We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hartwell House
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Aylesbury Central(Aylesbury)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$99
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lodge Hotel(Aston Clinton)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peacock(Henton)
US$196
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
497
147
55
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
147
55
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teathe main housecountry housepublic roomssconesnational trustbeautiful groundsspecial occasionstately homefour postersteam roommain restaurantrelaxing breakhistoric buildingamazing hotelstaff were attentivebirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for several years with work conferences - all have run smoothly thanks to the help from the special events team at Hartwell - and decided to return with my mum and our Jack Russell terrier, Jake. We stayed in a Hartwell Court Suite with a sitting room, large bedroom and access to a grassed area and a cobbled path to the house and grounds. There was a welcome pack for Jake on arrival: bowls, a mat, a biscuit bone and some pooh bags. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly; Jake was made a fuss of, and he seemed really content in the suite and loved being able to get out to the woods. Facilities were good with a pantry to make pots of tea. Mum had her nails done in the spa, again by a friendly beauty therapist, and was really pleased with the quality and finish. Our stay was a wonderful treat for all three of us, and we can't wait to repeat it!

Room Tip: Room 28 on the second floor is a large double with access to the roof terrace and views over the back of the house; Room 46 is a Hartwell Court suite which will take dogs, has plenty of space and access to a garden area.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWDeVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful short break here recently, great food, excellent room and perfect weather. The staff were attentive and friendly, the only negative was the steak sandwich at lunch was really tough but they quickly replaced it and proved excellent with their customer service.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a Royal Room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a beautiful place, stunning building, intrior and amazing grounds. Lovely staff
Stayed for 1 night, room was in the stables. Comfy bed, lovely room and curtains closed for us in the evening.
Not in the main building so take a brollie if it rains. A bit dark walking back from the bar in main building.
Menu was pigeon, duck, mackerel... not my taste pretty limited and expensive.
Had a lovely spa which unfortunately I didn't get to use.
Nice pub at the bottom of the long drive with good food
Breakfast was poor, order was taken and too ages to arrive then was cremated. I don't understand as they had a buffet service which we were not told about and looked good, only saw it on the way out.
Hopefully will have more time next time to explore
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Went here for one night and my wife appalling nights sleep very soft bed .when complained in the morning staff was not interested. Food very very overpriced not very nice place at all . Breakfast served cold and staff very miserable .staff are very very rude would not stay there again and I would recommend avoid like the plague. Had spa treatment following day spa treatment very good spa unfortunately very tired and outdated . Dirty Jacuzzi had lots of bugs floating in it really not good. The only good thing about our hartwell house is the gardens and whoever looks after the Gardens I hold my hat of to them as it is very very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel it is not a very nice place at all..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gazzer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwell, Manager at Hartwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

These comments are neither reasonable nor accurate. It is difficult to believe that these guests are staying in the same Historic House Hotel of the National Trust as the other contributors to Trip Advisor who have also stayed here and enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a delightful experience! Of course, the recent lovely weather helps enormously, showing this beautiful house in the very best light. I was there on a Sunday, enjoying the peace & tranquility, a real escape from an arduous few months. I particularly loved my room facing the North Avenue of line trees, and the writing desk in the bay window, where I sat and wrote in splendid quiet. No need for the iPod I brought, nor the room TV. The facilities are immaculate, every detail considered. The spa is comprehensive, well presented, and smart. The service was exemplary, efficient, and friendly. Peruse the plan of trees, and go for a wander. Spot squirrels, and listen out for the hoot of an owl after dark. Marvel at the Jacobean stairs, the art works, lovely food, and the sumptuous rooms. Worth every penny, and all profits go to support the National Trust. What more do you want?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank jjandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews