We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is of the highest quality.”
Review of Hartwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartwell House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Everything is of the highest quality.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I live in Buckinghamshire so have never stayed here, but have had lunch many times. It is fairly expensive, but everything is of the highest quality - food, service and surroundings. The dining and reception rooms are furnished with high quality antiques and a few 'reproduction' pieces and paintings, all of which perfectly match and complement the style of the house. Enjoying these rooms with a pre-lunch drink or post-lunch coffee is all part of the fun of eating here. The service and setting is formal; however, it's not intimidating - the staff take their cue from the customer not (as happens in certain other establishments) the other way around. As long as you know how to hold a knife and fork and can dress reasonably tidily you will enjoy visiting this superb house - even if it has to be only for the odd special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamPhilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    140
    47
    22
    21
See reviews for
136
303
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are planning a special meal or sunday lunch look no further. What an excellent venue, for feeling as though you were special. The house and surrounding gardens are beautiful, and to be welcomed at the door and shown to a very comfortable but sophisticated drawing room for pre dinner drinks and canapés just starts your dining experience off to a great start. The staff are very attentive but also discrete. The food was excellent and the price was what you would expect. We didn't stay overnight but judging by our lovely time spent there we would guess the rooms would also be well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A truly beautiful period house providing accommodation, relaxing spa, restaurant open for lunch, with grounds to walk around and a church nearby. Wonderful!

We booked in for a special Sunday lunch celebration and were not disappointed. If anything could be improved it would be the service - unfortunately more training required for the international waiters on what condiments accompany which meat, and gravy is required with every Sunday roast!

Not enough of a glitch to put me off returning though, or recommending. Would love to stay over another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishNomad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for several years with work conferences - all have run smoothly thanks to the help from the special events team at Hartwell - and decided to return with my mum and our Jack Russell terrier, Jake. We stayed in a Hartwell Court Suite with a sitting room, large bedroom and access to a grassed area and a cobbled path to the house and grounds. There was a welcome pack for Jake on arrival: bowls, a mat, a biscuit bone and some pooh bags. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly; Jake was made a fuss of, and he seemed really content in the suite and loved being able to get out to the woods. Facilities were good with a pantry to make pots of tea. Mum had her nails done in the spa, again by a friendly beauty therapist, and was really pleased with the quality and finish. Our stay was a wonderful treat for all three of us, and we can't wait to repeat it!

Room Tip: Room 28 on the second floor is a large double with access to the roof terrace and views over the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWDeVere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful short break here recently, great food, excellent room and perfect weather. The staff were attentive and friendly, the only negative was the steak sandwich at lunch was really tough but they quickly replaced it and proved excellent with their customer service.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a Royal Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a beautiful place, stunning building, intrior and amazing grounds. Lovely staff
Stayed for 1 night, room was in the stables. Comfy bed, lovely room and curtains closed for us in the evening.
Not in the main building so take a brollie if it rains. A bit dark walking back from the bar in main building.
Menu was pigeon, duck, mackerel... not my taste pretty limited and expensive.
Had a lovely spa which unfortunately I didn't get to use.
Nice pub at the bottom of the long drive with good food
Breakfast was poor, order was taken and too ages to arrive then was cremated. I don't understand as they had a buffet service which we were not told about and looked good, only saw it on the way out.
Hopefully will have more time next time to explore
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Went here for one night and my wife appalling nights sleep very soft bed .when complained in the morning staff was not interested. Food very very overpriced not very nice place at all . Breakfast served cold and staff very miserable .staff are very very rude would not stay there again and I would recommend avoid like the plague. Had spa treatment following day spa treatment very good spa unfortunately very tired and outdated . Dirty Jacuzzi had lots of bugs floating in it really not good. The only good thing about our hartwell house is the gardens and whoever looks after the Gardens I hold my hat of to them as it is very very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel it is not a very nice place at all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gazzer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartwell, Manager at Hartwell House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
These comments are neither reasonable nor accurate. It is difficult to believe that these guests are staying in the same Historic House Hotel of the National Trust as the other contributors to Trip Advisor who have also stayed here and enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwell
4.4 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
21.4 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
10.6 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House

Property: Hartwell House
Address: Oxford Road, Hartwell HP17 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Hartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartwell House is a beautifully restored 17th century Grade 1 listed stately home. The magnificent rooms are superbly furnished with antiques and hung with fine paintings. Many of the exquisitely designed bedrooms and suites are in the house and some in Hartwell Court, the converted coach houses or the Old Rectory. Royal rooms have high ceilings, fine fabrics and dreamy views over the extensive landscape, it is a truly idyllic setting.There are thirty bedrooms and suites on three floors in the main house each aimed at ensuring your comfort and enjoyment during your stay. In addition there are ten suites and six bedrooms in Hartwell Court, the adjacent 18th century indoor riding school. The Old Rectory Hartwell has a superbly appointed master four poster suite with a sitting room and three other bedrooms with bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hartwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Hotel Aylesbury
Hartwell Hotel Aylesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing