We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German food served in dated restaurant, but it all works together.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spa Brauhaus - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spa Brauhaus
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: German, American, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“German food served in dated restaurant, but it all works together.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, if you are a vegetarian or trying to stay away from meat: this is not the place for you. There isn't even a "salad" section on the menus. BUT if you want typical German food, and quite a bit of food for your money, I'd suggest checking this place out. Decor is a little dated, but it works with the ambiance. It was a packed dining room last night, so they must have found their niche. Full bar and German beers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeMarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    2
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good german food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Best place to celebrate Octoberfest. Plenty of great food and soup.Prices will not break the bank although atmosphere cold use an update.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food at the Brauhaus.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have been several times and the food is always excellent. I'll be back!!
Everyone there makes you feel right at home.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have had many great meals here, but noe for 10 years or so. Companion and I had the lovliest dinner here recently. All dinners come with salad, exccellent bread and a tureen of soup. This evening's soup was Cream of Mushroom. Outstanding! There are entree specials each evening, $14.95 for an entree, which includes the above mentioned soup and salad.
Companion chose the sauerbraten, which was a large portion of tender beef, with red cabbage and a twice baked potato. I chose the Kassler Ripchen, 2 very good smoked pork chops and the spaetzle. With 2 excellent German beers, this was an outstanding meal and extremely well priced. Go there soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notshyaboutit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Terrible food! The bread served with the soup was frozen in the center. Ordered jaeger schnitzel that was drenched in sauce, served with canned vegetables and a frozen twice baked potato- they charge $20.50 for this. Nothing is fresh- even admitted to me by the GM. The apples in the apple streudel was grey, and tasted as if it had been refrigerated for a few days and reheated in a microwave. I grew up in near Reinmein AFB, Germany. I know my German food. NEVER going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chibi_shinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spa Brauhaus also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing