We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£383
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£379
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£382
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
696
180
67
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
696
180
67
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the main house country house national trust scones stately home beautiful grounds special occasion four poster steam room historic building log fire public rooms are birthday lunch beautiful room waiting staff staff were attentive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Fantastic evening including a tour of the house, drinks and dinner. Delicious food. Service was absolutely brilliant and all staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Well worth a visit. Fascinating history and story. Thank you to all.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KirstyW1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Thank you all for a brilliant time for New Year. Our party of seven was thoroughly well looked after and most importantly everyone was fun and friendly and so we all had a fantastic time. Our rooms were brilliant (the suites are huge and just like you’d expect in a National Trust property). Even the classic room was atmospheric as well as classically classic. Fantastic Lounges, Bar, and Spa treatments great. Wine, food and entertainment (pianist, NYE disco and fireworks). Housekeeping was bang on and seemed to work by magic when not there to make it most relaxing. Walks around the grounds were magnificent and just right morning after late nights. Some people will no doubt try to moan about anything, but like at Hartwell House the previous year, we don’t think there is anything not to really enjoy in a place like this if you relax and settle into it all. Yes it’s not inexpensive but no different from other 5* flight unique properties and we did have the best rooms and indulged in everything. Fantastic holiday thanks all!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tourer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023

Luxurious stay with the best cocktail 🍸 😋 I have ever had!
Like something in Brideshead Revisited, the service and beautiful room on the top floor , the staff were so friendly and discreet, when sitting by the fireplace Josh bought me a new 🍸 he had invented ..NORTH AVENUE, named after a horse 🐎 chestnut 🌰 and walnut tree on the estate ♥️ Elaeanor was knowledgeable and gave me a vip experience at Bicester Village in the 'Appartment " Shout out to Ludovique , Best sommelier !

Room tip: Enjoy the papers and fruit and cookies and coffee in the spa area 😋 1st class beauty treatments by Adele. Leave shoes out to be polished!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank La R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Hartwell House is one of my most favourite places. It is a beautiful and cherished hotel where the friendly staff really want your stay to be perfect. Everywhere your gaze settles there is elegance and sumptuous settings in which to relax and enjoy being looked after. The food is excellent and the dining experience splendid. The bedrooms are simply gorgeous havens of comfort and carefully curated traditional styles. The grounds are peaceful and extensive, allowing for bracing walks or simple strolling. The spa is a wonderful place to swim, and to enjoy the sauna, steam room and gym, plus lots of choices for pampering. And do take your dogs with you - they will be welcomed, too.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

Have stayed at Hartwell House before and it is still an excellent experience. The care and attention to detail is superb, with excellent customer service. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the restaurant and food are 1st class as is the service. The overall experience is relaxed and attentive.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnbE8747MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews