We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £14 - £40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine Dining modern British
Reviewed 21 July 2023

Went for the tasting menu and the food was well presented and very tasty. Waiter was very knowledgeable about all the food we was eating. Good atmosphere in the place. For me it was a bit overpriced

Date of visit: June 2023
1  Thank Frecks46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2023

What a hidden gem ! Absolutely fantastic food; imaginative combinations, wonderful flavours and textures - all lovingly prepared and served with an extensive wine list and well kept ales. Superb staff were welcoming, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. All this in a carefully and tastefully restored old pub. Exquisite.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 954jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

Delicious! Wonderful Michelin standard food. Not usually a dessert person but they were the icing on the cake of a very fine dinner.

Date of visit: July 2023
2  Thank Local_lass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2023

My wife and I together with my cousin and his wife had lunch today at the Chequers Inn. Each course was superb, served by a knowledgeable and friendly staff. The menu is very imaginative with a number of interesting combinations. Where else
In Buckinghamshire would you start with smoked eel? The fixed price 3 course lunch offers excellent value. The wine list is extensive and well chosen, if a little on the expensive side. The Chequers Inn has become our favourite restaurant in the area.

Date of visit: July 2023
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2023

Once again, the tasting menu was a triumph with a collection of well-balanced dishes, each beautifully presented and presenting a well-executed set of tastes.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Brill, Aylesbury
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.