We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable”
Review of La Chouette

La Chouette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$145
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

For a truly unforgettable evening you HAVE to visit this restaurant. Personal touch right from the star, amuse-bouche with your pre dinner drinks whilst you peruse the unique menu and extensive (and impressive) wine list. The menu only has seasonal food which Frederic talks through with you. The food does not disappoint at all, it is stunning. Scallops were cooked to perfection with a saffron beurre sauce, sea bass similarly but it was the vegetables that took our attention. Quite simply awesome. We "risked" the surprise for dessert and a pleasant surprise it was - the most perfect crepe with Mandarin Napoleon (one served with a birthday candle by the godlike Frederic).
The food alone is worth going there for but then you also have Frederic whose personality fills the place to overflowing and makes dining an experience. The homemade killer bread to the final coffee - all come with his stamp and uniqueness but also his care and knowledge. After dining here, you will know of another famous Belgian.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ToadsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal this year”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Amuse Bouche
Home baked bread
Crayfish salad
Asparagus Mouselline
Breast of Duck with Morels
Surprise dessert
All superbly cooked with perfect seasonal ingredients.
Brilliant wine list with wines served at the correct temperatures.
Great banter with the patron chef.


This country needs restaurants like this and has so few of them.

Michelin * food with no pretence.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
318 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“The food is good - so is the chef!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Frederic, the Belgian chef/owner, is someone you'll either love or hate. I loved his story about how one of his diners asked what he was offering as a vegetarian option. "Would you go into a vegetarian restaurant and ask for a meat option", he replied. The customer probably never returned but Frederic seemed delighted with his own response and, probably, did not care two hoots (sorry for the pun) on whether the customer came back or not. I loved our evening there and would gladly visit again if Frederic allows me in now that I am going to criticise one of his starters. I did not like the croquettes of brown shrimps. They were heavy and tasteless. However, the brill in a mousseline sauce was on of the best dishes I have had this year (or last year, for that matter). My wife loved it too, and also raved about her starter of scallops flavoured with chicory - a big porion, not the measly one you are usually served. We went with friends who visit Frederic fairly regularly. La Chouette is a great find and I am glad I found it again after an absence of over ten years.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
337 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

You need to know that this little gem exists as it is really off the beaten track but absolutely charming. We were made very welcome and had the set lunch which was delightful to the point that we will certainly return. In the middle of a quintessential English village this Belgian restaurant is not what you would expect to find so it must survive on it's reputation. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and also engaged with Frederic who was a lovely host who also participated in conversation with us. Excellent wine list and wish we could have done it more justice. Very reasonable Table D'hote.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenidadDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Not sure went to same restaurant as the other reviewers food was average service average and proprietor not really sure about

The evening start badly with drinks order not being able to get a simple lime and soda or diet tonic.

The wine list was very good but to many overpriced wines

The idea of a loaf of bread rather than a few slices was a nice touch but ruined when waitress inferred it was not made on the premises

The food was pleasant enough but not astounding

On the whole very disappointed with my visit and did not find it a welcoming venue

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chouette also viewed

Dinton, Aylesbury Vale
Weston Turville, Aylesbury Vale
 
Kingswood, Aylesbury Vale
 
Wendover, Aylesbury Vale
Hartwell, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to La Chouette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing