We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!!”
Review of The Red Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Red Mill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Group of 6 girls met here to have a girls night out. We had purchased 2 rooms through Groupon....none of us had ever stayed here before, or even been to Baldwinsville, it just happened to be a good spot to meet in the middle. We only stayed one night, but we were all in agreement that we would definately come back. The minute we walked through the doors, everyone was so friendly! The 2 women who checked us in were extremely helpful in recommending a few places for us to check out. Our rooms were huge, and most importantly...clean! The view from our rooms was beautiful as well. Cannot say enough good things about the place...especially the customer service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danid1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Well, there was some good and some not so good features about this property. My boyfriend and I just returned from a one night stay, with the purpose being a little romantic/relaxing getaway.

So, having said that, here is the good:
Very quaint and cozy inn, nice setting between the locks and the canal. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms had a nice cozy feel, with wood beams in various places, a nice view from the room (but be prepared-windows are set down low so best view is when sitting/lying in bed), warm lighting and colors, and overall nicely decorated. The TV was not a flat screen, but we never used the TV, so that didn't bother us. It is within walking distance from a few bars, pubs, restaurants (we ate at the new River Grill across the street, nice setting and yummy, and the BVille Diner, pretty good, see separate reviews). Breakfast was your basic carbohydrate selection, and there was always free coffee (and flavored creamers, yay!), tea and hot cocoa available.

Okay, now the not so good:
-After arriving and checking in, we got settled and set the heater for a comfortable temperature, then left for a few hours to do some shopping in nearby Liverpool. When we returned, the room was FREEZING (heater temperature said 65 but it felt really really cold). I was sure I had set the heater for 70 degrees, but thought maybe I pressed the wrong buttons. So we reset the heater and huddled together in our coats for almost an hour, and then noticed there was a motion detector on the wall...hmmm...could it be that the motion detector senses when no one is in the room and turns the heater off? Why, yes, after calling down to the front desk, we were informed that this is a "Green" hotel and that mechanism is used to reduce energy. Okay, I'm all for being environmentally friendly, but to return in 16 degree weather to a barely 65 degree hotel room is no fun. This would be a great feature if there was on override button you could use if you knew you were leaving the room for several hours, but, alas, there was none. So, again, after returning from two hour dinner/drinks across the street, it was again down to 65 and we stood in our coats in the bathroom with the hot shower blasting to try and warm up. Not exactly the start to our romantic evening we were hoping for. Thankfully, the heat did stay on during the night (it must sense heat/small movements).
-The walls here are really thin. One thing I have a hard time understanding, is when a hotel is only partially booked, why would you place a couple between a room that has a small party/event going on, and a room with a family with children? Sigh. We could tune out the group next door, as it was muffled. Not so easy to tune out the screaming child and yelling father next door at 7:00 in the morning. Literally, we could hear every word, hear the footsteps running around, hear the argument continuing in the hall, and then got to hear it all over again when they returned from breakfast. So not the relaxing morning we were hoping for.
-Lastly, this is just a little thing: there is a sign in the room bathroom that says the bath products were handmade; I really like natural products, so thought this was a great feature. However, when I looked at the various soaps and shampoo products we were given, all I could find on all of them was Made In China. Not sure if they ran out of the handmade kind, but in my opinion, don't have a sign that indicates a handmade product if you are not going to have them available.

So, overall, I would recommend this hotel with a few suggestions: ask for the quietest room location and decide if weather/temperature will be a factor if you leave your room for more than an hour (ex: heat, air conditioning).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenity37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

As the title says, we loved everything about our stay. We got a Groupon deal for a King bedroom for one night, including wines and chocolates, and it was wonderful. The room was pretty basic, the TV was not huge and the bathroom was small as well. But the inn itself, the rustic charm and the location made up for the lack of frills. The bed was comfortable, and the hotel is within walking distance of several eateries. As other reviews have said, the lighting is dim, but that was fine for us. We didn't really need extra bright lighting for our stay. And the room darkening shades were great for sleeping in.
One funny thing though: our tv remote was on the same infrared frequency (is that right?) as the heat unit, so everytime we pushed a button on the remote, something also changed on the heater. It was really actually quite funny; we had to block the heater sensor when we wanted to watch TV.
We ate at a restaurant across the street called 'The Suds Factory River Grill' and the food was AMAZING. We eat out a lot, and this food was the best we've had in a long time. (Posting a review for the restaurant too)
The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We will probably choose this Inn for all of our getaways!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

An old mill, right at the water.
Great renovated rooms and washrooms.
Breakfast could be a bit better, average American "Inn" breakfast. Maybe we're spoiled...
But the rooms were clean and nice, big tv, wifi. River view. Nice area to go on a walk along the river.
Shopping nearby, 5 mins by car.
Free parking.
Certainly a place to stay, while you're on a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We were nervous about staying in a non-chain hotel (we've stayed in BandBs before kids but not since Frick and Frack) but this was lovely and the views from both sides of the hotel were charming. Easy to get to Syracuse as well as the Eastern Finger Lakes. There's also a lovely park and the canal lock is RIGHT there. Breakfast is just downstairs and is your basic cereal, waffle maker, bagels and toast but good and looks right out on the falls. If I ever have to go back to that area I would definately be back! Free WiFi was easily accessed. Front desk was friendly and helpful, even late at night. My parents had their own room and each was a little different--I would have appreciated even a little more character in each

Room Tip: both have cool views--one of a lock and one of little water falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great rooms. Rented a room suite for a baby shower. Great views of the river. TVs didn't work but wasn't that big of a deal. Great location across from the bars too. Staff is very friendly. My wife and I have stayed here many times and will continue to. Little high on price but worth it.

Room Tip: Views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachrutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I needed to stay in Baldwinsville for a week in November. The hotel is lovely to look at in an historic building between the lock and the river. We stayed in a queen room. We checked into the room in the evening. The lights were so dim we couldn't see much. There is a
ceiling light near the door and closet. There are two bedside lamps with energy efficient bulbs and
stained glass shades. It was very difficult to see in the room and the light was insufficient for reading. One morning it was overcast and I needed my flashlight to see the things in the drawer. The bathroom has adequate lighting but was not heated. The overnight temperatures were in the twenties and the bathroom had an outside wall. It was very cold if you went in and shut the door. It was also very cold to getting out of the shower into a cold room. There was no chair so you could sit on the bed or in the bathroom. No place for computer use but the bed if you needed to keep up with work. They do offer free WIFI. The bed was very soft. There were many good things about the Inn. There was plenty of hot water, it was clean and we had a view of the lock. They serve a continental breakfast. The staff were generally pleasant and helpful. There are several accessible outlets for computers, phones or other electrical devices. The closet was large and had ample hangers. I might even choose this hotel again if I were in Baldwinsville in summer. It wouldn't be my choice again for a cold weather stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baldwinsville
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baldwinsville/Syracuse
16.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
729 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
Hampton Inn Syracuse Clay
#3 of 11 in Liverpool
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites - Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Mill Inn

Address: 4 Syracuse St, Baldwinsville, NY 13027-2923
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Baldwinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baldwinsville
Price Range: £56 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Mill Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the Central New York area be sure to visit The Red Mill Inn, a historic facility featuring 32 guest rooms and event space for up to 150 people. The management and staff are committed to sharing a memorable lodging experience with our quests and providing top-of-the-line service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Mill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing