We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong East - CLOSED

Mekong East
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small but Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Very small but excellent food. Portions are generous and food authentic. My favorite is curry soup with chicken & potatos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

My family recently discovered Mekong and we all adore it. Why? Well, here's a review of the meal we had just today.

Chris is a fantastic host; he has a great memory for names and the menu items alike.

Okay, we started off with two appetizers: the shrimp summer roll and the Vietnamese spring roll. The summer rolls were delicate with a rich core of basil that melded well with the peanut sauce. The spring rolls are meant to be wrapped in (the supplied) mint and lettuce; the cool greens capture the fish sauce and create a nice texture with the hot spring roll within.

We ordered the iron-pot lemongrass curry, pan-fried noodles, and fried red snapper. Each had a great texture and was served in a tasty sauce. Sriracha is available but not necessary. My mother got some nice photos of the dishes, presented here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very taste Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I've had dinner a couple of times at this restaurant and was always very happy with the food I got. The soups are super tasty. The Pan Fried noodles are delicious, and I can't wait to try the chicken and basil dish. The prices are great too...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuxete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Small, unassuming, really good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Went with a vegetarian duo. Sometimes hard to find something good & acceptable for them to eat. No problem here. We had: fried rice with tofu [steamed] with fried egg, bok choi woked with plenty of garlic, a mixed vegetable sandwich [on french bread-they're Vietnamese] came with hot peppers [very] so be prepared and grilled chicken over rice vermicelli with bean sprouts, lettuce, peanuts and a nice sweet sauce [to make it seems like a salad said waitperson]. With an Export 33 beer a very satisfying evening. Inexpensive, unpretentious, plain wooden benches against wall and simple chairs. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LTRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

As a single female traveller, I felt very comfortable and confident sitting down, ordering in record time, food delivered in record time, delicious meal, reasonable price, friendly staff. Wish I'd eaten every meal here in hindsight and not wasted my time elsewhere in the neighbourhood.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mekong East also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing