We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Medbery Inn and Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We had an amazing time staying at the Medberry Inn and Suites. My husband and I wanted to get away for an evening and our room was perfect. We stayed in one of the jacuzzi suites. I don't know what some of the people on here are talking about when they say it was not clean, our room was emmaculuate. The jacuzzi tub for two was beautiful, as was the bathroom. All new fixtures, and a nice cozy fireplace in the room. The only thing that would have made it a bit better was if the fireplace was real (and not electric) but it still created a romantic setting nonetheless. The town was quant and the inn was 5 minutes from downtown Saratoga Springs. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the owner was a sweetheart. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet getaway for a night. The price was also great for the accomodations, one reason we chose this place because we were on a tight budget.

  • Liked — The beautiful romantic room.
  • Disliked — Wish it was located in a bigger city with more things to do within walking distance.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    4
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

My husband and I fell in love with Ballston Spa and the Medbery Inn. Our room was georgeous, very romantic with much attention to detail. The staff was terrific, everyone made us feel at home. The spa services were exceptional, they went above and beyond what we expected....candles, hot towels, neck warmers....we felt completely pampered. It is nice to know that some people still give things their all.

The town was perfect too! Plenty to do right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JenUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2008

When I first arrived I thought the place was beautiful. Everything seemed to be in order and the people welcoming. i checked in with no problem and got showed to my room. Then i got a tour of the building. Afterwards I had spa services done and they were amazing except for the fact that the floors were filthy and the bathrooms looked like they hadn't been touched in days. This was just the beginning. I thought nothing of it and went on my way. I went in the dining area to get some coffee and something to eat and when i sat down the tables were dusty and the dishes had pieces of food still stuck to the plates. I lost my appetite after that. I went back up to my room after that trying to forget what i just saw. I got back in my room and went to take a shower and i noticed a film on the shower walls that was disgusting, the mirror was dirty and the toilet had a yellow ring in it. I dediced to watch some tv and got tired and wanted to go to sleep afterwards so i pulled back the bed sheets and they were wrinked beyond belief. It looked like they had been waded up and never folded. After this I was replused. I will never stay there again and I wouldn't reccommend that anyone does. The owners are rude and don't appreciate their customers.

  • Liked — nothing.
  • Disliked — the whole trip.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bbygirl_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballston Spa hotels

plattsburgh ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

I had bought a gift certificate for my son and daughter-in-law for Christmas of last year. The first time I contacted the Inn by phone it wasn't bad I ordered a $400.00 gift certificate for a room and massage. I later contacted them to ask a question and the man was rude. When my son and daughter-in-law contacted them for reservations the same man was rude. When they arrived his demeaner wasn't any better. They had their massage and the girl hurt my son's shoulder. Before going home they went to Lake Placid for another massage to help his shoulder. The man which I assume is the owner because an employee wouldn't act the way he does is not worth the money they charge. Two couples we know were going to go this year but that is out of the question now. I don't recommend this spa to anyone.

Dinah

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank thirteen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction,NY
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2007

EXCELLENT!!! The owners are the nicest people, they make you feel welcome and comfortable. Beautiful rooms, great food for breakfast. The spa is amazing and the sevice was great. Five stars for the Medbery!!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — can't say one bad thing!!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Laurynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

We stayed in Saratoga Springs but my husband and I decided to use the Medbery Spa. We both had massages which were great but I had a facial which was suppose to be $55 for an Acne facial. They charged $90 and said that I had a mask which costs $35 extra. I didn't even ask for the mask, nor did the girl doing the facial say anything about an extra charge for a mask. I think this is just deplorable and dishonest. If you decide to use the Spa.... be careful ! They did not refund the money and just said, ...."she should have told you she was going to use a mask that costs extra".... gee thanks !

  • Liked — The Massage was great
  • Disliked — That they were dishonest and added charges that were not agreed upon, on top of that, the facial was the worst I ever had.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairReviewNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

My wife and I stayed at this cozy hotel for a fall weekend of spa pampering, and we were not dissapointed. We had one of the mini suites which is a little bigger than the standard rooms, and has a 2-person whirlpool bath. The room and the whole inn has a very nice cozy atmosphere, with nice little decorations here and there. The husband-and-wife team went out of their way to help us and to give us tips on where to eat and on excursions. The only thing that didn't match in were the fake fireplaces: We rather have the real thing with real heat or none at all.

The hotel offers in-house spa treatments which we indulged ourselves in. We liked them very much, and treatments were much cheaper than other spas that I checked in New York or Connecticut. Especially the couples massage was a treat. We also noticed that many of the locals came in there for spa treatments, always a good sign!

Concluding: if you are looking for a nice romantic place to stay near Saragota Springs, and also want to pamper yourself with a nice spa, then this is the place!

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — The fake fireplaces
  • Tips/Secrets — Gentlemen: an excellent place to leave your wife/girlfriend if you want to go to the Saratoga Springs races.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballston Spa
4.6 mi away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#6 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#2 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
Roosevelt Inn & Suites
#18 of 33 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medbery Inn and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medbery Inn and Day Spa

Property: Medbery Inn and Day Spa
Address: 48 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1711
Region: United States > New York > Ballston Spa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballston Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medbery Inn and Day Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the ambiance of our cozy guest rooms to the practical elegance of our meeting and reception rooms, Medbery Inn & Spa is a unique lodging experience in Saratoga Springs. You'll feel the stress of the day slip away as soon as you enter one of our beautifully appointed guest rooms or suites. Experience pampering the old fashioned way, with luxurious furnishings, baths with whirlpools, and cozy guest robes fully at your disposal. Don't be fooled by the ambiance: our rooms come with high speed internet access and desk space to make sure business travelers have exactly what they need.More than just an inn, we can provide you with Salon and Spa packages to suit every taste. Relax with our mineral baths and spa treatments that include facials, body treatments, hair and nail services. Put the cares of the day behind you completely with Saratoga Massage Therapy, where you can choose from several types of massage to relax and renew your body and spirit. We hope you join us for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Medbery Hotel Ballston Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing