We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hartwell House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Certificate of Excellence
Sogndal Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I went here for lunch with a girl, and it was a great time at a beautiful park/hotel/property.
It was very posh, so make sure you dress accordingly. The food was amazing and the prices was a lot better than expected.
Pick a sunny day when you can sit outside and enjoy the amazing view.
had to take a taxi from Aylesbury city centre, but it wasn't too far

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    141
    47
    22
    22
See reviews for
139
308
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited for a special mum and daughter afternoon tea, and we were so pleased we booked Hartwell house! The grounds and house are beautiful, and the decor and furnishings really make you feel at home (albeit a very posh home!). We had the full afternoon tea with champagne. The champers was scrumptious There was a good selection of tea, refilled when needed, and lovely sandwiches. The scones were a triumph- not too heavy or dry, and real clotted cream!

Service was great, attentive without being annoying. I will definitely be going back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Poges
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Old favourite of ours, we recommended family members going to see Marillion in Aylesbury we celebrate birthday lunch here for 10 of us. On arrival surprised not to be greeted by doorman and get valet parked as in the old days. "Not allowed to drive the cars any more by the management" I was told. This about summed up the day. The place is fabulous, the lunch very enjoyable, but that magic ingredient that used to make Hartwell House really special had gone. The staff were courteous and the service good, but they weren't seeming like they loved their jobs and where they worked, and at one time I'm sure they did.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdgeStokePoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwell, Manager at Hartwell House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Rest assured Hartwell takes nothing for granted, is not resting on its laurels, and stives every day to please every guest with excellent service. On the narrow issue of valet parking our insurers are concerned that we do not have available enough staff fully qualified to drive guests expensive cars especially in the case of recent claims ( not all genuine) of damage to vehicle. Of course we continue to offer this service to those who really need it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Only a very brief visit but enough to see that the staff and service are excellent. The house and grounds speak for themselves and need no praise, but staff provide the service that makes the difference between indifference and a deal of difference. Polite, efficient receptionists, an excellent manager constantly on the prowl, and efficient, unobtrusive waiting staff at breakfast, which was thoroughly full and English.

I had a bedroom on the top floor, served by a lift, large and well-furnished, bright and airy, with a large, well-equipped bathroom. There was good water pressure and lots of it, with big, fluffy bath sheets. The pillows were a little saggy, but that was a minor complaint, easily rectified please.

Guests are asked clearly and politely not to park in front of the house, but several impolitely did over-night, which mean collecting aged and immobile guests became difficult. Clearly the guests need some training, unlike the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in the Louis XVIII suite which was the most stunning room we have ever stayed in. The food served as part of the dinner we had arranged there was worthy of some of the top restaurants around and the neighbouring health spa, while not the most well equipped we've ever seen, was very worth a visit after a brisk walk around the spacious grounds.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

As you approach Hartwell along the private drive you realise that it is special.
The room was magnificent - huge, delightfully furnished and with superb views over the park land.
The facilities - walled garden tennis courts, Spa, croquet and walks in the grounds were great too. Service was discreet and efficient with early morning tea delivered to your room. The hotel on this basis is unquestionably five stars.
The restaurant however was a bit lacking - overcooked eggs at breakfast (replaced) and a starter with dinner of scallops and seared cauliflower which just didn't work and tasted burnt.
Overall a luxurious oasis but please get a chef to match

Room Tip: Kings room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is our favourite hotel in England. Timeless, peaceful, relaxing and utterly beautiful. Physically, it is as lovely a stately home as you would wish for. You really feel as though you are Lord and Lady of the Manor.
What makes it perfect is the very unstuffy yet old fashioned level of service of the staff. They are attentive, always helpful but unobtrusive.
This is a very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthLondonStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwell
4.4 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
541 reviews
21.4 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
18.4 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
10.6 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,329 reviews
12.2 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Property: Hartwell House
Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing