We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy, Comfortable and Chilled” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bankside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uggeshall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bankside B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Uggeshall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy, Comfortable and Chilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Recently stayed two nights at Bankside B&B, and were welcomed by hosts Elaine and Tony.
Elaine had booked a local restaurant on our behalf for dinner on our arrival evening which was very much appreciated and had a good knowledge for suggestions of places to visit.
Room was well appointed and many small touches increased the experience, very clean and comfortable. The choices for Breakfast were great, most of the food is locally sourced and Tony can cook a scrummy scrambled egg! His home made bread is delicious too.

We will return to Bankside when we next visit the area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have recently returned from a much-needed two day break at Bankside. The accommodation was better than many 4*hotels we have stayed in previously. Everything was
spotlessly clean and inviting. Elaine and Tony were very friendly and helpful hosts. Tony's breakfasts were delicious and well-presented, with home-baked bread and locally sourced
produce. Bankside's location makes it an excellent choice for visits in this beautiful part of the
country. Southwold which has a beautiful beach and colourful beach huts, with has many lovely, period buildings in the town, only 10 minutes away, and the town had many artisan shops, not the usual high street options. We would most certainly recommend Bankside to our
family and friends or anyone who is looking for an 'away from it all' break. Betty B.
usual high street!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just stayed for 5 nights at Bankside and the hosts Elaine and Tony made us very welcoming. Their home is immaculate and our room was superb. The breakfasts were excellent and all the food is locally sourced and Tony's home made bread is delicious. We had a relaxing stay and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Tony and Elaine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bankside for 3 nights for a birthday weekend. Elaine and Tony are great hosts, spending the time to get to know their guests and make recommendations for both places to visit and great pub food. The house is stylish and spotless and very peaceful. We are so glad we found it and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Southwold area. Sarah & Christina

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived at Bankside having booked relatively late so we could go to a friend's party locally. A good job we had the directions but once there it is surprisingly easy to navigate around via either the A145 or the back lanes to Southwold via Reydon.
A nice modern house (built 2004) with a couple of ensuite rooms that were tastefully decorated with bespoke furniture.
Very comfortable bed with beautiful linen ensured a couple of restful nights. No ambient lighting around here to disturb your sleep.
Breakfast was very good and they thoroughly deserve their Gold Award. The local sourced sausages had been through a rigorous taste test and got the thumbs up from me. Breakfast was also taken outside to take advantage of the lovely morning where we enjoyed our chats with the other guests and hosts and watched the butterflies abound in the pretty garden.
Elaine and Tony were generous hosts and Tony, particularly, is a real character!
All in all, a lovely spot and very convenient.

Room Tip: Didn;t see the other but think they are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing stay at Bankside where we were warmly welcomed by our hosts, Elaine & Tony. Accommodation was of a very high standard; very comfortable king-size bed, spotless en-suite bathroom and scrumptious breakfasts. They also provided helpful hints about places to visit during our stay. Thanks again.

Margaret & Steve, Chelmsford

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

A warm welcome from Elaine and Tony , the room was spotless and fully equipped for our stay .
We were thoroughly looked after by Elaine and Tony on returning from our trips with a brew and a chat .
Food was good !!!!. Great place to stay and area wonderful made even better by lovely hosts and wonderful weather xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slynieandaichp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uggeshall
3.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankside B&B

Property: Bankside B&B
Address: Bankside The Hills, Uggeshall, Southwold NR34 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Uggeshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uggeshall
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique boutique bed and breakfast in tranquil setting, 10 minutes from Southwold and 15 minutes from Minsmere, offering the highest standards of comfort and award-winning gourmet breakfasts. Bankside B&B combines elegant boutique style accommodation with a warm and friendly atmosphere and provides a peaceful and relaxing base from which to explore this beautiful and unspoilt part of Suffolk.The two south-facing double bedrooms have a stylish contemporary look and feel created by the use of beautifully hand-crafted furniture. Both are tastefully furnished with king-size bed, flat screen TV with Freeview, top of the range linens and en-suite facilities.Our award-winning Gourmet breakfasts are freshly prepared using the finest ingredients from local farmers, growers and dairies and served in the stylish dining room which overlooks the garden and picturesque woodland opposite. When the weather allows, breakfast can be enjoyed in the lovely secluded garden ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing