with our quests and providing top-of-the-line service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing