We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Evening!”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine Dining modern British
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Evening!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent a special evening with my girlfriend in the restaurant and had a wonderful meal with excellent service from exceptionally well informed staff. The atmosphere was very relaxing and not rushed but the service was excellent. Superbly cooked food and a good range of beverages.I was pleased to see the dress code was upheld when a party arrived with one person wearing shorts - not acceptable attire in such a fine establishment! We have eaten in many pubs and restaurants in the area but I have to say none has come close to The Chequers! You definitely get what you pay for! We will eat there again for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matranut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    96
    33
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful birthday meal”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

went for a meal at the chequers at the weekend and the food was simply marvelous. It was such a lovely atmosphere and the service from the staff made us feel really special as it was a special birthday meal. The choice of menu was delightful and the steak was the best we have had for a long time. Definately recommend and look forward to our next visit . TP

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal out, would recommend.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant after being told about it by a friend. I had never been there before so I wasn't sure what to expect. It wasn't for a special occasion but we were treated to the highest of standards; from start to finish.
We were greeted as soon as we walked through the door with a friendly smile, which immediately set the tone for the evening. After being seated, the waitress introduced herself and handed us the menus. Whilst explaining the specials, it was clear to see she knew the menu well and was more than willing to answer any questions we had about the food.
We ordered our starters and mains and were highly impressed by the quality of food we received. Every course was presented beautifully, well seasoned and cooked exactly to our expectations. The waitress politely asked if everything was okay with every dish we were served. Our table was cleared after every course in good time.

After our three course meal we sat there with drinks and chatted. Not once did we feel rushed or uncomfortable.
We were absolutely delighted by the friendliness of staff, the quality of food, and the atmosphere. It was all round a lovely meal out and we shall be dining there again soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaR8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have visited the Chequers Inn on a few occasions and every visit has been a truly special experience. The staff are always friendly and the food is amazing. I can not fault my experience in any way and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I love everything about The Chequers Inn. The staff make you so welcome you feel like you have known them all for years! As a family we had lunch in the bar area, it had a great varied menu with also a great wine list. The service was fantastic, and the food was delicious.
They found out we were they for a special occasion, and the head chief even came out with a cake decorated with a personalised congratulations messages!! A great touch to a lovely lunch.
The Chequers Inn has a great atmosphere and the staff take great pride in everything they do, all areas are well presented and extremely clean. Would definitely recommend you visit this fantastic restaurant and Will certainly be returning for every special occasion in the future
Warm Regards

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
Weedon, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
Great Horwood, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing