We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
523
152
56
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
152
56
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the main house country house scones national trust public rooms beautiful grounds special occasion stately home spa facilities four poster steam room relaxing break changing rooms historic building birthday treat amazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Hartwell House is a National Trust property which they have restored to some version of the original. It is very impressive when you arrive and feels like being a member of the family in Downton Abbey.
The ground floor has several large living / sitting / library rooms, so our party was usually able to have one to ourselves most of the time.
The grounds are beautiful with views in all directions and long walks. You can enhance your country house experience by playing croquet.
The staff are very friendly, approachable and competent (not stuffy as you might expect).
All in all a special experience. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are great. Expensive rooms are better!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmmaaarrrkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We were so tired that we booked an extra night. We stayed here last year and 2 days were clearly not enough. We loved the peaceful atmosphere nothing was too much trouble. The air con was an added bonus as were stayed here at the end of July beginning of August. The hotel is a wonderful stately home - we could relax in the library and sitting rooms with pots of tea, walk the splendid Capability Brown landscape which had some very interesting features, or spend time in the spa. As the weather was so hot we were offered picnic blankets to sit under the mature trees.

The spa was amazingly quiet, and no families which was a joy during the school holidays. There was a terrace to lie on loungers which backs on to the tennis courts (old kitchen garden) or you could lie on loungers inside with up to date magazines and chill with a pool to swim. In the evening we had this to ourselves. One tiny gripe the changing rooms need a bit of refurbishment.

Breakfast was calm and made to order served by Fiona who was just so professional. This made us relax as some hotels it can be a buffet free for all and masses of people. We were able to sit and look onto the grounds.

Rooms tastefully furnished and in keeping with the hotel and National Trust.

We did not have dinner as we had picnics on the roof or in our room to make full use of the spa.

Close to National Trusts such as Stowe and Waddeston which we visited we found a gem with our 2 for 1 gardeners world card - Waterperry gardens again so peaceful.

Would we stay again yes definitely, we were made to feel special by Concierge, dining staff, reception, cleaners and gardeners.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ttree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Second time at this hotel & our experience was much the same as before. Very nice luxury hotel in secluded position but, unfortunately on this occasion, it was not overly family friendly.

Firstly, the Swimming Pool limits children to two 1-hour sessions a day, one session at 09.00-10.00 and the other 16.00-17.00. Whilst it is understood that the Spa is also a private members club, to restrict children to unfriendly hours when there is little or no outside demand, appears somewhat unreasonable. As parents we want to relax in a hotel but due to the unreasonable time slot in the morning we had to be up early to make use of one of the much-hyped facilities. Both our children are swimmers for the county and consequently swim a lot better than many of the members but, nevertheless, no allowance was made for them.

Secondly, the building and décor is excellent but again, because the children were present, we had a distinct impression that the staff were unhappy with them being in the public room due to the various antiques etc. present. I do not doubt that the behaviour of some children can give rise to concern at times but, in our case, our children have grown-up surrounded by antiques and are well aware of how to behave around them. We felt like we were constantly being watched by staff and such behaviour made us feel uncomfortable. If the hotel and it's décor is more important than it's guests, perhaps it should not be operating as a hotel.

Unfortunately, given the hotel is not overly family friendly, it is unlikely we will return and, furthermore, whilst it is a very nice hotel, I could not recommend it to any families.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MACJohnson, General Manager at Hartwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome back Mr and Mrs J to Hartwell with their children, following their previous stay as a couple. I enjoyed meeting all of the family when I showed them personally to their accommodation in the Hartwell Court, on their arrival at 1.00pm.

We thank the reviewer for their kind words about the building and its decoration within its role as a popular long-established hotel. However, we are sorry to learn that they had the impression we were not happy with their children in the drawing rooms. On a fully booked Saturday, we looked after all guests in the same welcoming manner we show to everyone at all times. The staff were not constantly watching as described: we are not exactly sure when this would allegedly have happened, as from our recollection the guests arrived and went to Waddesdon Manor in the afternoon, and then dined at a restaurant away from Hartwell House in the evening.

The Spa at Hartwell House serves residential guests, and is also a membership Club. We therefore make available specific swimming times for children in the interests of all of our guests, and members as many swimming pools do. A later breakfast is available in the Hartwell Cafe for guests who may choose to swim early and take breakfast later, as published in the Guest Information sheet in hotel bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

A whole family group stayed for my mother in law's special birthday. What a fantastic place! The staff were amazing and the food was fantastic. We had a brilliant time playing croquet, swimming in the pool and playing other games. Our special dinner was out of this world made even better by the surprise appearance of opera singers!!
What an unforgettable weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Priya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We chose Hartwell House to host a significant Birthday, with many staying overnight, a private breakfast and then a private lunch. Mirella and the Team could not have been more helpful. We initially felt that the restriction on the menu choices was a little inflexible, but, having tasted the quality that resulted from narrowing down the menu, I understand exactly what they meant.
The function rooms (Wyatt and Gibbs) were fantastic, the food outstanding and all served quickly. The staff were superb. Mirella found a magician for us and he was amazing. They dovetailed in with my florist and balloon installer, and even helped display large photos of the Birthday Girl for me. The breakfast was lovely, the rooms for overnight beautiful (we had a four poster), and the surprise lunch went extremely well. I could not have wanted for anymore. We had the maximum number of guests in the room 72 - and it was just right. 6 tables of 12. The rooms were dressed beautifully.
We have planned and hosted several events over the decades - all birthdays - and this was the best, without doubt.

Thank you Hartwell House, you did us proud. All the guests had a great time and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 18 was fantastic - lovely size, views and appointment
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews