We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently disorganised service”

Five Bells Vintage Inn, Country Pub & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Bells Vintage Inn, Country Pub & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently disorganised service”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

slow to take order
poor communication between bar and staff resulting in lost/ delayed drinks orders
food is the same as over a half a dozen other pubs in the area

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabr3t00th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    135
    88
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, shame about the waiting”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Went to the five bells on a Thursday evening. The food as ever was nicely done, wholsome and very tasty. I had sausage and mash with apple fritters for main. The sauce was delicious. However, the long wait was disappointing. The place was not full by any means, yet we had to wait 4o minutes for our starters, then 30 minutes each for the other course. Over three hours in all for three courses!

Great food but please improve the service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavetheHerbalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How disappointing”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We used to be regulars at the Five Bells as we had local friends, they moved away but as we were in the area thought we'd visit. What a disappointment, food was boil in the bag and took us back to the days of the Berni Inn. Everything was overcooked (overheated maybe) and bland. We found a small piece of glass in my wife's vegetables but the (very friendly) waitress explained that as it was prepared off site they had no control over it!!

Staff were very friendly and the premises were very comfortable, what a shame about the drab, overcooked food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Was very cold on entry,the meal was a pre booked festive dinner,starter of scrumpy pear was just all spinach&walnuts,hardly any pear,& certainly didn't taste scrumpy,main coarse were small& the duck was so tiny,sweets were slightly better.even thou they served a ice cream in a cereal bowl!!all in all a let down.

    • Value
Helpful?
4 Thank polarbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“my pre - christmas dinner”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

After looking forward to the first time ever.going out for any form of christmas dinner.my partener.brother and his partner.decided to book our pre xmas dinner at the five bells.Weston Trville.We were booked for 7 pm.After a while we recieved our starter.My brother and myself.had ordered a pear starter.When it arrived i was very suprised to see,that it contained more greenery,than the forest,and had more walnuts,than a walnut grower grows.it did say pear starter.And between us we had not even half a pear.It was a real let down.After that.I had ordered duck,that when it arrived,it was no bigger than a pigeon breast.With that came a few cold vegetables,it was a very big let down.the dessert arrived sometime later.my partener and myself.had terrine.it was no bigger than a cheese triangle,very disappointed with the whole meal.And for my ever first xmas meal out i will never again be dining pre xmas.And as we were all looking so forward to it,and had saved up to do it.We all felt deflated and sadly we should have been elated.The whole experience was dreadful.The food worse.Not a good way to start the xmas.the only positive thing was the waiter.top marks for him.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Bells Vintage Inn, Country Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aston Clinton, Aylesbury Vale
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Aston Clinton, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Five Bells Vintage Inn, Country Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing