We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Chandos Arms

The Chandos Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Chris and Carmel took over The Chandos in January 2014. Fully refurbished, the venue is a traditional British pub, offering homemade pub grub sourced from local suppliers. Carmel has added a few dishes with recipes from her Jamaican roots! We cater for functions and parties, whilst retaining the buzz and friendly nature of a proper pub. We also have a large sun-trap garden and an area for children to play safely.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My partner and I recently dined at The Chandos Arms on their Jamaican Night, the food was amazing quality and incredibly flavoursome. The staff were attentive, welcoming and friendly and we had a wonderful evening. It was not the first time we have visited this lovely pub and will certainly not be our last.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil1Barlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ChandosLandlord, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I have passed them onto our staff. We have a number of Jamaican inspired dishes on our main menu as well, well worth a try :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    41
    11
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A friend of our club was leaving to return home to Spain so what better fitting way to say Adios but by going to The Spanish Night!

The portions were minuscule and the paella was dry. The starter was described as Tapas but you could only have one!

Expensive for what it was and I don't think I'll be going back. Shame really.

They have a great pub garden but it is next to the main road. Not good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LesterWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ChandosLandlord, General Manager at The Chandos Arms, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us. The option to have some of all the starters was available, maybe this was not explained to for for which I apologise. We had the new picket fence put in to ensure the area is safe. We run a full menu during the week, and a carvery on a Sunday- we would be happy to discuss this further, my email is crw829@hotmail.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Massive Improvement”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped here for lunch after we had heard about the refurbishment and for a break from the standard lunchtime fare of the local Vintage Inn, The 5 Bells. There has been a big improvement in the decor and menu selections available, the current owners seem to have managed the turnaround well. Food was average, nothing special, your standard pub dishes, but served with a smile and in a timely manner so you didn't feel that it wasn't value for money. The biggest draw of The Chandos Arms has always been it's outside seating area, which is great to relax in with this hot spell we're having and offers games to keep the children amused. Hopefully time will show this pub continuing to improve on what has been several steps in the right direction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DGornall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ChandosLandlord, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Glad you like the changes. Sorry you didn't rate the food higher. If you try us again, I'll give you a 20% discount. Thank you- chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“25th anniversary din -dins ...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had not been before but after the lovely home cooked meal shared with 16 friends a few weeks back we shall be going again for sure. In fact we are having our Sunday roast there again tomorrow ( this time with visitors from the Netherlands )... outside play area for the kiddies was a pleasant addition. Lovely English pub that has been tastefully spruced up,, in a charming rural location. How,s that?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sproetjes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ChandosLandlord, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Glad your visits to the Chandos have been positive, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A wonderful pub. Great food and fine ales, and the second most attractive landlord in Weston Turville (although he does wear too many shell-suits to my mind). Very friendly and professional staff, and tremendous service. Thoroughly recommended if you are in the vicinity and worth a trip if you are not!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ChandosLandlord, Owner at The Chandos Arms, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chandos Arms also viewed

Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aston Clinton, Aylesbury Vale
Stoke Mandeville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Weedon, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Chandos Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing